We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip to Hotel Bethlehem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We attended a wedding at this hotel and booked a room for the night. The hotel staff could not be more helpful.

The room was beautiful, very comfortable, The hallway did not have have that hotel smell.

The food was delicious , the bartender Brandon was great , and Nelson our waiter was a sweetheart, service could not have been better.

We will be back again. Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barb g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi barb g,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Wedding that was hosted here. Our entire staff takes great pride in ensuring that everyone enjoys themselves while they are with us. Brandon and Nelson are huge assets to our team. Thank you for saying so, they were thrilled that you mentioned them.

We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

This historical hotel takes you back in time. Beautiful lobby with bar and restaurant. The rooms are clean and comfortable with the most amazing views. Our room overlooked the mountains where at night a giant star of Bethlehem is lit. Very magical!! Had a wonderful time at night having drinks with our great bartender Gary listening to a wonderful piano player.What we thought was going to be a quick drink before we went out to dinner turned into 3 hours because we couldn't bring ourselves to leave!! Can't wait to go back for another weekend!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chetndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi chetndeb,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you both had a fantastic time. The view of the Bethlethem Star on South mountain is one of kind. Gary is a great part of our team and has been with the Hotel for several years. We offer live music almost every night of the week and we Feature live Jazz every Thursday.

Thank you! We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel Bethlehem is a perfect weekend getaway from the jersey shore, quaint town, great restaurants and plenty to see. The hotel was clean, had a great feel to it and rooms were accomodating, will come back! I didn't get to eat at the restaurant, but I did have a drink at the bar and it was good. The firness room has a couple of machines, good for off peak exercising.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank amplexusomnium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi amplexusomnium,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend getaway! As you mentioned there is so much to see and do just steps away from the Hotel. We are centrally located in heart of Historic Bethlehem. You will have to join us in one of our restaurants on your next visit. Our Executive Chef Michael Adams will be releasing his new menus very soon with some exciting new additions.

Thank you choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The historic hotels atmosphere is unmatched! The grandeur of this hotel is evident throughout and the tile bathrooms are exquisite. We marvelled at the workmanship. The best soft and comfortable and the view into the city are breath taking!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi Andrea K,

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are thrilled to hear that we are your “all time favorite place”. The marble in our bathrooms was taken from the same vein in Italy that Michelangelo used for his sculpture of David and all of our mattresses are Serta Perfect Sleepers. We are fortunate that the Hotel offers some of the best views of Historic Bethlehem and the Bethlehem Star on South Mountain.

Thank you again. We hope to see you soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently had my wedding at Hotel Bethlehem and I could not have asked for a better weekend. Kathy was our wedding coordinator and made planning easy and enjoyable. The wedding weekend went amazingly well without any problems and we were really able to enjoy it because we knew Kathy would take care of everything. Our guests stayed at Hotel Bethlehem and are still telling us how beautiful everything was and how much they loved staying at the historic hotel. Our bridal suite was beautiful and everyone was so accommodating. Shannon at the front desk helped my parents with various things and was very pleasant.

We are all even more in love with Hotel Bethlehem than when we started planning the wedding. We will definitely be going back to celebrate many anniversaries to come!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi Caitlin M,

Congratulations! We were honored that you chose the Hotel for your special day! Kathy is the best at what she does and ensures that every detail is taken care of during her events so everything runs smoothly. It was our pleasure to make sure that your Wedding day was a success.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back for your first Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our last night of our mini vacation to the area. We chose this hotel because of its location and we wanted to try something with some charm and character.

We are glad we did! Shannon at the front desk was SUPER nice and very friendly and professional. She offered us a king bed on the top floor with a great view, how could we turn that down?

The rooms were nice, very clean and had old world charm with updated features like flat screens and wi-fi. The hotel is perfectly located and close to everything. The rates were appropriate and the service is outstanding.

Highly recommended.

Thank SHESAIDYES09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and each visit it gets better! This historic hotel is perfect in every aspect! The entire staff can not do enough for their guests! You feel like you are far away even though you are close to home . We always do the Romance package which includes champagne and chocolate covered strawberries , a wonderful dinner and fabulous breakfast! I have recommended this to many friends and everyone loved their stay! We can not wait to return soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALCherryHill_N_J_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi MALCherryHill_N_J_,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for being a loyal guest of the Hotel! We truly appreciate your positive feedback. Our Romance package is one of our most popular. I would highly recommend adding a couples massage next time you are here, the masseuses at Healing Hands are wonderful.

Thank you! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 14 in Bethlehem
909 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#7 of 14 in Bethlehem
782 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
247 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: £139 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing