We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Host Hotel for ARNA 2014!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Host Hotel for ARNA 2014!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Hotel Bethlehem served as the official host hotel for the 2nd annual conference of the Action Research Network of the Americas, May 22-24, 2014. From the initial registration to the impressive cocktail receptions to the superior dinners in the 1741 on the Terrace Restaurant and Grand Ballroom, every moment spent at the hotel was delightful. What a delight as a Lehigh Valley native to stay in residence at the hotel and not miss a moment of the conference or the luxurious guest accommodations. Thank you Hotel Bethlehem for partnering with Moravian College to welcome conference registrants from around the world to the beautiful historic Moravian Bethlehem National Landmark District and your glorious hotel!

Room Tip: Great views of Bethlehem from the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Joseph S,

Thank you for this glowing review! We were honored to be the host hotel for the 2nd annual conference. It was our pleasure to help welcome the attendees to the Hotel and Bethlehem. We enjoyed working with you, your team, and the attendees. We are happy to hear that everyone had a wonderful time.

Thank you again! We look forward to working with you in the future…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    206
    54
    18
    13
See reviews for
257
319
36
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A friend and I stayed one night here over Memorial Day weekend. Our room was small but as we were here for a wedding and didn't spend much time in it, it did not bother us at all. The beds and pillows were very comfortable which is a bonus. We also loved the 24 hour room service! They were quick and we were thankful for the midnight snack. The hotel itself was wonderful, it was fun walking around, looking into the different ballrooms and checking out the murals. The hotel has amazing history and it felt like it retained the charm of years gone by.

The downside of our stay was the temperature control in the room was not responding and it was freezing.

As I said, we ordered snacks from room service, it was tasty and prompt (we were also very tipsy!). We also ate lunch the next day at the lobby restaurant (the Tavern?). The food was just okay nothing special.

All in all, a great stay. I would certainly stay here again and perhaps request the "haunted room.".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Tracey M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience at the Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay. When you stay with us in the future I highly recommend our Suites, especially our “Room with a Boo”. Our Suites offer more space than a traditional room with a King bed and living room area. They all have views of the Bethlehem Star on South Mountain and Historic Moravian Bethlehem, A National Historic Landmark District. I have brought your comments about the temperature controls to our Chief Engineer so he may inspect the units to prevent that issue in the future. We have also recently made some changes to the Menu in the Tap Room.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We love this place blocks from our home here in Downtown Bethlehem, PA! My mom stayed here, we have sent several friends, they all love it. We eat there often, as the food is excellent and the chef will help you with your food if you have allergies etc. Built in a time of horses, this hotel still has all of the charm it once had, except it now has much more.
We love this place, and for the price it beats any of the express hotels by far.
you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice, but for a view of the city ask for south views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mebuckopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Mebuckopal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for being a loyal guest! We appreciate you recommending the hotel to your family and friends. Our Executive Chef Michael Adams just released the new summer menu in 1741 on the Terrace and as you mentioned we will accommodate special requests.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent two nights at the Historic Hotel Bethlehem for our 35th Anniversary. We were met at the parking lot by the charming valet who directed us to check in and helped with our bags. Check in was easy and when my husband slipped out to park the car, I added champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to be delivered to the room at 5pm. The room was spotless, a corner suite with views of the bustling main street and the beautiful hills. Our treat arrived on the dot at 5pm after we were all settled in. The king size bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was stocked with all kinds of essentials. We reserved a table to dinner in the 1741 Terrace, see our other review. I will say there were lots of wedding guests who were quite noisy as night. Since we are early to bed folks that was a bit of a disappointment but not the fault of the hotel. . We absolutely enjoyed enjoyed our stay and found all of the staff to be personable, helpful and attentive. Not our first stay and won;t be our last!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Christine B,

Happy Belated Anniversary! We are honored that you chose to spend it with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our corner Suites offer dual views of Historic Main St, the Bethlehem Star on South Mountain, and Historic Moravian Bethlehem, A National Historic Landmark District. I would like to apologize for the noise you experienced in the Hallway. We just completed the replacement of our Guestroom doors with new Mahogany doors with virtually eliminate any hallway noise.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here four years ago and, at the time, found too much of the "historic" part of the hotel's name still present. We tried it again after reading that renovations had been done and were very happy to find a much improved property this time. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the fitness facility, while small, was well equipped. Staff is friendly and we would stay there again if we find ourselves back in Bethlehem in the future.

Helpful?
Thank BruceSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Abroad
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The historic Hotel Bethlehem has certainly done an amazing job of updating itself - while keeping the old style charm! The rooms are compact - but pleasant. The beds are HEAVENLY - so comfortable we slept in one morning!! The bathrooms - well small space to be expected but so very well used - and I actually appreciated that there was space to Hang towels and re use them!(if one wanted to be eco friendly!) Extra glass shelves made space for two toilet kits. The closet had a very good supply of hangars - essential when attending 4 days of special events! The staff were so friendly and accommodating - need a sewing kit and scissors at last minute- no problem! Parking - always available - and with an umbrella assist in sudden downpour. The morning coffee in the lobby - with Moravian sugar cake - was a special treat! Proximity to the Old Moravian sites and to Lehigh University were our big attraction. But we enjoyed walking along the renovated Market Street - and enjoying the out door cafes and small shops. YES - we would definitely return again!! and highly recommend the hotel and its location!!

The Tap Room bartender mixes some great drinks - and the live jazz in the bar some nights is enjoyable - but the one weak spot is the service staff in the Tap Room - a little more training required ( and supervision!) The menu - was very good and offered nice selection of small plates as well as entres - UNTIL Friday evening and the graduation crowds - when a "special" menue was suddenly 'de riguer' - very limited and more expensive. Don't like that type of service - so we walked up the street the next two nights, stopping only for nightcap at the bar.
all in all - I highly recommend the hotel - for business or for pleasure - but would explore alternative food sites if it is a fully-booked or special event weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Old Moravian sites are great - and very green! This south side also looks toward S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlhfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi mlhfoley,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that you both enjoyed yourselves and we were able to accommodate your requests. There is so much to see and do right outside the Hotel, we are fortunate to be in such a great location. I have shared your comments with our Director of Restaurants and Executive Chef. They are reviewing our event menus for the future.

Thank you for recommending us to other travelers. We hope to see you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My son and I had an excellent time hosting a Sunday brunch event at the hotel. The food was fantastic, and there was such a nice array of breakfast, lunch, and dessert foods. Our guests were thoroughly impressed with the event, and its location in the heart of downtown Bethlehem. Service was also great, and helped our event run stress free. Would most certainly host another event here, and we look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta4192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Roberta4192,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel for your event! We are thrilled to hear that everyone enjoyed themselves. We were recently named by Open Table as one of the Top 100 brunches in the United States.

Thank you again! We look forward to welcoming you back…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
741 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
235 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing