We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stay at Hotel Bethlehem any chance we get. The rooms are clean and comfortable but the lobby is very inviting. I often just sit in an over stuffed leather chair and write or relax and "people watch. Their Sunday and holiday brunches are unbeatable too.

Room Tip: stay on the south side of the building and you can see the Star of Bethlehem after dark. Very relaxi...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rusty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
There are newer reviews for Historic Hotel Bethlehem
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

I just had my reception at the Hotel Bethlehem on May 24, 2014 in the Grand Ballroom and I don't think I could have picked a better place! The room looked gorgeous and all my guests were so impressed. I loved the vibe and ambiance that comes with this historic site. One of the best things about having an event here is the level of service you receive. I had help throughout my planning from a event coordinator and the day of my reception there was a maitre d helping with everything I needed and things I never even thought of. They even surprised us with champagne and cake in our bridal suite (which was great since we didn't get any)! The food that was served was great, especially the salmon, and our guests enjoyed cocktail hour and dinner immensely.

Even though I would pick the Hotel Bethlehem all over again if given the chance, I had a couple disappointments: 1) The pecan crusted chicken we served was soggy by the time people got it (I'm guessing because of the condensation under the dome covers and 2) Guests who were not staying there had to pay for parking on the street or in a garage. (it is pricey, so not everyone could afford it).

With that said, I so enjoyed my reception and stay at the Hotel Bethlehem and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi FloGator,

Congratulations! We were honored that you chose the Hotel for your special day! We take great pride in ensuring that you are taken care of from start to finish for your event. We understand that planning a wedding is a huge undertaking. We are here to think of things that sometimes get lost in the shuffle. We are happy to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your special day. We also appreciate the feedback on the Chicken. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef so he can prevent that from happening in the future.

Thank you! We hope to see you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Hotel Bethlehem hosted our annual Muller Martini Users Group dinner on May 30, 2014. We held the dinner in the beautiful Terrace Room overlooking Main Street in Bethlehem. The room was beautiful with an incredible view. Our customers raved about the event. The food and service were both fantastic and the hotel even provided music on the piano. We look foward to doing it again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Dan C,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel for your annual dinner! It was truly a pleasure hosting you and your customers at the hotel. Our team strives to ensure that everyone has a great time while they are here. We are pleased to hear that everyone raved about the event.

We are looking forward to next year as well! Thank you again for the accolades!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a repeat visit on our anniversary. Room was so comfortable. Clean and cozy. Nice big warm bath. TV had many channels. Nice view from our room. Mini frig.
We ate at the restaurant which was top notch. Would stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haringdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi haringdr27,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for sharing your experience. We are honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us two years running. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and dinner in the restaurant. Our Executive Chef Michael Adams just released the summer menu for 1741 on the Terrace, if you have the opportunity I highly recommend coming in to check it out.

We hope to welcome you back soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Hotel Bethlehem served as the official host hotel for the 2nd annual conference of the Action Research Network of the Americas, May 22-24, 2014. From the initial registration to the impressive cocktail receptions to the superior dinners in the 1741 on the Terrace Restaurant and Grand Ballroom, every moment spent at the hotel was delightful. What a delight as a Lehigh Valley native to stay in residence at the hotel and not miss a moment of the conference or the luxurious guest accommodations. Thank you Hotel Bethlehem for partnering with Moravian College to welcome conference registrants from around the world to the beautiful historic Moravian Bethlehem National Landmark District and your glorious hotel!

Room Tip: Great views of Bethlehem from the upper floors!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Joseph S,

Thank you for this glowing review! We were honored to be the host hotel for the 2nd annual conference. It was our pleasure to help welcome the attendees to the Hotel and Bethlehem. We enjoyed working with you, your team, and the attendees. We are happy to hear that everyone had a wonderful time.

Thank you again! We look forward to working with you in the future…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A friend and I stayed one night here over Memorial Day weekend. Our room was small but as we were here for a wedding and didn't spend much time in it, it did not bother us at all. The beds and pillows were very comfortable which is a bonus. We also loved the 24 hour room service! They were quick and we were thankful for the midnight snack. The hotel itself was wonderful, it was fun walking around, looking into the different ballrooms and checking out the murals. The hotel has amazing history and it felt like it retained the charm of years gone by.

The downside of our stay was the temperature control in the room was not responding and it was freezing.

As I said, we ordered snacks from room service, it was tasty and prompt (we were also very tipsy!). We also ate lunch the next day at the lobby restaurant (the Tavern?). The food was just okay nothing special.

All in all, a great stay. I would certainly stay here again and perhaps request the "haunted room.".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Tracey M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience at the Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay. When you stay with us in the future I highly recommend our Suites, especially our “Room with a Boo”. Our Suites offer more space than a traditional room with a King bed and living room area. They all have views of the Bethlehem Star on South Mountain and Historic Moravian Bethlehem, A National Historic Landmark District. I have brought your comments about the temperature controls to our Chief Engineer so he may inspect the units to prevent that issue in the future. We have also recently made some changes to the Menu in the Tap Room.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We love this place blocks from our home here in Downtown Bethlehem, PA! My mom stayed here, we have sent several friends, they all love it. We eat there often, as the food is excellent and the chef will help you with your food if you have allergies etc. Built in a time of horses, this hotel still has all of the charm it once had, except it now has much more.
We love this place, and for the price it beats any of the express hotels by far.
you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice, but for a view of the city ask for south views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mebuckopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Mebuckopal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for being a loyal guest! We appreciate you recommending the hotel to your family and friends. Our Executive Chef Michael Adams just released the new summer menu in 1741 on the Terrace and as you mentioned we will accommodate special requests.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
868 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
246 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: £137 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing