We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have mixed feelings about writing this review. We got married there and have spent countless nights there during Musikfest. As such, this hotel holds a special place in our lives.

My wife and I just returned to the hotel to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and stayed in the same room as our wedding night. We stayed in an Executive Star View Suite for about $200 a night. While the room was clean, the room had some obvious signs of wear and tear that were also there the year before. Nothing had been done to fix it. As we walked around the room, we're like: "Oh yea, there's the missing wallpaper from last year", "there's that hole in the wall behind the shower." etc. I've attached pictures of the deferred maintenance. It includes stained couches and chairs, peeling paint throughout the ceiling, peeling, stained or torn wallpaper, and a bathroom door that won't open easily (Due to the lack of ventilation in the bathroom, the wood expands and won't open). When we had our wedding there in 2013, I visited my relatives in other rooms throughout the hotel and the standard rooms are in far worse in shape. I specifically remember my parent's room had a broken lamp and areas of missing wallpaper. All of the rooms that I've seen are generally clean but need some basic maintenance updates.

At $200 a night in a sleepy (yet beautiful) town like Bethlehem, you expect better quality that this hotel offers. Yes, we enjoy exploring the town, having a drink at the bar, and the lobby is very nice. However, any other hotel would have addressed the maintenance issues long ago. This is probably the most expensive hotel in town and it could be the nicest.

The other annoying thing is the parking. They charge $7/night for parking which we were not aware of until we checked out. The best part is that I couldn't actually park at the hotel on Saturday night as the lot was full. I parked on the street in front of the hotel.

To summarize, we love this hotel, but its going down the tubes. All they need to do is apply some fresh paint and fix some of maintenance issues to restore it to the quality that their reputation demands and deserves.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are closets. Upgrade to a suite to receive a normal sized hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BobAdams111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi BobAdams111,

Happy Anniversary! I would like to start by apologizing for your experience with your room. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to keep you on as our loyal guest. Our General Manager is reviewing your feedback with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper. They will be personally inspecting the rooms and taking care of any issues. We are also sorry that you were not able to park in the Hotel’s parking deck during your stay. This has been addressed with our Front Office Manager and Bellman to prevent this from happening in the future. We are a Historic Hotel and some of our guest rooms are cozy and our suites offer more space with a living room.

Thank you again for your feedback. Our General Manager Dennis Costello would like the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail. If you would like to speak with him he may be reached at 610-625-2201 or DCostello@hotelbethlehem.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    204
    54
    18
    14
See reviews for
256
317
33
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Bethlehem is forever our get away from the world. In all of my stays, the staff's attention to detail and personalized service is always far beyond expectation. Sunday's Brunch is a magical experience, pianist softy in the background as you enjoy the food and atmosphere. It's a must in the Lehigh Valley.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Rob M,

Thank you for the accolades! We are honored to have you both as our loyal guests. We want to be your home away from home when you are traveling. Our staff strives to exceed your expectations. It is wonderful to hear that they did just that for you. Our Musical Sunday brunch was just named one of the top 100 brunches in the country by OpenTable. We are happy to hear that you both enjoyed it.

Thank you again! We are looking forward to welcoming you back…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
309 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My son and I stayed here on a Sunday night before visiting Lehigh University the next morning. We wanted to stay at the hotel the Saturday night also, but it was fully booked. So, make those reservations early!

Although we arrived before 11 am, our room was ready. It was on the smallish size, especially the bathroom, but it was nice and comfortable. We were in room #724, which unfortunately was right across from the ice maker. That combined with the trains and slamming doors made it nosier than I would have liked. The bed was comfy, and that's very important to me. There was a small fridge in the room, which was a nice touch.

The bar in the lobby had friendly bartenders and the atmosphere was open to see the comings and goings of everyone. I love to watch people, so this was perfect for me. It was busy with the Sunday brunch.

Oh, the parking is easy! It is in a structure behind the hotel. There are lots of little restaurants and shops in the area around this hotel. I wish I had more time to explore.

If I am in the area again, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ttttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Ttttraveler,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Lehigh University visit. I would like to apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay. We appreciate the feedback. I have shared your comments with our Chief Engineer so he can address the doors and ice machine. We however are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay and found the beds comfortable. You certainly came to the right place to people watch. There is always a lot of hustle and bustle in our lobby and Tap Room.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This is a fine old hotel with style and good service. JFK stayed here, so did the Dalai Lama. The rooms are well kept and ours had a great view. You can enjoy the fine restaurant in the hotel or find a variety of less expensive options within walking distance on the city's restored Main Street.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NelsonVNile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi NelsonVNile,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m sure you have seen the wall of fame in our Tap Room that features photos of several famous former guests that have stayed with us. You will have to check it when you get back to see if any new faces have been added.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Hotel Bethlehem goes back to the days of the Steel Barons. The decor, as well as the excellent service, seems out-of-time. A great place to stay.

My last trip was for pleasure...a boys night out. ("Boys"? We were all born in 1960!). We picked the Hotel Bethlehem because there are many good bars and restaurants within walking distance. Downtown Bethlehem is great for walking around to find different places to have fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Kevin m,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you all enjoyed the Hotel. As you mentioned there is plenty to do right outside our doors. I am glad that your “boys” night out was a success!

Thank you! We hope to see you all soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed at Historic Hotel Bethlehem while in the area for a show. Located in a quaint historic district the hotel is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Convenient parking, easy check-in courteous staff, clean comfortable room. Everything was just great and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi MrsP2,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and were able to walk around our Historic Moravian Bethlehem, A National Historic Landmark District. There is so much to see and do.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We recently had a baby shower for my daughter in the lovely Lehigh Room. The room was beautiful, with gorgeous windows looking out onto the shops and restaurants on historic Main Street. The food was hot, fresh and delicious. The service was exceptional. The staff was professional and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble. We will use Historic Hotel Bethlehem for any and all events in the future. It's simply spectacular.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing