We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Test of a Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Unknown to us, we had reserved our room at the Historic Hotel Bethlehem for the first weekend in "Musikfest", an annual mega-event, by Lehigh Valley standards. This is one of those events where people carry large mugs from venue to venue, refilling the mugs with beer as they go. So we expected quite a bit of drunken revelry, with the attendant loud parties in neighboring rooms, beer bottles left lying around the premises, etc. However, we had no problems whatsoever. I was very impressed with the way the hotel was able to gently remind guests about "quiet hours", kept the entire place clean, and managed the hoards of people streaming through the lobby through most of the day. (The hotel hosted some events associated with Musikfest.) The fact that we had no issues over a weekend when the hotel was certainly stressed to its limits is testament to the fact that this is a very well-managed establishment. In addition, the rooms were lovely, and the restaurant very good. We were on a discount rate from Hotwire, so I wasn't surprised that our room was a little small, but it was perfectly adequate, well-appointed and clean. The bathroom is finished in marble and period fixtures. Robes were provided in the room. Downtown Bethlehem is charming - and would probably have been even more so on a less crowded weekend. For those either looking to attend or avoid Musikfest, it starts the first weekend in August and runs for 10 days.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GillH_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi GillH_MD,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned you were here during MusikFest. Every year we have several meetings leading up to the festival to ensure that we are prepared (it is all hands on deck) and able to ensure that everything runs smoothly with little to no impact on our hotel guests. We are a Historic Hotel. Some of our rooms are cozier than others. I assure you that we do not assign rooms based on where the reservation is coming from.

I would highly recommend staying with us again. There is so much to see and do right here in the Downtown area.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is so quaint and stunning. The ambiance is second to none. The hotel has character galore. The only reason I am giving it a four store instead of a five star is because it does have some deferred maintenance around the building which is a shame because this hotel has the potential to be more than stunning. The rooms are very comfortable, the beds are comfortable and most of all they are very clean. The staff is very friendly and always available. They never seem understaffed. The hotel offers the Tap Room which has fantastic food and is lots of fun. The hotel also offers an ATM right in the building and a gift shop. Apparently they are remodeling on the lower level to include an ice cream shop. The location is fabulous because it is right in the center of a quaint town that boasts tons of shopping, restaurants and taverns! We have stayed here during Musikfest for the past 4 years and just love it. I would recommend it for anyone who is having a special venue like a wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank O2968HZjcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi O2968HZjcmc,

Thank you for staying with us and for being a loyal guest! We are in the perfect location for MusikFest, a good majority of the festival is just steps away. It is great to hear that overall you enjoy the hotel and everything that we have to offer. I would like to apologize for the maintenance issues that you encountered during your stay. Our General Manager is reviewing your comment with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper. They will be personally inspecting the rooms and taking care of any issues. Thank you for recommending us for weddings. We love hosting events for any occasion.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for MusikFest 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our first experience staying at Historic Hotel Bethlehem in Bethlehem Pennsylvania! The hotel itself is simply stunning but yet it is also very warm and welcoming! Our room was cozy and elegant! It is located right in the heart of downtown with so many restaurants and taverns! There are darling shops to browse! The Tap Room is a fantastic restaurant and bar! Such lovely people at every turn within this hotel! We were greeted by a lovely lady and the grand time began there! I cant say enough good things about this hotel! We will look forward to our next stay in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Kay F,

Welcome to the Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay. It is our goal to ensure that you feel welcome and at home from start to finish. I am happy that we did just that.

Thank you! We cannot wait to welcome you back…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We got married at Hotel Bethlehem over the weekend. We had a large wedding of 200, and brought in a large amount of items for the reception. The staff at Hotel Bethlehem was more than accommodating. Their efforts made for an absolutely perfect wedding.

The hotel rooms were immaculate and all of our guests enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lomalley32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi Lomalley32,

Congratulations! Thank you for choosing us to host your Wedding. We were honored to share in your special day. It is nice to hear that everything was perfect. Our staff takes great pride in ensuring that your day is as worry free as possible.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have mixed feelings about writing this review. We got married there and have spent countless nights there during Musikfest. As such, this hotel holds a special place in our lives.

My wife and I just returned to the hotel to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and stayed in the same room as our wedding night. We stayed in an Executive Star View Suite for about $200 a night. While the room was clean, the room had some obvious signs of wear and tear that were also there the year before. Nothing had been done to fix it. As we walked around the room, we're like: "Oh yea, there's the missing wallpaper from last year", "there's that hole in the wall behind the shower." etc. I've attached pictures of the deferred maintenance. It includes stained couches and chairs, peeling paint throughout the ceiling, peeling, stained or torn wallpaper, and a bathroom door that won't open easily (Due to the lack of ventilation in the bathroom, the wood expands and won't open). When we had our wedding there in 2013, I visited my relatives in other rooms throughout the hotel and the standard rooms are in far worse in shape. I specifically remember my parent's room had a broken lamp and areas of missing wallpaper. All of the rooms that I've seen are generally clean but need some basic maintenance updates.

At $200 a night in a sleepy (yet beautiful) town like Bethlehem, you expect better quality that this hotel offers. Yes, we enjoy exploring the town, having a drink at the bar, and the lobby is very nice. However, any other hotel would have addressed the maintenance issues long ago. This is probably the most expensive hotel in town and it could be the nicest.

The other annoying thing is the parking. They charge $7/night for parking which we were not aware of until we checked out. The best part is that I couldn't actually park at the hotel on Saturday night as the lot was full. I parked on the street in front of the hotel.

To summarize, we love this hotel, but its going down the tubes. All they need to do is apply some fresh paint and fix some of maintenance issues to restore it to the quality that their reputation demands and deserves.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are closets. Upgrade to a suite to receive a normal sized hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank BobAdams111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi BobAdams111,

Happy Anniversary! I would like to start by apologizing for your experience with your room. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to keep you on as our loyal guest. Our General Manager is reviewing your feedback with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper. They will be personally inspecting the rooms and taking care of any issues. We are also sorry that you were not able to park in the Hotel’s parking deck during your stay. This has been addressed with our Front Office Manager and Bellman to prevent this from happening in the future. We are a Historic Hotel and some of our guest rooms are cozy and our suites offer more space with a living room.

Thank you again for your feedback. Our General Manager Dennis Costello would like the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail. If you would like to speak with him he may be reached at 610-625-2201 or DCostello@hotelbethlehem.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Bethlehem is forever our get away from the world. In all of my stays, the staff's attention to detail and personalized service is always far beyond expectation. Sunday's Brunch is a magical experience, pianist softy in the background as you enjoy the food and atmosphere. It's a must in the Lehigh Valley.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Rob M,

Thank you for the accolades! We are honored to have you both as our loyal guests. We want to be your home away from home when you are traveling. Our staff strives to exceed your expectations. It is wonderful to hear that they did just that for you. Our Musical Sunday brunch was just named one of the top 100 brunches in the country by OpenTable. We are happy to hear that you both enjoyed it.

Thank you again! We are looking forward to welcoming you back…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My son and I stayed here on a Sunday night before visiting Lehigh University the next morning. We wanted to stay at the hotel the Saturday night also, but it was fully booked. So, make those reservations early!

Although we arrived before 11 am, our room was ready. It was on the smallish size, especially the bathroom, but it was nice and comfortable. We were in room #724, which unfortunately was right across from the ice maker. That combined with the trains and slamming doors made it nosier than I would have liked. The bed was comfy, and that's very important to me. There was a small fridge in the room, which was a nice touch.

The bar in the lobby had friendly bartenders and the atmosphere was open to see the comings and goings of everyone. I love to watch people, so this was perfect for me. It was busy with the Sunday brunch.

Oh, the parking is easy! It is in a structure behind the hotel. There are lots of little restaurants and shops in the area around this hotel. I wish I had more time to explore.

If I am in the area again, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ttttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Ttttraveler,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Lehigh University visit. I would like to apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay. We appreciate the feedback. I have shared your comments with our Chief Engineer so he can address the doors and ice machine. We however are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay and found the beds comfortable. You certainly came to the right place to people watch. There is always a lot of hustle and bustle in our lobby and Tap Room.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 14 in Bethlehem
969 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: £133 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing