We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for Musikfest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient for Musikfest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have been going to Musikfest for eight years and this year decided to stay at the Hotel Bethlehem. I have been in the hotel many times before and was VERY excited to stay there. Above all, I was satisfied, very comfortable bed, great blackout curtains. Wonderful night of sleep. The only advice I would give is to avoid ordering food late night at the bar, I ordered two courses of food at midnight and it was not brought out until 1:30, after the lights were turned on!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Valerie C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for letting us know about your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and had a great night sleep. I would like to apologize for the service shortfall you experienced while you were a guest at our bar. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and Director of Restaurants so they can prevent this happening in the future.

Thank you again! We hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    200
    54
    18
    14
See reviews for
251
315
33
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fogelsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just experienced Musikfest 2014 at its best! Stayed two nights at The Historic Hotel Bethlehem right in the heart of the festival. Total convenience plus total quality equals a fantastic experience! Not cheap but definitely worth the indulgence.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHACBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Jeff A,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you attended MusikFest. Our location can’t be beat if you want to take advantage of everything the festival and Hotel has to offer. We are happy to hear that you had a great time during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back for MusikFest 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a wonderful weekend we had. We arrived and Cameron at the Front Desk was so professional and very welcoming. He is a great asset to the hotel. Brunch was great - really an impressive display of food. We sat at the Tap Room (1741 Restaurant was full). Francois and Nina were absolute delight. Very attentive to all guests. Suite upgrade was so much appreciated. Thank you, Alice. The town itself was a discovery. If you are a history buff, there is so much to learn and see in this town from the Moravians who established this town to Bethlehem Steel. Very relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Corner Suites will let you see the views of the hills and parks farther out and rooms facing the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Thelma L,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We truly appreciate the wonderful review and are pleased that you truly enjoyed yourselves. There is so much to see and do just steps from the Hotel. We are located in the heart of Historic Moravian Bethlehem, A National Historic Landmark District. Thank you for mentioning our Musical Sunday Brunch. We were named one of the top 100 brunches in the country by OpenTable. I have also shared your comments with Cameron, Alice, Francois, and Nina. They are all great assets to our team.

Thank you! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Unknown to us, we had reserved our room at the Historic Hotel Bethlehem for the first weekend in "Musikfest", an annual mega-event, by Lehigh Valley standards. This is one of those events where people carry large mugs from venue to venue, refilling the mugs with beer as they go. So we expected quite a bit of drunken revelry, with the attendant loud parties in neighboring rooms, beer bottles left lying around the premises, etc. However, we had no problems whatsoever. I was very impressed with the way the hotel was able to gently remind guests about "quiet hours", kept the entire place clean, and managed the hoards of people streaming through the lobby through most of the day. (The hotel hosted some events associated with Musikfest.) The fact that we had no issues over a weekend when the hotel was certainly stressed to its limits is testament to the fact that this is a very well-managed establishment. In addition, the rooms were lovely, and the restaurant very good. We were on a discount rate from Hotwire, so I wasn't surprised that our room was a little small, but it was perfectly adequate, well-appointed and clean. The bathroom is finished in marble and period fixtures. Robes were provided in the room. Downtown Bethlehem is charming - and would probably have been even more so on a less crowded weekend. For those either looking to attend or avoid Musikfest, it starts the first weekend in August and runs for 10 days.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillH_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi GillH_MD,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned you were here during MusikFest. Every year we have several meetings leading up to the festival to ensure that we are prepared (it is all hands on deck) and able to ensure that everything runs smoothly with little to no impact on our hotel guests. We are a Historic Hotel. Some of our rooms are cozier than others. I assure you that we do not assign rooms based on where the reservation is coming from.

I would highly recommend staying with us again. There is so much to see and do right here in the Downtown area.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is so quaint and stunning. The ambiance is second to none. The hotel has character galore. The only reason I am giving it a four store instead of a five star is because it does have some deferred maintenance around the building which is a shame because this hotel has the potential to be more than stunning. The rooms are very comfortable, the beds are comfortable and most of all they are very clean. The staff is very friendly and always available. They never seem understaffed. The hotel offers the Tap Room which has fantastic food and is lots of fun. The hotel also offers an ATM right in the building and a gift shop. Apparently they are remodeling on the lower level to include an ice cream shop. The location is fabulous because it is right in the center of a quaint town that boasts tons of shopping, restaurants and taverns! We have stayed here during Musikfest for the past 4 years and just love it. I would recommend it for anyone who is having a special venue like a wedding.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O2968HZjcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi O2968HZjcmc,

Thank you for staying with us and for being a loyal guest! We are in the perfect location for MusikFest, a good majority of the festival is just steps away. It is great to hear that overall you enjoy the hotel and everything that we have to offer. I would like to apologize for the maintenance issues that you encountered during your stay. Our General Manager is reviewing your comment with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper. They will be personally inspecting the rooms and taking care of any issues. Thank you for recommending us for weddings. We love hosting events for any occasion.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for MusikFest 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our first experience staying at Historic Hotel Bethlehem in Bethlehem Pennsylvania! The hotel itself is simply stunning but yet it is also very warm and welcoming! Our room was cozy and elegant! It is located right in the heart of downtown with so many restaurants and taverns! There are darling shops to browse! The Tap Room is a fantastic restaurant and bar! Such lovely people at every turn within this hotel! We were greeted by a lovely lady and the grand time began there! I cant say enough good things about this hotel! We will look forward to our next stay in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Kay F,

Welcome to the Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay. It is our goal to ensure that you feel welcome and at home from start to finish. I am happy that we did just that.

Thank you! We cannot wait to welcome you back…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We got married at Hotel Bethlehem over the weekend. We had a large wedding of 200, and brought in a large amount of items for the reception. The staff at Hotel Bethlehem was more than accommodating. Their efforts made for an absolutely perfect wedding.

The hotel rooms were immaculate and all of our guests enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomalley32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Lomalley32,

Congratulations! Thank you for choosing us to host your Wedding. We were honored to share in your special day. It is nice to hear that everything was perfect. Our staff takes great pride in ensuring that your day is as worry free as possible.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing