We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quite a find”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were coming to Bethlehem to visit the Universities in the area. We booked this hotel at the almost last minute. We then arrived during Musikfest, which was quite a shock. First off the street was jammed with people, but luckily the police pointed the way and the hotel had two staff on the street directing us into the entrance (thanks!). On entering the hotel we felt like we were on the set of 'The Grand Budapest Hotel'. Beautiful turn of the century lobby, complete with the 'bell hops' and the old elevators. Given the party atmosphere outside I was a bit concerned, but inside was calm, even though they had a live performer playing as well. The staff were all very pleasant and informative. Somehow despite our late booking we were given a corner suite room on the top floor which had a great view of the city and the action below. Thankfully (amazingly?), it had non of the noise. The room was very comfortable and pleasantly furnished. The bathroom was of more modern vintage. And the WiFi worked... at least in the separate suite area... bit of a stretch to the bed though. My only negative would be that the ceiling was cracked and needing a fresh coat of something...it brought down the overall feel of the room a bit, but that is really just finding fault...Keeping up with repairs in an old hotel must be a bit of a nightmare and I give full credit to the management and staff for what they have done with this grand old lady. Looking around, there were at least two function rooms off the lobby, which were quite lovely.... I can see why people have their weddings there. We had breakfast in the dining area, which was very nice... very pleasant service. I can say that I never expected to find such a property in Bethlehem. Not taking time to search, we almost stayed at a chain hotel... what a mistake that would have been. We would go back... I'd even consider a special trip if I lived relatively near-by.

On a related note, we took the opportunity to attend some of the Musikfest events and I really have to give the City full credit for their organization; crowd control; and clean-up. On the first item, there really was a lot of people and a lot of alcohol... usually this will spell disaster eventually and I saw in the newspaper that they do have some issues. That said,the crowd that I saw was friendly and just out to have a good time listening to music... either as a result, or maybe because of that, the police presence is mostly off on the side (people do not mess with mounted police), or at the end of the street, consequentially it all has a good vibe. The street in front of the hotel on that night must have attracted every teenager for a hundred miles... but kids gotta have fun too and they seemed well behaved for the most part. Amazingly, the next morning, the entire main city area was spotless... no trash, no smells, no nothing... really amazing. Well done Bethlehem! And great job Hotel Bethlehem.

Room Tip: Corner suite was great... and no street noise on teh high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricW4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Hi ErichH45,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the local Universities. We are pleased to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay. As you mentioned we are in the located in the heart of MusikFest. It is nice to know that you and your family were able to enjoy and take part in the festival.

Thank you again! We hope you chose a University in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    205
    54
    18
    14
See reviews for
256
318
33
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My new husband and I stayed here for our mini-Honeymoon and plan on making this an anniversary tradition! The hotel is a 20-minute drive to Dorney Park, and within walking distance to some great restaurants. What we love about this place is that it brings the grandeur and luxury of the old turn of the century hotels to guests at an affordable rate. The bathrooms have real marble, the towels are soft, and the beds are comfortable. They even provide bath robes!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Rachael H,

Congratulations to you and your husband! We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your mini-Honeymoon! Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that you both enjoyed your time with us.

We are looking forward to being a part of your Anniversary tradition! Until next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, NY
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Giving this establishment 5 stars would be like calling California kitchen a gourmet Restraunt. Consistently great food, never disappointed but not top of the line. When we visit our daughter at Lehigh univ. We always prefer to stay here. The service is great and the ambiance is warm and quaint. The rooms are spacious and we'll appointed. The bathrooms are top rate and recently renovated. This is the best of Bethlehem but the hotel Hershey is 5 stars.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Steven P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our staff strives to provide a great experience for each and every guest. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to see your daughter at Lehigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have been going to Musikfest for eight years and this year decided to stay at the Hotel Bethlehem. I have been in the hotel many times before and was VERY excited to stay there. Above all, I was satisfied, very comfortable bed, great blackout curtains. Wonderful night of sleep. The only advice I would give is to avoid ordering food late night at the bar, I ordered two courses of food at midnight and it was not brought out until 1:30, after the lights were turned on!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Valerie C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for letting us know about your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and had a great night sleep. I would like to apologize for the service shortfall you experienced while you were a guest at our bar. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and Director of Restaurants so they can prevent this happening in the future.

Thank you again! We hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fogelsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just experienced Musikfest 2014 at its best! Stayed two nights at The Historic Hotel Bethlehem right in the heart of the festival. Total convenience plus total quality equals a fantastic experience! Not cheap but definitely worth the indulgence.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHACBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Jeff A,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you attended MusikFest. Our location can’t be beat if you want to take advantage of everything the festival and Hotel has to offer. We are happy to hear that you had a great time during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back for MusikFest 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a wonderful weekend we had. We arrived and Cameron at the Front Desk was so professional and very welcoming. He is a great asset to the hotel. Brunch was great - really an impressive display of food. We sat at the Tap Room (1741 Restaurant was full). Francois and Nina were absolute delight. Very attentive to all guests. Suite upgrade was so much appreciated. Thank you, Alice. The town itself was a discovery. If you are a history buff, there is so much to learn and see in this town from the Moravians who established this town to Bethlehem Steel. Very relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Corner Suites will let you see the views of the hills and parks farther out and rooms facing the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Thelma L,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We truly appreciate the wonderful review and are pleased that you truly enjoyed yourselves. There is so much to see and do just steps from the Hotel. We are located in the heart of Historic Moravian Bethlehem, A National Historic Landmark District. Thank you for mentioning our Musical Sunday Brunch. We were named one of the top 100 brunches in the country by OpenTable. I have also shared your comments with Cameron, Alice, Francois, and Nina. They are all great assets to our team.

Thank you! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Unknown to us, we had reserved our room at the Historic Hotel Bethlehem for the first weekend in "Musikfest", an annual mega-event, by Lehigh Valley standards. This is one of those events where people carry large mugs from venue to venue, refilling the mugs with beer as they go. So we expected quite a bit of drunken revelry, with the attendant loud parties in neighboring rooms, beer bottles left lying around the premises, etc. However, we had no problems whatsoever. I was very impressed with the way the hotel was able to gently remind guests about "quiet hours", kept the entire place clean, and managed the hoards of people streaming through the lobby through most of the day. (The hotel hosted some events associated with Musikfest.) The fact that we had no issues over a weekend when the hotel was certainly stressed to its limits is testament to the fact that this is a very well-managed establishment. In addition, the rooms were lovely, and the restaurant very good. We were on a discount rate from Hotwire, so I wasn't surprised that our room was a little small, but it was perfectly adequate, well-appointed and clean. The bathroom is finished in marble and period fixtures. Robes were provided in the room. Downtown Bethlehem is charming - and would probably have been even more so on a less crowded weekend. For those either looking to attend or avoid Musikfest, it starts the first weekend in August and runs for 10 days.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillH_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi GillH_MD,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned you were here during MusikFest. Every year we have several meetings leading up to the festival to ensure that we are prepared (it is all hands on deck) and able to ensure that everything runs smoothly with little to no impact on our hotel guests. We are a Historic Hotel. Some of our rooms are cozier than others. I assure you that we do not assign rooms based on where the reservation is coming from.

I would highly recommend staying with us again. There is so much to see and do right here in the Downtown area.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing