We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I will admit that the outside of Hotel Bethlehem (the back view at least) left me a little frightened. Once we went inside however, it turned our to be a nicely restored, charming old hotel. The rooms are not large - it is old after all, but they are suitable. The bathroom is small but has been remodeled well. Bath products are Bath & Body Works so no complaints there. The walls are thin - we could hear our neighbor's radio but they soon turned it off. The main draw of the Hotel Bethlehem is its charm and location. The lobby is perfect and the location is right in the middle of downtown Bethlehem. There's a great bagel place across the street for breakfast where everyone was super friendly. We didn't have much interaction with staff at the hotel but everyone appeared willing to help. Parking was a little limited and I can imagine it would be a problem if the hotel were at capacity. The parking is free though which is always a nice treat for travelers. Overall, I thought it was a very cute, quaint hotel. There are some areas of improvement that could be made (size of baths and noise levels) but those things typically come along with older hotels. The location is great and I would still recommend Hotel Bethlehem.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCRGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
There are newer reviews for Historic Hotel Bethlehem
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

-Room was big, clean, remember it's an old, historic hotel, so not what some folks look for
-Bathroom was small, but charming & clean
-Elevators not as slow as everyone says, never really noticed it
-Front desk check in girl was rude
-Waiter at breakfast was neither warm or friendly, not even a smile or good morning. (The french toast w/strawberries, bananas & almonds was the sooooo good)
-Walked to Mama Ninas for dinner, about a block away, food was awesome! Fantastic!
-Personally thought the staff could've been alot friendlier.
-Looks like alot of stores on Main St were closed/out of business. Not much to do or see in that respect, but we went to the Sands to gamble.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

If you like older hotels you will be quite pleased and feel right at home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Historic jewel with modern amenities. Stayed there on business trip but would definately return for leisure if in area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayeteekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Very pleasant stay for one night. Lovely room clean and calm. Nice staff.

A lot things to see around.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank GuillaumeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

My spouse and I traveled to Bethlehem, PA. for a Christmas visit with family, staying at the Hotel Bethlehem for five nights (Dec. 21st-Dec. 26th 2009).

Looking for a hotel that had superior cleanliness ratings, on Trip Advisor and other travel sites, the decision was based on that, in addition to the hotel's perceived ambience. As a native of Bethlehem (I've lived in Orlando for 31 years), the hotel was familiar to me, and as Bethlehem is the "Christmas City", we decided a stay in the heart of town would be a great experience. We were NOT disappointed. For many years this hotel was closed and unused, until the fairly recent, superb restoration. Elegance, without that "stuffy" feeling, the ambience is that of a bygone era. The service matched the expectations: down to earth, not condescending. This historical hotel is a gem.


Upon arrival we were upgraded to a King Suite, though the reservation was for a Queen room. The bed was comfortable, and the room beautifully appointed. The bath, though small, was totally in keeping with the period, with lovely "period" fixtures, wallpaper, etc.

Hotel Bethlehem was booked solid for Christmas week, and I can understand why. When making the reservation in early October I requested a room overlooking Main Street, that we might enjoy the view of the small shops (fronted by bare branched trees in December) and surrounding buildings, which are traditionally decorated with Christmas greens and lights. The Moravian Church, and nearby historical buildings, are also decorated, with single window candles, which burn from dusk to dawn. The hotel Bethlehem is also decorated; white lights outlining it's huge Palladian windows, in addition to greens, window displays, etc. The interior of the hotel is elegant and beautiful, restored to it's proper era (early 1920s). The Christmas decorations merely heightened it's innate beauty.

I've seen reviews on this site that complain of the tardy elevators, but didn't experience that problem on our visit. The elevators are lovely, paneled in wood, with the Star Of Bethlehem centered on their tile floors. Another of the elegant little touches that make this hotel so special.

The service was top-notch, from the Front Desk staff to the Bellhops. Early risers (5am) we can't do without our morning coffee. When the Keurig coffeemaker failed we took advantage of the Hotel Bethlehem's 24 hour room service. The coffee was so good we continued to order each morning at 5am. The Bellhop surpised us on the second morning, saying he brewed AND prepared our coffee tray, as the kitchen staff was busy. Now THAT'S good service!

We travel frequently, and have never had a better experience with a hotel. This one is TOP NOTCH! I look forward to many future visits to the area, so I may experience, once again, this great hotel.

NOTE: Photos to be added after uploading to my pc.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelinBobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2009

hotel was nice but in the dining area horrible!
meal was so so
will not go back again

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdiamonds12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
868 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
246 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: £137 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing