We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic menu in a small diner setting”

Billy's Downtown Diner
Ranked #15 of 347 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu in a small diner setting”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

This looks and feels like a small diner on a crowded street, but this isn't diner food. The menu is not traditional, and every item sounds better than the one before. There are always breakfast and lunch specials but huevos rancheros is an absolute must at least once. It is absolutely delicious; flavorful but not too spicy. If you go at a busy time be prepared to wait, but at least the servers are fast and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elora21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    51
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do you like sharing food with someone you don't know?”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Me and my best friend stopped in for a late breakfast. Our waitress served the people next to us, and after the patron already started eating her meal, the waitress came back and said "wait wait wait!", and took her plate away. Our waitress then came back no more than thirty seconds later, and gave my best friend the same plate, and the pancakes still had a large two inch chunk cut out of it. That is absolutely unsanitary and not okay. Our waitress did not apologize, and rushed us out the door before I could speak to the host/manager. The resturaunt has very dirty walls and dirty silverware. I would highly suggest going elsewhere if you favor cleanliness.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tcm8786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“First Time and will go back”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Found this place online. So glad we did. We had to wait 20 minutes for a table as it is very busy.We were told this online but it was worth the wait. Although the restaurant is small the food was excellent and the service very quick and friendly. My husband had a tasty omelette with mango salsa and Jalapeno peppers on top. I had a Pita Chicken,Spinach and Ricotta sandwich with home fries. Delicious. There are so many choices we will go back again and work our way through the menu. Next time we will take the teenagers to try the awesome looking pancakes..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small but full of flavor”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We found this small place by accident... but wow.. delicious

You need to try Huevos Rancheros full of flavor loaded with cheese sausage beans guacamole ...just try it you will see what I am talking about.

The owner very friendly and welcoming..

Love the place

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Limarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Good place for breakfast”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Great breakfast food but they need to figure out a better system to handle a busy restaurant. The hostess didn't appear to have any personality or seem to care about her job. The waitress was very friendly but in the weeds as did every other waitress appear. The owner should focus on the detail in the restaurant, we sat at the counter and there were lights coming down right in front of our faces. Very chaotic and appears to just need some fine tuning but can't complain about the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy's Downtown Diner also viewed

 

Been to Billy's Downtown Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing