We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint charming restaurant”

The Lakefront Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lakefront Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint charming restaurant”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is the most charming restaurant in Mammoth. Actually over at the Tamarack Lodge by Lake Mary. Great food both summer and winter. Not cheap but absolutely worth the money. If you are trying to impress your date or just want a fantastic dining experience, this is your place. The place is small, so make reservations if possible.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    30
    16
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee Vining, California
1 review
“Best Meal Ever”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were told not to miss this place on our Mammoth Trip - and we are so glad we didn't! The atmosphere was warm and appealing - no pretense just good food and wine. The price was better than the bay area, too. The Chef even came out to see if we enjoyed our meal! We almost didn't go because my wife likes seafood and there was much of it on the menu - but we learned that the seafood is brought in fresh daily with what is in season - so there are lots of seafood specials to chose from. Tres Manifique!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Handle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“great atmoshphere!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I like this restaurant for a nice lakefront lunch! the prices are little much but the food is delicisous and the service was friendly. We got the smoked salmon appetizer which was excellent!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pannk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Mammoth”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I've been to the Lakefront at Tamarack Lodge three times in the last two years and every time its a great experience. The food is outstanding as is the service. Great wine selection.
The only thing that is kind of weird is they don't have a huge selection of alcoholic beverages. I'm a gin guy and they don't carry two of the most popular gins, mine being Bombay Sapphire. The one they offer is ok and different. It is Cidadelle. Great little (it is small) restaurant. I won't go into the actual dishes because other travelers have commented on them. Considering you're in a small resort town at 9000feet at a beautiful lake, its a great place. Better than a lot of restaurants that charge the same amount in SoCal. And it is expensive. The service from walking in the door to leaving has been outstanding every time.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainshadowsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Bar: awful. Restaurant: good.”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I have a love/hate relationship with the Lakefront, where I have eaten once or twice a year for ages. The food is always decent (though the menu doesn't rotate enough), the dining room is cosy, and the location is cute. It ain't cheap, but the grub is fresh, seasonal and local and the soup is ALWAYS excellent.

But, and it's a big "but," they really have to sort out their front of house. It is invariably appalling. Bad enough to spoil the entire dining experience. Each of the last three times I have arrived for dinner, exactly the same thing has happened.

1) We walk into the bar area. No-one is there to greet us.
2) After five minutes, a waiter emerges. We are on time, or even later, than the time of our booking. But the table isn't free.
3) No problem, we say, can we have a drink at the bar? Sure says the waiter. The barman will be out in a minute.
4) We stand, like lemons, for between five and fifteen minutes. No barman emerges.
5) I walk into the restaurant looking for a drink/barman. Waiter/waitress tells me off for not waiting patiently at the bar.
6) Barman eventually emerges. Fails to apologise. Pours drink.
7) At the exact moment our drinks are finally poured, we are hustled into the restaurant.

This just ain't good enough. It's comic, actually. Fawlty Towers stuff. No-one minds a table being late - that's just one of those things. But you have to greet customers when they arrive. And if you are going to make them wait before sitting down, you absolutely have to look after them - or at least let them buy a drink. Sort it out, and I'd go to the Lakefront far more often and spend more money when I do.

There ends the ranrt.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grizzly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lakefront Restaurant also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to The Lakefront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing