We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Happy Hour between 3-6 pm”

Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #29 of 94 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed some pre-dinner drinks & snacks during "Happy Hour" on a late Monday afternoon. The drinks were not as cheap as some other nearby venues, but the food and service were excellent.

We recommend the Nachos Grande and the Mex-fries.

Thank nambourlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Looks like you traveled a long way! Thanks so much for including Mammoth/Yosemite and Gomez's in your trip. We all really appreciate it. Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 288 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Besides the killer margaritas, crispy chips, fresh homemade salsa, great atmosphere, patio for people watching in the Village, great Mexican specialties - who need anything else? Looking forward to spending a lazy summer evening enjoying it all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sierra Nevada R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by. We really appreciate it and your kind words. Keep up the snow dance! We got started a bit later up here but its way to early to stop! Hoping we have an extended spring ski season. Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We've been long time customers for Gomez's, from the time they were in the small A-frame to their move to the village, and we've never had a bad meal. It's routinely excellent and the service outstanding. Russ, the owner, is personable and clearly committed to making each diner's experience the best it can be. Miquel, our favorite waiter, is absolutely delightful--and perfect in al he does. This is our favorite restaurant in Mammoth. Mogul's is a close second.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We really appreciate your support for all these years and your very kind words. Anyone that reads my comments here or elsewhere knows that we are very aware of our humanity. Our imperfections. We don't always get it right. But what we also hope is that we convey, more often than not, that we care...because we really do. We have good and bad moments but in the end we love what we do and enjoy serving our guests. We also feel fortunate to be able to do so in this beautiful area that Dave McCoy discovered. What a blessing. Thanks so much for being a part. Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Food was great but the village is dead after 8 at present. People must eat earlier here. Also there is no free parking. You have to pay in the ski lot opposite 24 hours a day.

Thank Wolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks so much for stopping by. Looks like you may have traveled a long distance to visit our little paradise here in Mammoth/Yosemite! Wow! Thanks so much. All of us here really enjoy sharing our playground with others. Safe travels. Snowing hard the next few days, wish we could tempt you to return. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had to wait a while and the place is a little noisy, other than that its great. Good food, great Tequila.

Thank LA-JH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Sounds like you stopped by on one of our more popular nights! Thanks so much we really appreciate it... So happy you enjoyed your visit. All of us here in this remote paradise (Mammoth/Yosemite) know that our guests have many choices for where to travel. Thanks for including us this year. Snowed a bunch last night and more headed in. Hope we can tempt you to return this spring. Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing