We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican and great bar”

Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #27 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Now located in the Village, Gomez continues to produce great Mexican food in a more upscale setting. You can eat a huge meal or a light one. The albondigas soup is excellent--doesn't skimp on the meatballs.

1  Thank Tenighir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We really appreciate your being our guest and it sounds like more than once. Thanks so much. Hope we can encourage you to return to our little paradise up here in Mammoth/Yosemite again soon. We have a lot of summer left and word has it we might be in store for an epic winter! Safe travels. Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 250 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here because we've walked by it every night while staying in the Village and it's always got people eating so I figured it must be good. It's got a lovely outside area and even a sandbox with toys for kids to play with. The menu is decent and have ok prices. We were all pleased with our meals.

Thank amanda42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks so much. Glad we could finally tempt you to sneak in! Sure hope all of your Mammoth/Yosemite experience was enjoyable! Safe travels. Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I always lower my expectations when I get a place like this, thinking it will be a tourist trap with mediocre predictable food at inflated prices. But no, I was pleasantly surprised. The menu has a good bit of flair and my wife and I shared an excellent carnitas plate and green chile pork (tender and tasty) while the kids were very happy with nachos and tacos just the way they like them. We got the 5 of us out for $101 including tax, tip and a couple of grownup drinks, which considering the prime location seemed very reasonable. Recommended.

Thank Lost_4_8_15_16_23_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks so much for stopping by and giving us a chance. We work very hard to shake the stereotypes that many resort restaurants have. We actually are a small group of local family and friends that work hard and really want our guests visiting Mammoth/Yosemite to have a great experience. Thanks for including us in yours. Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The food amid service were both very good at Gomez'. Some of e best in the Village I'd say. Best part was the massive tequila menu and the Mammoth Margaritas. To die for!

Thank TheVegasTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Given it looks like you know Las Vegas and it's food and bar scene, we are thrilled to hear the word "powerful" used in describing our Mammoth Margarita! That is so fun! We work very hard to make that and our 500+ bottle selection of Tequila top shelf. Anyway, thanks so much for the shout out! Safe Travels. Hope we can tempt you to return again soon, especially when it gets way to hot in Vegas... just saying... Salud! P.S. Rumor has it flights might also be coming in from Vegas this winter... :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the food. The tamales were delicious. We actually returned a second time so I could have the tamales again.

If available, request a table on the outdoor patio.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hey thanks so much for visiting and your kind words on the Tamales. Rosa is a "specialist" in our kitchen who does nothing else for us but hand-prepare Masa and make our tamales. They run to the "authentic/traditional" side of our menu in terms of taste with many fine reviews. Should we ever get a chance to tempt you to return, consider one of our "Chimales" when your off your diet! We take our regular tamale and run it through our fryer and then add a couple of unique sauces. A special fusion spin on our traditional item. Super yummy if you've burnt a few calories on the mountain... Safe Travels! Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Gomez's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing