We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel in unique surroundings”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at The Village for 4 nights at the end of July. The facilities were very good, staff very helpful and friendly. We loved it here and made this part of our US road trip very memorable, loved it! Would really like to see Mammoth in the winter. The room for a family of 4 was on the small side and a little cramped, but then we didn't spend too much time indoors, the outside is too beautiful to miss! The only downside was leaving 2 drawers of my clothes behind, which cost me $138 to try and retrieve to no avail. My fault entirely, but the way it was dealt with wasn't impressive. However, the General Manager resolved the issue to a satisfactory level and would still love to return. I just love the US of A and would love to move there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at the Village. It is always a pleasure to hear that we could be a part of such fond memories. I would like to apologize again about the items lost in your travels, but so happy that I could resolve things. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at The Village Lodge in September 2013 for 1 night.
We had a great stay, although we were next to the lift we never heard it once. The rooms were huge with sitting area and kitchen area.
The views were beautiful from our balcony with a outdoor hot tub next to our balcony, unfortunately we didnt have time to use it.
I would definately recommend staying here, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Restaurants and Bars are just around the corner in walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Fabulous looking hotel in great location with great facilities. Check in easy but somewhat alarming threats of fines for smoking, jumping in an elevator, or having security called to your room. They like it quiet the receptionist said. Room large spacious in fact stunning. We unpacked and settled in. Called maintenance to turn on pilot light. Soon noticed that anyone using main path outside room could see through closed venetian wooden blinds into room as two blinds per window. Mentioned to reception who sent maintenance around again. He admitted a person could see in but receptionist assured me people don't look in. Rather than change room managed to prop blinds to restrict view into room. One light switch did not work but by now fed up with maintenance dropping by so did not comment. Kitchen excellent with dishwasher and powder provided. An amazing room . outside jacuzzi was great . Apparently five on site. Lovely restaurants on site and underground secure parking. Although warnings everywhere that you could be booted. Female receptionist in charge had excellent manner. Unfortunately her junior colleague adopted an inflammatory manner. Very noisy at ten o clock at night with what sounded like a steam roller going past our window several times! This was a small vehicle towing a trolley .As an aside the chambermaid forgot to make our bed ! All these items were probably an unfortunate coincidence for our visit and the hotel could and probably would be fabulous for you

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falcon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for your review of the Village at Mammoth. We appreciate the feedback in regards to what we are doing well and where we can improve. We hope you chose to come back and see how your comments have helped us make the experience at our hotel that much better. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in the White Mountain lodge for three nights and had a fabulous time. The one bed suite was great with a roomy living area, massive TV on the wall and even a keyboard! Bathroom was fine, perhaps a little tired although after hiking the trails, the hot shower was much awaited. My only concerns were the heat in the room..... the portable air con unit was not very effective, and the horrendous hairdryer, which clearly needs defluffing of filters and may even need to be condemned! We used the pool and gym and enjoyed mooching around the little shops without the need of the car. The lake trails were excellent and the walk to TJ lake which had been recommended, was well worth it, as well as a host of wildlife viewing en route. We loved Mammoth and will return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for your review of the Village at Mammoth. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experience and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

we stayed in a one bedroom suite which has a completely furnished kitchen, a seperate sitting and dining area and bedroom,as well as a terrace with view.Nice location in the village,free wifi and parking

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay at the Village Lodge. We hope you join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

As soon as we turned up we were made to feel very welcome by the reception staff. It was a superb venue and would certainly love to go back for a skiing holiday. The accomodation was very roomy if a little tired in the decoration department but everything was in good working order.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We always hope to hear from our guests on what we are doing right and what we can improve to make for the best experience in Mammoth. We hope you come again soon! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We made an advance reservation for an condo in february 2013 for our 4 night stay this september. As we checked in we were upgraded to a suite because no condo was available. We had a room on the 4th floor. It has a seperate bedroom with a king bed. A dinnertable with four chairs, fireplace and a complete kitchen. It made our stay great.
Downside was the trafficnoise in the early hours. We would recommend a room at the poolside of the Village Lodges.

Room Tip: Rooms at the outside seem to be a lot noisier by trafficnoise, so take a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankHoefnagels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thanky ou for your detailed review of your stay with us at the Village at Mammoth. We make every effort to create an atmosphere that would feel like home. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,186 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £154 - £559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing