We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel in a great location”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
378 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was my first 3 AAA hotel to stay in and it was really lovely. The location is perfect because there is almost everything near or around the vicinity. There are numerous places to eat and drink and yes that does cause a noise problem. Our two bedroom suite was on the 4th floor facing the Gondola so basically facing the openness of the village area and it was pretty loud till about midnight and then very early in the morning. That's really my only negative along with the lack of air conditioning. They have a portable a/c which doesn't do much to cool a two bedroom condo. They REALLY need to invest in a/c for the price they charge to stay. The customer service is fantastic and I'd like to personally thank Michelle from the front desk who worked effortlessly to help accommodate my family. The maid service even washed our dishes which i was really surprised about. I wasn't expecting that! The rooms were comfortable and spacious and everything is there for you including dishes, pans, ect. The pool area is nice and there are two spas. I really liked the activities around the grounds like bean bag toss, horsehoes, sandbox for kids, ect. It was an upscale hotel that I would usually NEVER spend the kind of money is costs to stay at but it was very nice and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your kind and thorough review of The Village Lodge! I am thrilled to hear that you had such a great experience for your first time at The Village Lodge. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our many amenities and surrounding location – there truly are a countless amount of perks that go hand in hand with staying in the heart of Mammoth. I apologize for any inconveniences you ran into in terms of noise and heat. I have forwarded your message along to our property manager so we can properly assess our options when it comes to air conditioning. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    264
    70
    37
    20
See reviews for
378
227
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo for a friends wedding. On arrival, we found the living area to be very spacious with a well stocked kitchen, fire place, and great overlook of the pool. The rooms were good sized and the beds were comfortable. The most noteworthy part of the quarters was that everything felt very homey. I could easily see staying here on vacation for a week or more.

The staff was very helpful, and had no problem helping us arrange additional accommodations. The pool was also very well maintained, however the hours made our hot-tub time VERY limited. In fact, if there was one recommendation I would make, it would be this: Don't close all your hot tubs at 10:00, especially since its a ski resort. Hot tubs and skiing go hand-in-hand.

Other than that, great! Would highly recommend, and plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: Very sunny in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jworsnop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your kind and thorough review of The Village Lodge! I am so glad to hear that you found your condo extremely comfortable and accommodating. Our staff work very hard to provide the most efficient and accommodating service as possible, and they will be thrilled to hear your comment as I pass it along to them. Thank you for your suggestion about the hot tub hours – I will pass this along to Property Management. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Beautiful condo style hotel accommodations in Mammoth Village were the perfect digs for our first time at Mammoth Lakes. The staff were very nice and super accommodating, and the Village Lodge has plenty of things to do. The room was clean, well attended and they really took great care of us.

The Village is a great location, with games, a pool, and fire pit for s'mores. All of Mammoth's fun was very close by.

I highly recommend this hotel for your next stay at Mammoth!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVegasTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review of The Village Lodge! I am thrilled to hear that you had such a great vacation with us, especially on your first trip to Mammoth! Thank you for your compliments on our property – our staff strives to ensure that every guest receives an inviting and accommodating experience. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is well located in the centre of town. As previous reviews show the good location can lead to noise as cafes and restaurants in The Village are well frequented. The hotel rooms appear small and dark (not as large and bright as on the hotel's website). Room appeared dark even though we were on the fourth floor (got an upgrade) and weather was sunny. When I inquired at reception about a brighter room, the lady showed us a room on the first floor which was even darker - not really helpful. Also, the room furniture, especially the living area, appears very worn and could benefit from a renewal. And it was the only hotel in the US so far, where the bath amenities weren't renewed even though we stayed two nights. On the second day our room key didn't work anymore. As the hotel is very large it took us about three minutes to take the lift back down, walk over to the reception building and up the reception stairway. And then you have to get all back again. Would have been nice to get a room key that works for the whole stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your thorough review of The Village Lodge! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, and hope that you were able to take advantage of all the amenities that come with it! Thank you for your constructive feedback. I have passed your comments along to housekeeping and maintenance. Your suggestions will be addressed immediately. I apologize for your inconvenience with the key card, as sometimes they do get demagnetized. I trust that the Front Desk was able to help you out in the most efficient way possible. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed here one night as part of a larger trip & was blown away by what you got for the money. We had a one bed apartment with kitchen, balcony etc. wished we had booked for longer as didn't get a chance to fully appreciate it. Only minor gripe was at check in we emptied our car only to find out we were in a different building... Could have had a wee note next to valet parking to forewarn you of this as we had a LOT of luggage.... Defo be back though

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DDmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review of The Village Lodge! I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your condo. Thank you for your suggestion about the valet parking. We will definitely take your comment into consideration. Please come back soon so we can show you all of the different amenities that The Village Lodge has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous hotel-resort we had an open fire in our suite and a bed to die for. The pools were lovely as were all the little shops and restaurants on site. Loved it here. Could've stayed longer

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thatgirlh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review of The Village Lodge! I am so happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon – this time for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I only stayed here two nights and they double billed my checking account. They did take care of it and fixed it but was a hassle. Thank goodness I checked my account before I left!!
I highly recommend staying at Tamarack lodge instead!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiZBarcenas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing