We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real surprise. ”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A real surprise. ”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This complex looks like it small from the road but it's massive with three of four restaurants and bars.
A big pool area with two hot pools.
Access to the main ski tow is at the door.
Huge rooms with their own cooking dishwasher and full size fridges.
Try the Mexican restaurant On site it has some great dishes.
Not as expensive as it looks and good value accommodation.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fishinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Village Lodge! I am thrilled to hear about your great experience with us. The prime location of The Village Lodge does provide many amenities and perks to staying with us – the bars and restaurants are just the beginning! We would absolutely love to welcome you and your family back during the winter so you can take advantage of the gondola just steps away from any of our condos. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    265
    70
    37
    20
See reviews for
378
229
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed two nights at the lodge, rooms were great and spacious shame no breakfast, but good for accessing the sights.
Parking was free under the lodge, place was immaculate loved it.
At night in the square it was full of children a bit too noisy but couldn't hear from our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 558PaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Village Lodge! I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your room and our property. We do hope we can welcome you back someday soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Its a really beautiful place to stay but our room was directly above a bar that closed at 2 am and people were fighting and threatening to stab each other til 3 am. The AC was the loudest thing I've ever heard in a hotel room. It desperately needs a service or a replacement. I think if we had have stayed in another room it would have been better as the hotel and its surroundings are beautiful. We were there in summer and hired mountain bikes and did the trails it was one of the most fun things I've done and an amazing way to see the mountain. So much fun. I would stay again but would ask for a room away from the bars.

Room Tip: Make sure your not near the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your thorough review of The Village Lodge! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and prime location. Due to the Village being the heart of Mammoth, we do attract crowds to our fabulous restaurants, bars, and shops, and sometimes that does bring along some noise. I apologize for any noise disturbances that you experienced, but during your next stay, please request a room overlooking the pool or the forest and our front desk staff will accommodate you as best they can. We are confident this will eliminate any problems with noise that you would encounter. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Village Lodge soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Although the rooms are a bit old they had kitchen, living room and king size bed. We stayed there on summer so there wasn't many ambience but in winter when the ski resort is full of people it must be amusing. It has an outdoor pool and jacuzzi which are very relaxing. I recommend to everyone travelling from Vegas to Yosemite to stay one night here instead of doing the whole run in a row.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wintsnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review of The Village Lodge! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and our property! Mammoth Lakes is definitely a great stop-over location from Yosemite to the south, and we are very thankful that you chose to stay with us. We would absolutely love to welcome you again soon – maybe next time in the winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This place is beautiful, the whole setting is stunning. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were spacious and well furnished.
We had a 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom condo, which a full kitchen, dining area, living area and balcony over looking the pool.
We really were impressed with the whole package, it was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dringster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Village Lodge! I am happy to hear how pleased you were with your condo and our property. Thank you for mentioning our staff – I will be sure to pass along your kind words! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The room was great! We had a view of the village shopping area below and enjoyed setting out on the balcony. Mammoth is a beautiful place to visit and we are planning on returning to the Village Lodge in the Spring.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review of The Village Lodge! Mammoth Lakes is the perfect vacation destination, and we are so glad that you decided to stay with us. Our prime location and luxury condos offer the perfect setting for any stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I can tell you that the staff at The Village at Mammoth Lodge, from the management team to the housekeepers and front desk staff and bellmen are first rate and terrific! They were easy to work with and made dinner reservations for us as well as copies of items we needed for work! The location can not be beat, but indeed, the hotel needs new carpets throughout, hallways and rooms, and DIRECT TV with the NFL and Sunday ticket would make this place perfect (current tv not very good for their cable).
Kudos to the staff and we will always stay with The Village at Mammoth!

Room Tip: Our room faced the forest and was quiet and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lundahls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Village Lodge! I am thrilled to hear about your superb experience with us. Thank you for letting us know how helpful and accommodating our staff was – they work very hard to ensure top service and I will definitely pass your comment along. We hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing