We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for mountain biking at the Mammoth Mtn Bike Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Yosemite National Park
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for mountain biking at the Mammoth Mtn Bike Park”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have been staying at the Mammoth Mtn Inn for years as they have a great package for mountain bike tickets when you stay 2 nights. The bike park is right across the street so all you have to do is get up, eat and then ride to lift, 2 minutes away. The room was clean and nice with a great view of the mountain. We would also take a break in the spa and pool mid-day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yosemiteClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    400
    237
    136
    67
See reviews for
418
500
61
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here on route from Yosemite to Death Valley and glad we did. The staff at the front desk were cheerful and gave us a great dinner recommendation. The room was clean and comfortable. The building looked very modern. We had a ground floor room with a patio door. We would like to come back here to ski one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excitedexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Did not provide advertised rate. Charged me a much higher rate. Management unwilling to address this with me. Facility worn and aged. Hotel not fully operational at time of stay though all amenities still advertised. The old "bait and switch" is alive and well. Not a true ski in/out location. Much nicer hotels in area for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If convenience to the slopes is your priority, then this location really can't be beat. It is a little drive into the village, but I preferred to drive into the village when needed (which wasn't often) rather than stay in the village and take the gondola to the slopes. Had a great view of the slopes (stayed in a deluxe room). Room was cute. Bathroom and sink were TINY though. Ate breakfast at their restaurant. Just walked over to the slopes when ready to ski. At night, watched a few movies from their DVD collection. Had a problem at night with a very loud talker on his cell phone. But that's not really the hotel's fault. Bottom line: if you want to be close to the slopes, then this is a good choice. If you want to be close to nightlife, then stay closer to the village.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trojankelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed two nights over the 4th of July Holiday, and we joked about taking a trip back in time to a ski resort from the 1970s. The location is great...you are right at the bottom of the mountain, and I highly recommend taking a gondola ride to the top for a bit of exploration. The view is spectacular...like you're on top of the world. But the resort...this needs some work. Our room was on the main floor and we had a nice view of the mountain, but when you sat out on the deck, you could really see how old this place was. Paint was peeling everywhere and you could really see the wear and tear through the years. The room was clean, but clearly needs to be renovated. And the pool...well that was a disappointment too. We didn't pay a lot of money for our two nights stay, so we had no regrets. But the current owners should really consider a make-over. A little could go a long way. It's a shame to have such a shabby resort in such a beautiful location

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leannekmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We didn't know Mammoth at all, and we booked this hotel to stay in once we were done with a backpacking trip at Mammoth Lakes. If you're a skier, it's right at the base of the main lifts. If you're a mountain biker, it's at the base of the gondola that takes you to the top of the mountain. And if you backpack/hike, it's convenient for taking the shuttle into the park to get to your trailhead or visit Devil's Postpile. But I recommend staying in the Village at Mammoth, not here, for several reasons: 1) More options for dining and evening entertainment; and 2) Better facilities.

The staff was first-rate, very friendly and accommodating. The hotel clerk worked hard to check us in a day early when we showed up ahead of time. The bartenders and wait staff were awesome. But the food in the main dining room, for the quality, was overpriced, and they can get away with that because they're the only hotel with this location. For breakfast, I suggest ordering the breakfast burrito. It was tasty and inexpensive. Avoid the overpriced buffet. The dinner menu was limited, both at the Inn and the pub (The Yoddler). The German theme at The Yoddler was overly kitschy. Forget the kitsch and provide more options.

In town, you have many restaurants to choose from, and they're only 10 minutes away. Plus, you've got the vibe on the street that's got more energy than the Mammoth Mountain Inn.

Our room was clean, but the air conditioner didn't work. The tiles in the bathroom were cracked, and the tub floor was squishy (plumbing issues). That's really unacceptable for the price of the hotel room. The inn should really upgrade the cooling and heating system so it's energy efficient. Our room was also located near some loud machinery, most likely the laundry. I needed earplugs to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main inn, not the Yodel Haus, and looking toward the gondola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveDivaSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for the Mammoth 1/2 Marathon. It was priced right. It was perfect for two friends. The rooms are comfortable, though not posh, but we didn't pay for posh. There is a beautiful hiking trail just behind the property. If you are coming to ski, or mountain bike, this is super convenient. It does require driving to any of Mammoths excellent eateries, or shopping. Literally adjacent to the ski lifts and the gondola to the top. Lots of fun family activities available on site. The staff was wonderful. Many European / foreign tour companies use this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BnRLovetosail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
796 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
819 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
3.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
424 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain Inn

Property: Mammoth Mountain Inn
Address: 10400 Minaret Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mammoth Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the gondola. The Mammoth Mountain Inn is a great place to base your vacation if you want to wake up on the mountain itself. Stay in a recently remodeled craftsman style condo or suite. All rooms have slopeside access in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mammoth Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Mountain Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Mammoth Mountain
Inn Mammoth Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing