We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Carmel, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After my stay at the Westin on 8/10, it really isn't fair to compare most hotels in Mammoth to it.
The Westin was over $300 a night, but the only available hotel (aside from the Comfort Inn), however a room opened up on 8/11 at the Mammoth Mountain Inn, so I moved over there. I got to stay in one of their loft rooms and it was great. Be aware they don't have AC, however it was a cooler day/night, so no issues keeping cool. The room was huge, with a king bed downstairs and a queen (or maybe full) upstairs. The only bathroom is upstairs, however there was a sink a mini fridge on the main level along with a TV. Plenty of closet space and a nice sized deck as well. You do share the deck with the room next door and there is no divider as an FYI. They do have a small laundry facility (go into the parking garage) and they have 3 washers and 2 dryers. Nice to use in a pinch, but get there as soon as it opens, or you might not get a machine.
Staff was very friendly, both at the hotel and restaurant. They even accommodated a late check out. They do have a shuttle that runs to the airport (free) so we took advantage of that.
This is a further hike from the main town, but is great for the winter months since you're virtually at the base of the mountain!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    409
    245
    144
    72
See reviews for
442
518
61
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This place is a drive out of out Mountain Village but has lots going on even in summer, has a lot of day trippers for the mountain biking and hiking, the hotel itself was fairly quiet with guests. The mountain biking and hiking trails are fantastic and available from the top of Mammoth Mountain via a Gondola ride. There was climbing and zip wire available too so great place for active children. Rooms were clean, a decent enough size with separate toilet and shower areas. The service was excellent throughout, polite, friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby has a great supply of DVDs that can be borrowed and usually games for Xbox etc but these had been stolen when we were there! The pool and jacuzzis are great, a touch of warmth in the cold wind that can blow off the mountain. The dining options are fairly limited on site in summer (we stayed mid week so not sure if this made a difference) to the Hotel's Mountain grille restaurant and Dry Creek Bar and Grille. we ate in the bar on our first night as our first choice - the Yodler (a great looking, on site but separate to hotel restaurant) is only open for lunch. The food was okay (desserts good) but expensive for what it was and a service charge is automatically added which boosts up the price. There's a grocery store on site that sells fresh pastries, burritos, cereal etc but again expensive compared to village prices. We ate in the village on our 2nd night and had loads more choice and better value for money. The resort fee for the Inn is the same whether summer or winter so seems pricey for summer when you take off the ski valet etc.

Room Tip: Even basic rooms out of main hotel good and quiet in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Our trip was booking through a company so we didn't know much about Mammoth Lakes until we got there!

Room was pleasant, clean and tidy, not massive but perfect nice. No air con so pretty hot in the summer but at least you could open the window and it had a big grill on in.

A stunning location right on the slopes with a gondola etc, looked great for kids activities. The downside for us is that it is pretty far away from Mammoth Lakes and The Village. We'd read on here that the food at the inn was pretty roped so wanted to go into town.

The hotel runs a free shuttle in the summer that just goes when you want it which was great so we hoped on and went down to Slocums Bar and Grill (defo recommend that - not cheap bit really great food and a good happy hour till 6). When we wanted to come back up we just rang the main desk at the inn and they sent a guy out in the shuttle bus for us! Can't ask for much better service than that!!

Overall, it's a lovely location and a stunning part of the world, the inn is quite cut off from the town which without the shuttle would have been a pain. Can't comment on the food as didn't chance it after reading bad reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EEEEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here only one night during a recent trip to the Sierra Nevada where we were mostly hiking and camping. After several nights backpacking in the mountains and sleeping on the ground, we were probably not going to be too hard to impress, and we were pretty happy with the Mammoth Mountain Inn. This was our second stay. At $168 it was second only to our hotel in Santa Monica for price, and really I guess it's the location on the mountain that you are paying for. But it's a huge place with all the facilities, clean, great staff, and the YARTS bus to Yosemite starts its trip in the hotel foyer three times per morning, which was a huge selling point for us! None of the hotels we have stayed at in Mammoth Lakes are airconditioned, and this one was the same, which makes them a bit too hot for comfort as they are generally closed up and boiling when you first arrive. But it does cool down at night eventually, and there was a fan which helped. Breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed 3 nights in June. Staff were friendly, and the room was clean, but we stayed in an older annex. The rooms are designed to stay warm, and we couldn't get the room cool at night, even with the window open. Staff gave us a window fan, but it didn't seem to make much difference. The hotel is in a perfect spot for winter sports, but in the summer, there are better and less expensive options elsewhere. They also charge a $20 per night resort fee, which covers ski storage in winter, but to add it on to the bill in summer is a bit of a stretch. It should be included in the room rate, as it's not negotiable.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailrunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yosemite National Park
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have been staying at the Mammoth Mtn Inn for years as they have a great package for mountain bike tickets when you stay 2 nights. The bike park is right across the street so all you have to do is get up, eat and then ride to lift, 2 minutes away. The room was clean and nice with a great view of the mountain. We would also take a break in the spa and pool mid-day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yosemiteClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here on route from Yosemite to Death Valley and glad we did. The staff at the front desk were cheerful and gave us a great dinner recommendation. The room was clean and comfortable. The building looked very modern. We had a ground floor room with a patio door. We would like to come back here to ski one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excitedexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
821 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,137 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
3.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
430 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain Inn

Property: Mammoth Mountain Inn
Address: 10400 Minaret Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mammoth Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the gondola. The Mammoth Mountain Inn is a great place to base your vacation if you want to wake up on the mountain itself. Stay in a recently remodeled craftsman style condo or suite. All rooms have slopeside access in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mammoth Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Mountain Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Mammoth Mountain
Inn Mammoth Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing