We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel *IF* you stay in the main building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is really two hotels. A really nice hotel if you stay in the main building. Or a budget, low quality hotel if you stay in one of the other buildings. They've renovated the main building only. There are no queen beds in the main building, just the other buildings. So don't reserve a queen bed.... reserve a king bed if you want the main building. Also, you probably won't find any 'deals' on hotel.com or expedia for the king beds. Those deals are for the extension buildings.... be careful. We reserved the queen bed room on Hotels.com, but had to pay an extra $35 when we checked in since we wanted the main building.

The restaurant is excellent! Don't feel like you have to go into town for a nice, romantic dinner. The service is great too. Very friendly staff in the restaurant and the front desk. And the view of the slopes from the bar/dining room is spectacular. We visited in Sept., and it snowed overnight. So check the forecast before you head out. Icy roads might prevent you from getting from the downtown area up to the slopes on the mountain where this hotel is. And they might prevent you from leaving early.

The bed was really comfortable. Lots of pillows, and heavy blankets and comforter. Not those plastic blankets you get at hotels sometimes. Nice big LCD TV too. And a really big, deep bathtub. If you're a skier you'll be thankful the major gondola ski lift is right in front of the building. And in the summer it's a fun ride up the mountain and back. You can also get a shuttle ride into town whenever you want, if you don't want to drive in the ice and snow.

They have an outdoor hot tub, but we didn't get a chance to try it.

Room Tip: Insist on staying in the main building. Reserve a king room, since there are no queen rooms in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiebarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Rooms Division Manager at Mammoth Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear maggiebarr,

I am very glad to hear your enjoyed your most recent visit with us. It is always nice to receive such positive reviews of our staff, I will certainly pass on the comments to our team.

As you stated and experienced, we did recently upgrade the TV's and Beds/Bedding in all of our guest rooms and are currently working on further improvments to our property that will take place over the next couple of months. We look forward to you welcoming you back during next visit to the Mammoth Mountain Inn

Kind Regards,

Michael Peckenpaugh
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here once before in the Winter, it was amazing. Came back for the summer, the place does not look the same. It looks prettier in the Winter. It is wonderful if you stay in the main building, has a nice fireplace, restaurant, good ambiance. However, do not let them put you in a room outside of the main building, these things looked like old apartments/dorms. Run down, mildew smell. Not worth it. Pay extra for the main building...please....don't ruin your mammoth trip.

Otherwise, great location. Can see the top of mammoth from there.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After my stay at the Westin on 8/10, it really isn't fair to compare most hotels in Mammoth to it.
The Westin was over $300 a night, but the only available hotel (aside from the Comfort Inn), however a room opened up on 8/11 at the Mammoth Mountain Inn, so I moved over there. I got to stay in one of their loft rooms and it was great. Be aware they don't have AC, however it was a cooler day/night, so no issues keeping cool. The room was huge, with a king bed downstairs and a queen (or maybe full) upstairs. The only bathroom is upstairs, however there was a sink a mini fridge on the main level along with a TV. Plenty of closet space and a nice sized deck as well. You do share the deck with the room next door and there is no divider as an FYI. They do have a small laundry facility (go into the parking garage) and they have 3 washers and 2 dryers. Nice to use in a pinch, but get there as soon as it opens, or you might not get a machine.
Staff was very friendly, both at the hotel and restaurant. They even accommodated a late check out. They do have a shuttle that runs to the airport (free) so we took advantage of that.
This is a further hike from the main town, but is great for the winter months since you're virtually at the base of the mountain!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This place is a drive out of out Mountain Village but has lots going on even in summer, has a lot of day trippers for the mountain biking and hiking, the hotel itself was fairly quiet with guests. The mountain biking and hiking trails are fantastic and available from the top of Mammoth Mountain via a Gondola ride. There was climbing and zip wire available too so great place for active children. Rooms were clean, a decent enough size with separate toilet and shower areas. The service was excellent throughout, polite, friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby has a great supply of DVDs that can be borrowed and usually games for Xbox etc but these had been stolen when we were there! The pool and jacuzzis are great, a touch of warmth in the cold wind that can blow off the mountain. The dining options are fairly limited on site in summer (we stayed mid week so not sure if this made a difference) to the Hotel's Mountain grille restaurant and Dry Creek Bar and Grille. we ate in the bar on our first night as our first choice - the Yodler (a great looking, on site but separate to hotel restaurant) is only open for lunch. The food was okay (desserts good) but expensive for what it was and a service charge is automatically added which boosts up the price. There's a grocery store on site that sells fresh pastries, burritos, cereal etc but again expensive compared to village prices. We ate in the village on our 2nd night and had loads more choice and better value for money. The resort fee for the Inn is the same whether summer or winter so seems pricey for summer when you take off the ski valet etc.

Room Tip: Even basic rooms out of main hotel good and quiet in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Our trip was booking through a company so we didn't know much about Mammoth Lakes until we got there!

Room was pleasant, clean and tidy, not massive but perfect nice. No air con so pretty hot in the summer but at least you could open the window and it had a big grill on in.

A stunning location right on the slopes with a gondola etc, looked great for kids activities. The downside for us is that it is pretty far away from Mammoth Lakes and The Village. We'd read on here that the food at the inn was pretty roped so wanted to go into town.

The hotel runs a free shuttle in the summer that just goes when you want it which was great so we hoped on and went down to Slocums Bar and Grill (defo recommend that - not cheap bit really great food and a good happy hour till 6). When we wanted to come back up we just rang the main desk at the inn and they sent a guy out in the shuttle bus for us! Can't ask for much better service than that!!

Overall, it's a lovely location and a stunning part of the world, the inn is quite cut off from the town which without the shuttle would have been a pain. Can't comment on the food as didn't chance it after reading bad reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EEEEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here only one night during a recent trip to the Sierra Nevada where we were mostly hiking and camping. After several nights backpacking in the mountains and sleeping on the ground, we were probably not going to be too hard to impress, and we were pretty happy with the Mammoth Mountain Inn. This was our second stay. At $168 it was second only to our hotel in Santa Monica for price, and really I guess it's the location on the mountain that you are paying for. But it's a huge place with all the facilities, clean, great staff, and the YARTS bus to Yosemite starts its trip in the hotel foyer three times per morning, which was a huge selling point for us! None of the hotels we have stayed at in Mammoth Lakes are airconditioned, and this one was the same, which makes them a bit too hot for comfort as they are generally closed up and boiling when you first arrive. But it does cool down at night eventually, and there was a fan which helped. Breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed 3 nights in June. Staff were friendly, and the room was clean, but we stayed in an older annex. The rooms are designed to stay warm, and we couldn't get the room cool at night, even with the window open. Staff gave us a window fan, but it didn't seem to make much difference. The hotel is in a perfect spot for winter sports, but in the summer, there are better and less expensive options elsewhere. They also charge a $20 per night resort fee, which covers ski storage in winter, but to add it on to the bill in summer is a bit of a stretch. It should be included in the room rate, as it's not negotiable.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trailrunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,186 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain Inn

Address: 10400 Minaret Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £108 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mammoth Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the gondola. The Mammoth Mountain Inn is a great place to base your vacation if you want to wake up on the mountain itself. Stay in a recently remodeled craftsman style condo or suite. All rooms have slopeside access in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mammoth Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Mountain Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Mammoth Mountain
Inn Mammoth Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing