We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experiance”

Mammoth Ski and Racquet Club
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mammoth Ski and Racquet Club
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I go up to Mammoth every year for my birthday and stay here. And every time I'm there it's been great! Clean rooms, tons of space, good parking, spa is indoors and I can snowboard all the way back. Its always walking distance from the lift so I can always go back to the room to have lunch and not worry about parking. And since the lodge has a gonadal that take you to the shops, that walking distance too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SRDinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I decided to rent a condo unit for a 1 week stay because we are considering buying a condo in Mammoth Lakes. This was an unpleasant experience, but we have certainly learned a lot! This 1 bdrm + loft unit was advertised and priced as a deluxe unit, but has not been updated for a very long time. The carpeting was very old and the downstairs carpeting stained and filthy. The kitchen and bathrooms have all original fixtures that don't work well. I can understand having bathroom heat lamps on timers, but the lights? Both my husband and I had the room go pitch black while in the shower! How much does it cost to light a very tiny bathroom? The first day we reported that the master bath toilet did not flush completely. Someone came that day, but said they didn't have the right part. Unfortunately, they left the water turned off when they left which we turned back on. The toilet problem persisted throughout our stay. Another lesson learned: always ask how many sets of stairs to your unit and whether there is a bedroom on the main floor of the unit. We had to carry our luggage up two long stairways and then up another very narrow, steep stairway to reach our bedroom within the unit. The stairways and halls were dark, dank and depressing. The master bedroom and loft (set up to sleep 4) shared the same bathroom, while the full bath downstairs would only be fully used by someone sleeping on the very uncomfortable wood and vinyl sofa. BTW, this place is perfect for the lover of cowboy/horse kitsch. Pictures, lamps, statues, towel racks, shower curtains -- a very extensive collection.

This place would work for 6 or 8 college boys on a ski break, but I don't think a family would enjoy staying here. We certainly did not!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank HarkinsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed in 133, 3 bedroom w/ pet. Dark, depressing and dirty. Furniture, decor circa 1970. Newest appliance was the toaster. Disgusting filthy carpet full of dust which exacerbated allergies and asthma of both the kids and adults. Do NOT stay in this unit. It will ruin your vacation. Luckily the management was very nice and helpful, and switched us to a 2 bR w pet that was clean, updated, and in good condition. Call first to ascertain condition!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newvacation123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

It is old property but each one is different so it is a hit or mis. Chat with the office and ask for reccommendation. Good points: close enough to Canyon Lodge, just in case you have to walk to the lift and back. Remember, there is some snow days you do not want to mess with the car. One space in the garage so you don't have to shovel the snow. Park the car and walk up to the apartment. Year round indoor hot tub and dry sauna. Relax after a ski day. Bed rooms are big so give you some options for big crowd. Towels changes every other day if booked through office.
Not so good points: heaters are convection (fan) noisy and kick on and off during the night. Disturbing. We have to over heat up the house in the evening and then lower the thermostat down to 60F to prevent it from kicking the heater on during the night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TirelessDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We didn't book through the Hotel, so I don't know what the quality of the upkeep of the other apartments. We rented unit M113 through Mammoth Rent By Owner and the apartment is everything you would want for a weeks skiing with plenty of room and cosy. Hotel facilities seem fine and I have found the staff at the main office very polite and helpful. The hotel has a very steep entrance which gets very icy, recommend snow chains especially if you only have a 2WD (like me).

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Bonza U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Trust me, you dont want to spend your vocation in such poor condition rooms! If you want to get some help from the office/onsite manager, you must be day dreaming! A few things I really hate:
1. Ugly and super old furniture
2. Thousand year old TV (If you can still call that TV)
3. Unconformable bedding
4. Tiny swimming pool and hot tub.
5. Long stairs to climb on
6. Manually operated garage door
7. Bad/unfriendly customer service ( properties are individually owned. So the onsite management only has no responsibilities but handing out keys)

Room Tip: check the reviews, especially those regarding the customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Yes, each unit is individually owned and it certainly helps to review the website and pictures, as well as description of the unit. Close to Canyon Lodge, easy walking distance. Yes it is a walk uphill, however, much easier than hassling with parking etc....and one can stop in at the Austria Hof for Happy Hour on the way home. Just walk slow up hill. Unit well maintained, wine cooler w/wine provided by the owner! Comfy bed. Clean. Nice view. Warm and cozy.

Room Tip: Ski back trail comes right back to unit. Review website and pictures, unit description. Lots of up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,525 reviews
2 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Ski and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Ski and Racquet Club

Address: 248 Mammoth Slopes Drive, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £132 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mammoth Ski and Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mammoth Ski and Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Ski And Racquet Club Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing