We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mammoth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel was nice. The breakfast is good and convenient. They should open it a little earlier, so that we can get to the lifts early. Best Western Sierra Plus should offer more discounts for people that stay there often.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello Jose,
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us over the Thanksgiving holiday. As you stayed with us for 5 days, you qualified for and received a special 15% discount. For those guests who stay with us for at least 15 nights annually, we actually do have our own Loyalty Program which will give you additional discounts and benefits. If you are interested in this program, please inquire with a manager at the hotel. Hope to see your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Mammoth has very limited choice of mid-range motels/hotels. There are two really expensive places and several budget chains but the Best Western is the only middle range choice. It is clean, had a little fridge, and the complimentary breakfast was quite good and much better than the typical junk that is given away "free" with rooms. One of the front desk people was quite helpful. The hotel was a little tired looking but met our needs. Not cheap; our off-season rate was $135.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Kristin,
Thank you for your review. We are indeed in a very small class of mid-range hotels in Mammoth Lakes. I'm glad that you found us! We are also the only hotel in town to offer our complimentary Hot Buffet breakfast, most others only offer a cheap continental. Looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

great location and staff. always a delight to stay at this hotel. meet the same faces with a smile and great welcome. Awesome location. great comfortable rooms and beds. I would always stay at this hotel on my return visit in january 2014.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Chantel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Obviously, Its the skiing or the fishing that will most likely take you there (sadly, I was here for work) - but you won't ever feel bad that your fun is over when you get back to your hotel! What an amazing stay ...SO much more than I expected. Hope you have the same great time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Manolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello Manolo,
I don't think there is anything that I can say other than a great big THANK YOU for your incredible review! I am glad that you were pleased!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the High Sierra. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to our relatives and friends. The clerk was an outstanding employee and I can't tell how friendly the staff was and accommodating to my husband and myself. Very enjoyable stay. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was delicious and so many choices. It was at just the right spot, not too close and yet not that far from other facilities we were to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Donna,
Thank you for your wonderful review and for recommending us to your friends and family! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Thank you Vicky and Pamela for "going the extra mile" to make sure we would have nice accommodations over the Christmas holidays. Vicky even called Vons to see about their Christmas meal and whether we wanted an upstairs room. You gals are terrific! Happy Holidays to you both!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agoings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear agoings,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I will make sure to tell Pamela and Vicky that you appreciated how they took care of you. See you at Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

We were passing through the area on our way home from Death Valley. It was too late to go over Tioga Pass and we had never been to Mammoth Lakes before so we decided to look for a place to spend the night. We are not that fond of ski areas since they tend to be dead during the off season and many local businesses are closed down. We stopped at one motel to check their prices and were not very impressed. It had a run- down appearance and the price seemed very high for the quality offered. As we drove away, we spotted a Best Western Plus and stopped to check their price. Although it was a bit higher than most BW hotels where we have stayed, it at least looked presentable. We made a very good choice.
The reception area was clean, large and warm. The desk clerk was very helpful and efficient. Because my wife is a gold card holder with Best Western, we were upgraded to a top floor room with several amenities. The room was huge and very comfortable. It had a small kitchen which we did not use but may have if we had any food to be prepared. The bed was very comfortable. The heater worked well without the loud fan noise so common in other hotels. There was a couch and other comfortable furniture available. The bath had a large tub with jets and the sink was outside the toilet/bath area. My wife and I both like this latter feature very much.
They served a full breakfast of eggs, bacon, hot cakes and French toast in addition to a variety the fresh fruits, breads and juices not usually found in other hotels. It was well prepared and nicely presented. The workers were very friendly and helpful.
I doubt that we will ever find ourselves in this area again, but we would definitely stay here again if we did pass this way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TahoeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#24 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £137 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing