We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper than the Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheaper than the Rest”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Cheaper than the competitors but worth the savings, staff great at what they do, there was a problem with our room they helped to the best and than some. Breakfast was just the icy on the cake, and the best way the wake up for the moring.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JButlerTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear JButler TA

Thanks for your review and your compliments about the staff and breakfast. I'm glad that you were pleased with your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    331
    77
    30
    29
See reviews for
335
296
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Really good Hotel close to Mono Lake and Yosemite West entrance. Rooms are good and Breakfast was excellent. The Hotel is basically located in the center of Mammoth lakes and plenty of locations are within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel was great and the front desk staff (specifically Vicki and Laura) were super. They were friendly, helpful and professional. The gave good information and answered all my questions about the hotel and the Mammoth Lakes area. The hotel is well maintained, clean and very comfortable. The free breakfast is good and little things like real glass glasses in the room and thick towels are a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Stuart L
How nice to have received such a great review. Vicki and Laura are indeed super staff, we are happy to have them. I'm glad that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and some of the amenities that we offer. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were looking for a Best Western in the vicinity of Yosemite for latter May, and we stumbled upon Mammoth Lakes High Sierra. Before we made the reservation, it was stated that Tioga Pass was closed due to snow, but upon looking historically, the pass has always opened by the date we were coming, so we gambled we could get to Yosemite that way.
The sign for the hotel was a little hard to pick out since Mammoth Lakes seems to be a community that does not like brightly lit or tall signs, but that is not the hotel's fault. The interior was very nice, and we got the first floor room we had requested. The room was very spacious and first rate: this was the first place we experienced the key wave door openers. They worked on the laundry room and the pool as well as the room.
When we inquired about the Tioga Pass, the desk people said to call the desk in the morning; that the desk clerk would make inquiries for us. That evening we went swimming in the indoor pool. We did swim, but the temperature in the pool room was 73, and the pool water did not seem to be heated. It wasn't ice cold, but it took quite a while to get used to it.
The next day, the Tioga Pass was open, and we did our trek to and from Yosemite and spent another night at Mammoth Lakes, Very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I am undecided about whether Poor or Average is the best choice. The hotel itself seems average, but there are some condition issues that need to be addressed.

Here is my experience:
1) The room stank. Evidently, I accidentally reserved a pet friendly room, so maybe it's my fault. But I don't think the room should have smelled like a dog.

They did remove the doggie bed from the room, but it did not help the smell, which I assume is either in the rug or in the AC unit. They had no other rooms for my stay, so I ended up buying some Febreze to make the smell less noticeable.

2) I got up for breakfast one day, and when I got back to my room, I could not get in. Turns out the door lock was broken. The repair guy is here as I type this replacing parts in the door.

3) In order to latch my room door from the inside, I had to push firmly on the door -- as if the door was not hung properly, or the lock was bent.

4) The back door to the property hangs open all day long because the latch doesn't hold the door closed.

On the plus side, they have a nice breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB2013B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello SB2013B
I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. I'm surprised that you said that the room smelled as we do an extra clean on these rooms specifically because they are pet rooms. Perhaps you are more sensitive. Please make sure to read the full room descriptions so that you can avoid a pet room in the future. The locks have recently been upgraded to RFID and as problems occur with them, we are getting them repaired (including the back door). Unfortunately, these problems randomly occur which means that we must handle them as they occur. I'm glad that we were expedient at fixing this problem for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Room 330 has no screen in the window, a child could easily climb out and fall three stories!
There is no striker on the bathroom door.
When the drapes are closed they divert the air downward and prevent the A/C from properly cooling the rest of the room.
The pillows are too thick, they gave me a stiff neck. Need a choice of pillows!
The mattresses seemed OK, but they are not comfortable, gave me a backache.
The pool shower handle is incorrectly installed, and poses a scalding risk.
Pool was over-chlorinated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Bob M
Thank you for giving us a 5 even though you had some concerns. You are right that we don't have screens on our windows as the harsh winters that we have make it impractical. That is why we are one of only a few hotels in town with air conditioning so if that is a concern you can remain comfortable. I know that it may seem strange but as the bathroom doors open into the room, if there is a striker or door stop the two doors would collide causing damage. Thank you for letting me know about the shower handle and pool, we will get those corrected. Please however in the future, let us know as the situation occurs so that we can correct them immediately. We hope that you had a great trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

While the hotel has a very attractive outer appearance, the rooms are average at best, and the view we had was part of the hotel's other wing which was very bad and thus, our drapes were always drawn while in the room. This is not what we anticipated of a hotel room in the High Sierra's

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alfred O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Alfred O,
I'm sorry to hear that the lack of a view from your room made your stay just mediocre. I can understand your expectation that coming to such a picturesque location would provide you with beautiful vistas from every room and every angle. Unfortunately, while we are in a superb central location close to shops and restaurants, we only have a few rooms with views of the mountains. In the future, please add a comment that you would like a view and we will do our best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing