We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mammoth Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Rohnert Park, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mammoth Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Beautifull place to stay. My mother is in need of a wheel chair assistance; the area is very accomidating to her needs. The lakes are beautiful and easy to drive to. The food in the retraunts near by are outstanding. There is a place across the street from the hotel with over 200 beers to chose from; the local made beer is excelent as well. The hotel has a nice pool and hot tub. There is a wheel in shower near the pool with a full seat. I was heading to Yoesemite so I was a little conserned when I found out it would be 3 more hours to the valley but you are actually in Yoesemite the whole time, driving from above through beautiful high lakes and meadows.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Darlene H
I'm happy to hear that our hotel and the town were able to make your mothers stay enjoyable. We also have a handicapped lift that would have enabled her to take a swim in our indoor pool. I hope that your visit to Yosemite was spectacular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    319
    73
    28
    26
See reviews for
319
292
32
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is ideally located in Mammoth Lakes, but needs some work on ventilation issues. Inside halls were hot and stuffy (particularly around ice makers and drink machines). Room air conditioners were very noisy. No screens on windows. Outside daytime temp in upper 60's and 70's. Should not need air conditioning, but without it rooms became hot and stuffy. Breakfasts (free) of poor quality. Coffee not drinkable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear L W
Even though you didn't provide these complaints while you were here, we looked into your complaint of the halls and discovered that we needed to adjust the thermostat which has been done. They are now much more comfortable. Due to our harsh winter environment and low quantities of bugs, we have never had screens on our windows. I apologize that you were inconvenienced. For the breakfast, we receive many good reviews about the breakfast and are always looking for ways to improve it. I welcome more specific feedback on that. Our coffee is 100% Arabica coffee with a rich bold flavor. If that was too strong for you, the in room coffee is milder. I hope that answered your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thousand oaks, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our group stayed at best western hotels in Monterey(Victorian,)Pepper Tree in Lake Tahoe, and were very accommodating for our group.The Victorian is on the old side, but well kept, the pepper tree ha bad beds and small rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Cheaper than the competitors but worth the savings, staff great at what they do, there was a problem with our room they helped to the best and than some. Breakfast was just the icy on the cake, and the best way the wake up for the moring.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JButlerTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear JButler TA

Thanks for your review and your compliments about the staff and breakfast. I'm glad that you were pleased with your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Really good Hotel close to Mono Lake and Yosemite West entrance. Rooms are good and Breakfast was excellent. The Hotel is basically located in the center of Mammoth lakes and plenty of locations are within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel was great and the front desk staff (specifically Vicki and Laura) were super. They were friendly, helpful and professional. The gave good information and answered all my questions about the hotel and the Mammoth Lakes area. The hotel is well maintained, clean and very comfortable. The free breakfast is good and little things like real glass glasses in the room and thick towels are a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Stuart L
How nice to have received such a great review. Vicki and Laura are indeed super staff, we are happy to have them. I'm glad that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and some of the amenities that we offer. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were looking for a Best Western in the vicinity of Yosemite for latter May, and we stumbled upon Mammoth Lakes High Sierra. Before we made the reservation, it was stated that Tioga Pass was closed due to snow, but upon looking historically, the pass has always opened by the date we were coming, so we gambled we could get to Yosemite that way.
The sign for the hotel was a little hard to pick out since Mammoth Lakes seems to be a community that does not like brightly lit or tall signs, but that is not the hotel's fault. The interior was very nice, and we got the first floor room we had requested. The room was very spacious and first rate: this was the first place we experienced the key wave door openers. They worked on the laundry room and the pool as well as the room.
When we inquired about the Tioga Pass, the desk people said to call the desk in the morning; that the desk clerk would make inquiries for us. That evening we went swimming in the indoor pool. We did swim, but the temperature in the pool room was 73, and the pool water did not seem to be heated. It wasn't ice cold, but it took quite a while to get used to it.
The next day, the Tioga Pass was open, and we did our trek to and from Yosemite and spent another night at Mammoth Lakes, Very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing