We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a great place. We stayed in one of the local ski lodges 2 years ago. Never again. From now on we will only stay here at the Best Western Mammoth Lakes. And theres a great restaurant right across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a suite with two bedrooms and a kitchen/living room. The bedrooms were very good. The living rooms was excellent with a good kitchen. The bathroom was very small for four people. Overall a very good experience. The breakfast is the best included breakfast for BW in California. It is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank freja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Manager and all the front desk staff went out of their way to make sure my long and frequent stays were like home. They opened the kitchen when I was hungrey. They helped me fax and print all kinds of docments in their lobby business center. They tried to drop off Fed Ex packages for me. They made and changed reservations for me in a friendly manner frequently.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jonica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The King Suite was large and very well equipped, but it was basically just one large room containing bed, bathroom sink and a couch too far removed from the TV to be able to watch from there. The building is starting to show its age in a number of ways, but it was clean, the room furnishings new, and the bed comfortable. The room itself was quiet but noises from the hallway and parking lot could be clearly heard. Quality of the cooked items at breakfast was only fair, but the buffet was always well stocked and it was nice to be able to eat with non-disposable dishes, glasses and utensils. The staff was friendly and helpful. To sum it up, they got the important things right, but a lot of little things kept this from being up to my expectations for a BW with the Plus designation and the price that goes with it. Everything in Mammoth Lakes is expensive, however, so this is still a very good choice for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel was okay. The decor is very dated and there was a mildly unpleasant odor in the lobby. The room was clean and fairly comfy. The pool looked nice, although we did not swim. The breakfast was very nice.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank RusFam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear RusFam2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are constantly working on hotel upgrades. This year we re-carpeted the hallways and common areas which is probably what you smelled in the lobby, installed new hallway artwork, and re-tiled all the bathrooms. I hope that when you return to Mammoth Lakes, you see our continued improvements. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Clean rooms, Excellent breakfast. Real breakfast food. I saw them cooking the eggs and pancakes and bacon! Great coffee in the front lounge area in the morning. The kids loved the pool. Beds were too soft. You would sink into a canyon while you slept and it was hard to roll out of it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the overall value offered by the Best Western High Sierra. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The carpeting, wall decor and furniture appeared pretty new. The complimentary breakfast offered a selection that we enjoy at home. The rooms have air conditioning (this is not available at many "upscale" properties closer to the chair lifts). We will stay at this Best Western again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Wayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.9 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £111 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing