We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean place, great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
's-Gravenzande
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Clean place, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

On our way to Las Vegas we found this BW hotel and liked it a lot. Receptionist was more than friendly and so was the bartender. Both our rooms were clean and the beds were very good. We didn't use the swimming pool but it looked nice. There is a shop with postcards, drinks, newspapers and so on. Breakfast was wonderful with freshly baked pancakes and you could order what kind of eggs you wanted. We really have a good impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hetden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    316
    71
    28
    24
See reviews for
313
288
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, OH
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

This hotel wins because there are so many BAD choices (read the reviews) in Mammoth Lakes, a ski town filled with unfriendly people. Many of the hotels do not have air conditioning as they are primarily ski resorts. The price wasn't worth it for this room even with the significant discount I received, but my stay was comfortable.

We stayed in a queen double and the beds were comfortable. There was a desk & chair and one other small wood/upholstered chair as well as a microwave & refrigerator. It was nicely furnished but not commensurate with the price. The wall AC unit cooled the room down very quickly. Nice indor pool and jacuzzi. The property is well maintained and was formerly a Holiday Inn. It has covered parking which would be a big plus during the winter. A super deluxe hot breakfast is complimentary, served from the small restaurant located in the hotel and it was very good. We did not eat lunch or dinner there.

The front desk was professional but not friendly. Housekeepers do not speak English but the rooms are clean. Watch out when makiing local calls as anything outside the town is billable.

I got a good rate by watching the website and rebooked the morning I was to fly out for vacation. I happened to find a 3-night slot that mgmt was willing to discount. But that was one too many days for this puffed up town, and I won't be back to visit. But it would be hard to find anyone in town who cared anyway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeenEnough2Know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
603 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Went to Mammoth Lakes area for the fishing and was looking for a centrally located hotel to fish all the lakes and found this place on TA and was not disappointed. Had a 3 night special rate which I got through the Best Western web site. Very good hotel, nice large clean rooms, good service and a good full breakfast included. The fishing unfortunately was not good, but we had a good time anyway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here for the first night of a week long vacation. We were only going to be in Mammoth one night and wanted to stay some place centrally located and affordable. I had never stayed here before and wasn't sure what to expect. My boyfriend and I were both pleasantly surprised about how clean, welcoming and nice just the lobby was. Check in was easy and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We liked the fridge and microwave. Everything was great including the indoor pool and restaurant (just don't drink the coffee it was gross). I will definitely be staying here the next time I am in Mammoth.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

This is a great place to stay. I've stayed with friends and family multiple times. Good beds, quiet for a good nights sleep. There is a shuttle just down the street that loops around town, great for dinner & drinks. You can also ride your mtn bike from the resort to the hotel easily. You could ride from the hotel to the resort too if you do not mind a 1/2+ mile uphill to the shuttle.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

This hotel is very well run. It is immaculately clean and attractively decorated. The hotel staff is very friendly. The continental breakfast has a large selection, including eggs cooked to order. We used both the hot tub and the pool and were pleased with both. We'd definitely return here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertDogwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Travelling down the scenic highway and decided to have a night in Mammoth - looked up reviews prior to arriving and had our fingers crossed they had a room. We were offered a family suite as there were only two rooms left and so the room rate was more than we were hoping to pay but we did get a discount on the normal rate.

If you have a family this is perfect - big king bed with a small area with bunk beds and a seperate TV for the kids, not sure how that would work with the main TV on as well because it is in the same room but it is a nice touch. Hotel also has a swimming pool which although we didnt use looked nice and clean albeit a bit small.

Located close to centre of town and there are lots of restaurants around and a Vons supermarket just across the road.

Sure we could have found a cheeper room if we had wanted to drive around but at least you know what your getting when you book a best western.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing