We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin in the Woods”
Review of Snowcreek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Snowcreek Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Well it is not quite a cabin in the woods, but close enough. We enjoyed our stay at Snowcreek. The condo itself was nice. The carpeting could have used a good cleaning, but overall it was perfectly fine. We stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. I booked it through Living Social. The deal was for 3 nights and cost us around 400 dollars, but then...... I was billed another 97 for bed tax and resort fees. Thought that was a bit much, but Mammoth Lakes is one of many cities in California that is or have gone through bankruptcy so maybe the tourists are getting hosed to pay for the police/fire. The resort itself is very nice and a close to everything. The ski resort is world class and it is a shame it does not get the attention that a Vail or Aspen does. We would stay there again. My family is very adaptable to various accommodations. The grounds were really nice and the condo itself was decent. Wood floors and rugs would make it even better.

Room Tip: You can view the various units on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 933DeniseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here in a 2 bedroom villa/house on our way from Las Vegas to San Francisco for 2 nights. It was a lovely place, quite largely spread out, with houses to rent in lots of streets. Ours was very comfortable with the master bedroom/bathroom downstairs & the other bedroom which our kids shared upstairs, had a large fridge complete with ice-maker in a spacious kitchen, lounge had a gas fire, nice deck overlooking the picturesque holiday village. Absolutely beautiful setting amongst the forest & lakes. Kids were very excited when we had to stop the car one day to give way to a family of deer crossing the road, and loved seeing the chipmunks everywhere. A bonus was that the township had 2 Starbucks so I got my coffee fix every morning! Wasn't serviced, which was fine by us, as we only were here 2 nights. Has a large spa pool that is available for a group of rentals so we had a key for this, but didn't end up using it but I can imagine in the middle if winter this would be great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Duxfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sn0wcreekRes0rt, Director of Operations at Snowcreek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Duxfield,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Snowcreek Resort! Hopefully you will be able to visit our town and resort again on another visit to the USA.

Best Regards,

John Morris, Director of Operations
Snowcreek Resort
jmorris@snowcreekresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, extremely disappointed! Dirty, old condo. Carpets ripped and filthy. Bedding with holes. Mattress old and uncomfortable as well as pull out bed in the living room. Everything very outdated. Flies everywhere. Should not even be listed as a vacation rental especially not at the price they are asking. Also disappointing that fitness center closed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Lana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

we stayed at snow creek for a long week-end and were met with peeling wallpaper, drywall damage, furniture that was falling apart and appliances that did not work. Pull out sofa mattress was not usable and overall appearance was "dumpy". Contacted the main office when we got home and was met with a smug conversation about how they are aware that the accommodations are rated at just a "2" and did not seem to care. Athletic Club that is associated with travelers was closed and Snowcreek did not care to accommodate us with a comparable club. Way over priced for what it claimed to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teresecarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sn0wcreekRes0rt, Director of Operations at Snowcreek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

As a guest of Snowcreek Resort, please empower yourself! If any issues arise during your stay with us, PLEASE contact our staff immediately and we will do our best to improve your accommodations or move you to a more suitable property.

During this time when Snowcreek Athletic Club has been closed due to flood restoration, we have made every effort to notify guests in advance of arrival. If the guest did not get the word on the Club before their arrival, we have included this information with their check in packet. We have offered and will continue to offer other complimentary options until the Club reopens.

It continues to be our goal to give our guests the best service we can. It is frustrating to hear about issues that might have been easily resolved after the fact when all we can really do is apologize!

John Morris, Director of Operations
Snowcreek Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We went to Mammoth for a ski weekend at the beginning of March 2014. This condo/vacation rental had great pictures and the amenities we were looking for. The unit was dusty and dirty, the heat was turned to 50 degrees and the hot water for showers worked intermittently. The "world class spa" is a hot tub enclosed in a small building that was dirty.

We stayed in unit 433 which is close to the farthest unit from the shuttle stop. It was a 20-30 minute walk in ski boots.

It had the absolute basics but I would not recommend this place. It was definitely overpriced given the poor quality.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MissLSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sn0wcreekRes0rt, Director of Operations at Snowcreek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

It is always disconcerting to hear that a guest had a bad experience while staying at our resort. A couple of tips to minimize the possibility of this occurring and what to do if you are not satisfied with your accommodations:

Booking through a third party (which is what this guest did) is always a bit tricky. Unfortunately, Snowcreek Resort cannot control the exact verbiage that the third party uses. They may omit important information such as the walking distance to a shuttle bus. We do recommend that anytime you book through a third party, you also contact the property directly to verify information.

If upon arrival you are not completely satisfied with your Snowcreek Resort vacation rental, please contact the rental office immediately. Even if it is late at night, we will make every effort to move you a more suitable accommodation. We stand by this statement! The last thing we want if for a guest to feel "forced" into staying in a property that they are not happy with.

John Morris, Director of Operations
Snowcreek Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with some friends for 5 nights. Had a great time. The condo was roomy and had good views. All that we needed was provided. This was my second time at snowcreek and would come back again. Although the athletic club was under construction we were allowed to use the amenities at the double eagle spa at June mountain.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sn0wcreekRes0rt, Director of Operations at Snowcreek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hi Dan,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with Snowcreek Resort! We hope to have the Athletic Club back up and running sometime in March. Hope to see you again soon.

John Morris,
Director of Operations
Snowcreek Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in September in a most comfortable, well-equipped chalet. The view was wonderful and the surrounding grounds were beautifully kept. It was very roomy and the decor was excellent. Highly recommended for a short or a longer stay. Also, plenty of places to visit in the vicinity and lots of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: All looked great. Trust their judgement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithM385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sn0wcreekRes0rt, Director of Operations at Snowcreek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for the great review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you as our guest again soon!

John Morris, Director of Operations
Snowcreek Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.6 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
866 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowcreek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowcreek Resort

Address: 1254 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £153 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowcreek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Snowcreek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing