We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mammoth Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mammoth Mountain Chalets
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Second time this season staying at Chalet #1. Had a great visit again and the chalet was ready clean and well equipped with all the kitchen stuff you need as well as lots of fire wood. Made use of the Weber on the deck this time and grilling burgers for lunch between ski runs was really fun when the weather permitted. Great rental for families with young children and dogs. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

The listing for this location is spot--on, yet still doesn't do it enough justice! The photos perfectly capture the chalet, but can't convey the beauty of the location, and what a peaceful, easy feeling the chalet has. Best part, is you can be totally relaxed yet be skiing in moments with the easy slope access. There was plenty of room for all of us to cook dinner, eat, and enjoy games and the fireplace without ever feeling cramped. The renovations are beautiful, yet the chalet has old school charm. I can't wait to come back and visit the chalet in the summer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAL1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed in Chalet 10 twice this winter. While not as elegant as some of the chalets, #10 is clean, comfortable and easily accommodated four adults and two children. The location is terrific---just short walk to the slopes--- and the people in charge are extremely helpful and responsive. Minor problems were addressed without delay and our three year old grandson, to his delight, even got a couple of extra rides in the Snowcats used to bring luggage and guests in and out. Being in the woods was great for the kids who got a chance to sled in back of the house and tramp around in the snow. I think if you wish to have a different and fulfilling experience you ought to give Mammoth Chalets a serious look.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drwein64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Awesome location, awesome staff, views of the slopes as you awaken and the ski back trail is wonderful! Makes the lugging of equipment back and forth to the slopes a mute point! The main lodge is literally across the road. This was our third year staying at the chalets (14, 17 & 4) and they have all been great! The staff is so friendly and helpful, and the kids (adults too) love the snow cat ride to the the front door of the chalet upon your arrival and when you leave. A great experience overall and the sledding for kids in and among the chalets is perfect so you don't have to go elsewhere for that, not to mention the LEND you sleds so you don't even have to pay to rent or buy your own. Just another little perk that adds to the already great experience! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have been to Chalet #22 several times. The new upgrades are fantastic. It is ideal for families
that want a ski in and ski out location. The best place in Mammoth to stay. The location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parks L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed in Chalet 21 with another family in February and it was great. This unit had modern appliances, easy access to lifts, privacy, etc. It was the perfect getaway and the staff was great. We are repeat visitors and can't imagine staying anywhere else with our younger children...see you next year!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at Mammoth Mountain Chalet #14 for a week in February. We chose this location because we were traveling with our two small children (ages 5.5. and 2.5) and this was to be their very first experience in the snow. I wanted a comfortable cabin with plenty of room to accommodate 2 families (both with young children), we really wanted easy access for snow play and sledding directly outside of the cabin and wanted to be able to walk the shortest distance to the main lodge (no driving with kids with all their snow gear). Mammoth Mountain Chalet #14 fit our needs perfectly!!! I believe that each of the Chalets are privately owned, but the Mammoth Mountain Chalet staff who manage and take care of the property offered top notch customer service!!! Our kids loved the snow cat ride to and from the cabin at check in and check out and the staff were so helpful with all of our needs (great recommendation for the ski rental service "black tie rental" that comes directly to your chalet, great recommendations for dinner ideas, provided sleds for our kids to enjoy, prompt service if we needed help with anything in our chalet, and very friendly!!). Overall we highly recommend Mammoth Mountain Chalets and we are already planning our next stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyL92075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,482 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
3.0 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
865 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
2.9 mi away
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Mountain Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain Chalets

Address: 11000 Minaret Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £163 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Top! Mammoth Mountain Chalets. Providing the most unique and exclusive lodging for your premier alpine get-away. Our fully equipped ski in, ski out chalets are nestled in the trees just above the main lodge, putting the Mammoth Mountain Chalets at the highest elevation in Mammoth. Upon arrival, a vintage snow-cat will shuttle you and your belongings to and from your chalet. During your stay, enjoy having direct access to the Mammoth Mountain ski- slopes, hiking and mountain biking trails. For your convenience, we make sure our walking & skiing trails are groomed daily. Feel at home by your wood-burning fire while your children sled and play right in front of your chalet. Enjoy a quick shuttle down to the village where one can find countless restaurants, shopping and Nightlife, or in the summer, take it to discover Reds meadows, The Gateway to the Sierras. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing