We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
13
22
21
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
22
21
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull hookupsclose to townvisitor centerbike pathnice amenitiespine treeslaundrywinterpropanestoragehikingratesvillage
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We've stayed here 4 times with our 43' RV. Has a nice pool and great location. We always stay on left side of park, great tree cover but dirt pads so a little dusty but worth the feeling of roughing it but still have full hook ups. Across street is Shady Park...great place for dogs and skateboarders. Overall, really nice people, good price and good facilities.

Room Tip: Mammoth at its best!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSFPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Supposedly one of the better campgrounds in this area, right across from the visitor center. Our site was graveled with just water and electricity. The campsite was good sized, but not very pretty. There were many nice full hookup sites, but you need reservations far in advance, and we were not able to get one of the better sites. Restrooms/showers/laundry was very average and not attractive. It was okay for a short stay, but nothing special.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We really wanted to stay in Mammoth and as it was unplanned, ended up taking what we could get. What we didn't know was, that there was a motorcycle rally on somewhere in the vicinity at the time and every rig had several bikes with them and we were all crammed in like sardines!!! The showers/toilets did have a security number so only the site guests could use them, but they weren't particularly clean anyway!! The free wifi didn't work, ended up using the local cafe!!! Charged a premium rate because of the rally on, even though we weren't attending it, so a bit cheesed off really.
So glad we only booked two nights!!! Certainly wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisCentralOtago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We tend to stay here at least annually. This is a great campground if you like to get social and know your neighbors. It has a great family friendly feel to it and lots of trees! It is very close to town so bring your bikes with you. The bike trail system it Mammoth is fantastic and runs right along one side of the campground. You will feel the effects of the altitude though!
The park has all the amenities you will need, a small store, laundry, restrooms with showers, an indoor pool, rec center, cable hookups, sanitation station and horseshoe pits. The sites also have nice fire pits. It can be difficult to get a space though, they tend to sell out fast.
The park is also tent friendly. Several spots just for these. They also have two rustic cabins that you can rent.
If you are looking for a remote spot, this is not it. It is very close to town. The lakes are just a few miles up the hill and always seem to produce nice trout. Many of the local lakes have boat rentals. You may want to take the extra time and hike into the surrounding lakes to enjoy the true beauty of the Sierras.
Bears seem to visit nightly so be sure to keep your food locked up.

Room Tip: Try to get a spot away from the highway
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hotelman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

There are no other campgrounds in the area that offer hook ups so this is the only place to go if you want/need to have services. Very crowded and cramped spaces, not much of a mountain feel to it since most sites are on black top. There are some in the trees with full services but you need to book a full year in advance. Got up this morning to pack up and leave and there were so many cars parked it looked like a parking lot not a campground. A bit disappointed, but no choice if you want to visit Mammoth using your trailer/rig. Next time I will stay in a condo which I love.

Room Tip: Try to get a spot with full hook up, they have more shade and pines.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews