We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ski value, will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent ski value, will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

This year I decided I wanted to ski more weekends up in Mammoth and to do that would have to find a cheaper place than the Westin - my usual spot. I chose the Sierra Lodge based on the balance of features (location on Main Street, price, amenities) and I have to say I was really pleased. The room was spacious and super-clean. Yep, a little dated, but, quality bones and spotlessly clean with a well equipped "kitchen corner" - microwave, fridge, sink, paper towels and utensils. The bath towels were brand new. The bath soaps and toiletries were great. The shuttle stop is just 20 feet away from the front door and Angel's Restaurant was 10 feet across the side street. Continental breakfast included in the rates. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Just because skiers are early risers and our boots are big and clunky, I would suggest higher level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GretchenOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    177
    105
    23
    12
See reviews for
79
194
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

The hotel was very basic and are dated. There is heat but no air conditioning. It was ok to stay for a night or two but that's about it. The only good thing about the room was that the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Small, quiet , very friendly staff large rooms, with microwave, refrigerator, balconies in most rooms, large comfortable beds, great heating system jn the rooms, and the most important covered garage. Nice open air jacuzzi ( no swimming pool) with beautiful mountain view, and always hot and ready, free coffee and breakfast at 7 am. Nice cozy lounge with fireplace,and all kinds of teas and herb teas to choose from in the lounge open all the time. In the rooms lotion, hi end soaps, and shampoo, etc etc. Very reasonable prices compared to the other rip offs and very centrally located on Main street, with the shuttle bus stop right in front of the hotel. I never experienced anything malfunctioning either in the room or in the common area. I do not feel like experiencing any other hotel in Mammoth this one feels like home. It is owned by the same owner for long time who I hope keeps it as long as I go skiing to Mammoth. The bottom line is the feeling I get when I enter the room after a hard day of skiing. It is with a smile ! I ve been going to this hotel for years and I hope for more to come. Repeat customers get a preferential rate which means good business practice.
PS. Sierra Lodge is on Main street, not to be confused with Sierra Nevada on Old Mammoth road. !
Anthony

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fwoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Mammoth Lakes has a ton of rental condos and high-end hotels/resorts but not a whole lot of selection for in the value hotel range. The Sierra Lodge is a bit of an odd place but worked out OK for our July visit to Mammoth Lakes. Good location, near shops and restaurants. Building configuration is odd and there's no elevator. The rooms do NOT have A/C - only a pedestal fan and either a window or sliding glass door to open (but with no cross-breeze it's a bit useless). The rooms, furniture, fixtures are very dated ... but do include a modular built-in mini-kitchen with sink, fridge & microwave. We rejected the first room we were shown because it was dark, and had a weird configuration. The staff is mixed - the more senior staff members are helpful and friendly while the less senior ones are just ok. Included breakfast is basically coffee, juice, toast and pastries. This place is best suited for group stays during ski season ... it wasn't optimal for a summer visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gato77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

It was a terrible night in Sierra lodge, we arrived in the evening and the staff was very unpleasant. The room they gave us was a very old room and full of dust. I could not sleep, because of the alergic reaction to it. The position of the Hotel is outside the city center, on the main road, which is full of high speed traffic. Breakfast and relax room is too tiny for all guests. I would not suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emanuelws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

we require 1st floor room to avoid carry luggage upstairs and downstairs. However the 1st floor room arranged to us is below the main road level and facing the parking entrance. So we have to make the curtain on all the time. So to us, the room is not good.
The brakfast is simple, donnut, bread and drinks. But the dining room (or livng room) view is much comfortable, feels warm.
There are several outlet (Ralph Lauren, Coatch, etc,) and nice restaurant near by. The town is a good place for vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hants, uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this hotel as a stopover between traveling from a day through Death Valley, on our way to Yosemite. We checked in quite late (10.30pm) with no issues. The person at the desk was very helpful , friendly & full of information. The room was clean and spacious with a fridge and microwave. As this was just a base to catch up on sleep, we didnt use any amenities. Cant comment on location as we did not stay in Mammoth and left at dawn the next day. Theres a pizza place and bar opposite the hotel which was heaven-sent!! (And open for food at 10pm) In the morning we stopped for food supplies and coffee at Schats Bakery (down the road near petrol station) which was also really nice. We had free parking, and free wi fi. No lift tho so bit of a hassle lugging suitcases up the stairs...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kj1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.6 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Property: Sierra Lodge
Address: 3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mammoth's first 100% non-smoking hotel. Perfectly located near the slopes (1.5 miles), in the middle of town, we offer affordable, clean rooms and great hospitality. Amenities include free WI-FI, free continental breakfast, cable TV, kitchenette, telephone, hairdryer, outdoor spa, and underground parking. We are located .75 miles from the new Village and the Village gondola and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Yosemite and Tioga Pass are 45 miles from our hotel in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Sierra Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing