We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to sleep and that's it!”
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Place to sleep and that's it!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

One night stop on the way to Lake Tahoe..... It's a 3 star at best but clean safe and has a good bagel selection in the morning that kids will like.... But nothing fancy at all if you are planning on spending time then this is not the place but to sleep and get back in the ride then yes!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sccrmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    179
    108
    23
    14
See reviews for
80
203
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our three night stay with you was relaxing and tranquil. We were able to enjoy quiet nights. Room cleanliness was excellent. Some upgrading of the breakfast would improve the overall stay. two of the toasters were damaged. More fruit would be nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our stay here was perfect for us, quiet and comfortable. The place was very clean and tidy, and we liked that it was one-of-a-kind, not a big corporate hotel. The king room was really spacious with everything and more than most. The bed was very comfortable, just like home. Lots of open closet space to lay out luggage, hang clothes, w/ iron/board. The kitchenette had a good size fridge with an extra sink which came in handy. The continental breakfast was perfect for us--healthy choices, and they kept everything well stocked for self serve. We liked that it was simply done with nice choices. We were leaving very early one morning, and the water and coffee was hot and ready to go! Parking was a nice covered garage. The hot tub was clean, nice & warm temperature, and was not over-chlorinated. We liked that the location is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and the village.
We will definitely stay here again, the rate is good for the room, location, and amenities. They were very friendly and helpful with everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Me and a buddy booked a room here for the Opening of Trout season weekend. We booked early so it wasnt a last minute hook up. First we showed up here about 3 hours before check in time and expecting to be told to come back. But instead were told that the room was ready and that we could go ahead and get in early. Pleasant surprise! The guy Mark at the desk was very helpfull with local information. The room wasnt the Trump Plaza but was spacious and furnished with all the necesities. The place had a small balcony and even better, a nice thick curtain that blackened the room even during the day. Nice if your trying to sleep in. We had 1 mishap with the toilet overflowing. But a service person was at our room 5 minutes after calling the desk to handle it. They had a very large and fully functional Hot Tub in a nice BBQ area that was very relaxing and clean. Check out was flawless. heres the kicker. It is a Non Smoking building and rooms. I may have had a smoke or 2 but it was on the balcony with the door open. Well at check out before we left the desk the managers phone rang and it was the maid telling him she smelled smoke. He asked if i smoked and i told him the truth and he said not a problem. How cool is that. Great Place.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have no view but are very quiet and away from the main drag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray_Guerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Everything in room was old, chipped, worn. Door knobs and locks are cheesy...as is just about everything on this property. Place was very clean tho....I will give them that! Shower head was so funny, it was the lowest I've ever seen! Thin, thin walls! Partiers next door were quieted down by (I assume) management after 11 p.m. (thank God). I am just sorry we didn't ask to see the room before we booked, our own damn fault.

Room Tip: The best room would be in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Miknet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

stayed here for one night on our 14 day Usa trip. We wanted to drive through Yosemite onwards to San Francisco but unfortunately the road was closed so we didn't get to do that. We only arrived late and were checked in very quickly, the room was really nice very big and with a small kitchenette and table and chairs which would have been very useful if we were staying for longer.We were able to use the hot tub on the night we arrived and it was lovely to be outside surrounded by snow in lovely hot pool, my kids really enjoyed this! The breakfast was self serve in a really nice room with views of the mountains, all in all a great one night stay and if i was ever there again would definitely stay her again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have made many visits to the Sierra Lodge, including two this year for two nights each trip. The hotel is perfectly located (shuttle to the gondola is right there), on the main road but very quiet. Comfortable beds. The staff is especially helpful and pleasant. Large rooms with microwave and refrigerator and a minimal supply of silverware and dishware. Pleasant lodge-type breakfast area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
818 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Property: Sierra Lodge
Address: 3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mammoth's first 100% non-smoking hotel. Perfectly located near the slopes (1.5 miles), in the middle of town, we offer affordable, clean rooms and great hospitality. Amenities include free WI-FI, free continental breakfast, cable TV, kitchenette, telephone, hairdryer, outdoor spa, and underground parking. We are located .75 miles from the new Village and the Village gondola and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Yosemite and Tioga Pass are 45 miles from our hotel in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Sierra Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing