We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again!”
Review of Austria Hof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austria Hof Lodge
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will stay here again!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We came in about 8:00 on Thursday night with our 2 kids who were tired and hungry. We were given such a warm welcome and had a fabulous dinner in their restaurant downstairs, seriously good food! Our room was on the second floor and it fit all of us comfortably and the balcony was nice to have. The complimentary breakfast was great and kept us full and happy through lunch. It's close to everything but far enough up the the hill to feel "away from it all". We will stay here again for sure and am so happy we found it!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandSamC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    91
    62
    29
    33
See reviews for
72
117
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We booked two nights at the Austria Hof at their excellent online rate. On arrival, we did ask to change rooms to one with a better outlook which meant climbing to the third floor but we were happy with that. The room was spacious, with a small balcony overlooking the ski lifts and road. Our first stop was happy hour in the hotel bar and we ended up having dinner there as well. Tasty food, good prices. We did notice the stair climb and the single glass of wine had quite an effect and by morning our failure to acclimate to the elevation had taken its toll and we had to leave after only one night. The unfailingly cheerful and helpful desk clerk (who offered to help with luggage even though she was wearing a cast on her foot) had reversed the charges for our second night by the time we finished breakfast. Which was far superior to the usual continental; fresh cut fruit, fat squares of pound cake with nuts, good granola (as mentioned elsewhere), whole milk yogurt.

Room Tip: on the first floor, check the view, one on the back looks at a concrete wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

A Great Shopper Value...Stayed 5 nites...free nite stay deal...room fridge...Canyon Lodge is only yards away...restaurant and bar with great happy hour...home made food that is delicious...complimentary continential breakfast (granola is worth mentioning-toasted walnuts!) excellent coffee...after you are done with your Mammoth adventures for the day, this place is your private quiet retreat or ski apres! I visit Mammoth often and have stayed at quite a few places...this is the best value for my budget so far...and I'm going back...

Room Tip: You will have to carry your belongings up a flight or two of steps if you do not stay on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peradee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

my husband, teenaged son, and i recently stayed for a long weekend at the austriahof lodge's 1 bedroom condo in the mammoth view villas. we arrived late at night and as promised, our keys were waiting to be picked up at the lodge front desk. we then drove down the hill to the condo. the decor was pleasant albeit a little kitschy (lots of bears and little wreaths). the beds were comfortable with a king in the bedroom and a pullout in the living room. the bathroom had a shower and toilet, with the sink in the hallway for easy access. the kitchen was well stocked. there were plenty of soft towels and toilet paper. the heating was from a gas fireplace in the living room and a small wall heater in the bedroom. there was no housekeeping. the condo is walking distance to the main village, and the shuttle stop to canyon lodge was a short block away. there is a jacuzzi in the complex which was a typical condo spa...a little dirty around the edges, but overall tolerable. it is located in a little club house with a ping pong table, sofa, changing rooms, a sauna, and a bathroom.

we drove each morning to the austriahof lodge at about 8 am for the continental breakfast which consisted of toast, bagels, yogurt, granola, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit (excellent quality), and individually wrapped zucchini bread. several juices, tea, and horrible coffee were also available. it is a nice thing to have "free" breakfast so overall i was happy with their offerings. we took some of the wrapped zucchini bread to munch on later in the day on the slopes.

we parked at then end of the free parking lot for canyon lodge, close to the austriahof lodge and walked up a little snow ramp to a triple slow chair. from the top of that chair, you can take the roller coaster high speed lift and you're off to anywhere. at the end of the day, we boarded down the little ramp and hopped into our car...very convenient. we had a parking pass to the austriahof lodge which we really never used. although i suppose if we got there really late and the canyon lodge parking was full, it would have come in handy to be able to park in their lot and just walk the very short way to the little ramp.

we had dinner one night in the restaurant of the austriahof lodge. they have a $25 special for a 3 course dinner from 5-7 which was reasonable. the food was quite good. we had a great ahi tower salad and scallops appetizers. the spaetzal was bad...not anything like what we have had in austria or germany...not enough cheese. we had to return the tomato soup as it was extremely watery...it tasted like watery campbell's soup. the beef wellington was above average. the service seemed a little amateurish, like most places in mammoth. there were forgotten things like coffee ordered. overall, i would say it was an above average dining experience compared to other places in mammoth. there is a 10% off coupon for the restaurant in the lobby.

i cannot vouch for the lodge rooms now, but we stayed in a lodge room many years ago for our first wedding anniversary, and it was quite decent. i would say that it is a better deal than mammoth mountain lodge, which is a little more expensive, and not really any more convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I thought I made a reservation on line but I apparently did not complete it. When I arrived to check in the man at the front desk was surly at best. He acted like he was doing me a big favor by allowing me to check in even though the place was practically empty. He gave me a room directly above the bar and I could not sleep until it closed. I can't imagine he wasn't aware of this. On the plus side my meal and service at the restaurant were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djbphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mammoth Lakes hotels

Ireland/Perth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed here only one night (jammed itinerary) but wish we could have stayed here longer the hotel is lovely with an Austrian Ski cabin feel; our room was quite big, very clean and luxurious with a balcony. We arrived late from San Francisco as we took the 108 Sonora pass instead of the 120, but the reception kept the kitchen open for us and what a delight it was; the food was first class, truly the best salmon I have ever had. The restaurant had a nice feel and the adjoining bar. We got up graded to the King room and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was a nice buffet and kept us going till lunch. It was our favourite hotel of our trip and I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finnvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

the most amazing thing in a hotel in the mountains is to find an extraordinary restaurant hidden inside. the people at the bar are friendly and smart. The SPA in the snow with a glass of wine gazing at the stars is wanderful


  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank rosafucsiaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,382 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
817 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
429 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Hof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Hof Lodge

Property: Austria Hof Lodge
Address: 924 Canyon Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Hof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Austria Hof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hof Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Austria Hof Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing