We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small cozy hotel”
Review of Austria Hof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austria Hof Lodge
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A small cozy hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here during a trip to Yosemite. The room is small but cozy and the bed is comfortable. Has everything we need after we stayed one night in Yosmite valley: a good rest. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent: delicious and of high quality. The breakfast is only ok, but It is free, so we will not complain. The only thing we didn't like was there were too few outlets in the room. We had to unplug the TV to charge our cell phone and camera. But it is definitely a good choice if you are visiting Yosemite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riviere2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    84
    58
    27
    29
See reviews for
64
108
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our king size room with a jetted tub is on the 3rd (top) floor. The room comes with a shared balcony with a mountain view and condos across the street. The room is clean with dated furniture. The bed is comfortable. There is a small refrigerator inside a closet. No coffee maker. You need to go down to the 1st floor to get ice from the ice machine. No elevator and the stairs are a bit on the narrow side. Quite a climb if you stay on the 3rd floor which is the top floor.

It gets really hot in the summer time (around mid to upper 80s) and super stuffy inside the room. They give you a box fan which is noisy. We slept with our door to the balcony opened and the box fan on the entire night. Thank God there were no bugs from the outside.There's a screen window but somehow it didn't really help much to cool off the room. We both were so miserable during our 2 night stay here because of the heat inside our room. We actually booked the room for 3 nights but decided to leave earlier. We knew we had to pay for the 3rd night but we just couldn't stay for another night here. I'm really surprised no one has mentioned about the heat in their reviews.

What they really need is a small window A/C. I knew they didn't have A/C when I booked the room but I thought they had a ceiling fan and I also underestimated the weather being that hot there. We even tried to look for other hotels in the area but because it's a long weekend, Best Western (which has a good location, in the middle of the town) was fully booked and Westin hotel only had a couple of suites available (for over $350 a night). Try to avoid coming here over a holiday weekend.

Breakfast is in the basement area. It's a bit stuffy there too. They have coffee, tea, some juice, bagel, toast, boiled egg, cereal, and yougurt. Parking is free. Internet (with a pretty good reception) is free too.

Room Tip: Check the weather forecast before you come here. The room has no A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

When I stepped in the entrance, it feels very much like a guest house in Germany, the German feels from interior details, menu and breaths. The name of the lodge says it all. The bed is very comfortable. Hot water is unquestionably a gift to winter guest who come skiing. Breakfast is sufficient except some home made fresh breads or strawberry jam found in their true counterpart in Europe. Worth staying for the money paid in the area.

Room Tip: There are condo choices but cost more, for a room in the Lodge, any one of them is just nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great place to stay- very clean and very helpful staff. The rooms are not ton too big, but they are very clean, wel furnished, pleasent and welcoming and the Jacuzzi is nice, although we never got in. We are happy to recomend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inbar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stopped here a fortnight ago. Very pleasant staff helped us check in, got a room at the front of hotel which has views to the mountain.

You need a car as its a distance to the town bu there is a local shuttle that runs.

That said, the bar and restaurant were good, with happy hour and dinner specials. Staff were helpful in providing local info on the Parks such as Mammoth and Yosemite.

Hot tub is small but ok for 4 people, i imagine in winter it would be at a premium.

Fantastic wildlife nearby, coyotes can be heard by night and at summer, those of nervous disposition from large insects should cover up!

An early start and follow the 'Mammoth Scenic Route' out of town takes you through the Inyo Forest where we saw a mother bear and her two young. Have to be out early though as the summer temps keep them hidden until the coller dusk/dawn.

The gondola runs through the summer to give great views and the Shuttle bus down into the valley is well worth doing to see Rainbow Falls and Devils Postpile. You certainly can't hike down there!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Yes, we saw our first bear from our balcony on the morning of our stay!

Nice hotel with excellent friendly staff. No elevator and our room was on the third floor so you do feel the effect of altitude when climbing the stairs!

Room small but clean and comfortable, with a shared balcony.

Hot tub available for use in the afternoons but didn't use it.

No air con but a fan is provided, which did the job.

Had dinner and breakfast which were both excellent.

Happy to recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hill-run_bisom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We came in about 8:00 on Thursday night with our 2 kids who were tired and hungry. We were given such a warm welcome and had a fabulous dinner in their restaurant downstairs, seriously good food! Our room was on the second floor and it fit all of us comfortably and the balcony was nice to have. The complimentary breakfast was great and kept us full and happy through lunch. It's close to everything but far enough up the the hill to feel "away from it all". We will stay here again for sure and am so happy we found it!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandSamC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Hof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Hof Lodge

Property: Austria Hof Lodge
Address: 924 Canyon Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Hof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Austria Hof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hof Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Austria Hof Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing