We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for me, never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Mammoth Lakes
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not for me, never again”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The plan was to drive through Yosemite National Park and although it was a little out of the way for us since we were headed to Reno the following night, we made the reservation through booking.com for $70 plus taxes for a Thursday night. Of course, the park was closed but 2 days prior to arriving in Mammoth Lakes,, we still kept to the plan.
The following day, the road we planned to take was closed due to overnight snow and it wasn't being plowed as it is in a national park which was considered closed. In El Portal where we stayed at Cedar Lodge, we asked for information on alternate routes to get to Mammoth Lakes and were advised we would have to drive 8 hours around the park just to get there. We called booking.com, the rep called Travelodge in Mammoth Lakes and after their conversation and additional pleas on our part, we were told we should take the 8 hour route because if we chose to cancel, we would lose our deposit which was actually the $70+.
We drove to Mammoth Lakes, hoping for at least a decent room and nice dinner, arriving after dark. The rear parking lot was flooded, the water wasn't deep but I couldn't roll my wheeled luggage through it. As we were getting into our room, the desk person came to take us to a "nicer" room. I think it was pretty much the same, except it had 2 queen beds instead of the one king we had requested. I think the second room smelled a little better, but looked dank with carpet that didn't feel clean and furniture that showed quite a bit of wear. The mattress I slept on was in terrible shape, causing a fairly sleepless night.
The following morning, the owner of the property was on duty. He said he hoped we were comfortable and another couple had really wanted a king bed and something about them spending the night away from their kids, etc. He asked how everything in the room was and I told him my bed was mushy and it felt like the mattress was broken down on one side. His response was sarcastic but in a playful way (if that makes any difference). He punctuated every few words with a laugh, as he picked apart any comment I made and that the mattresses were only 6 months old and were pillow tops, as if this ended the conversation. This was all in front of the other guests having breakfast (mini muffins/coffee) in the very small lobby.
The owner said he lives elsewhere and owns several other properties in various states. I hope I never unknowingly make a reservation at one.

Room Tip: Be aware of booking.com's policy. Most places will let you cancel in 24 hours, but it is 48 hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellen43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    133
    150
    164
    309
See reviews for
240
256
86
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We arrived and were immediately checked in. Walking down the upstairs hallway I grew concerned, as it was quite dirty and a garbage bag was sitting in a corner. Then our key cards wouldn't open our door. We went back down to get the desk clerk to help and while he apologized he implied it was a common issue. Even he struggled to get the key card to work. The room itself was very large and very dirty. The floor appeared to not have been vacuumed — I even saw sunflower seed shells on the floor. The toilet, tub and sink were stained. The hot water for a shower took about five minutes to heat up. Later I learned that the hair dryer was broken. We had to get the desk clerk three times to help us get back into the room. No discount was offered, and when we checked out we weren't asked how our stay was and no apology or explanation was given for the condition of our room or, really, the entire place. I feel badly writing this, as one of the desk clerks was very nice, but this experienced was unacceptable.

Room Tip: There probably are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATTY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mammoth Lakes hotels

Madrid
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Clean place, excellent location in Mammoth Lake area, extremely friendly staff who go the extra mile (or two) to make you comfortable. The breakfast is quite acceptable too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Payed I think over $ 90.00 a night for a dirty room off season. Dirty, Lobby smelled like bad goulash. Owner tried hard to be accommodating but the property is just plain run down. Old style TV remote did not work. The hot tub downstairs in the basement looked pretty scary so I did not try it. Shower went from cold to scalding. It goes on but you get the idea. It might be worth it to pay 20 or 40$ more for a decent hotel in Mammoth.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kratour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
#24 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
#12 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Mammoth Lakes

Property: Travelodge Mammoth Lakes
Address: 54 Sierra Blvd, Hwy 203 & Sierra Blvd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Mammoth Lakes 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing