We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for Grizzlies!”
Review of Cinnamon Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cinnamon Bear Inn
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here after a day in Yosemite...it's a quaint place in a good location. Right next to the woods...a bear was spotted during our stay and we heard him searching through the bins! Breakfast was good and plentiful and rooms are clean and comfy but the whole place is a little tired and needs some TLC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed there for a night near the end of July as we were looking for a place near Yosemite. The location was good, it's not in the town centre but near enough. There's a great bakery around the corner and the town was a 2 min drive up the road. The location is right next to the woods and was quiet. We had a great view from our window into the woods. The service was helpful, giving us tips on where to go in the evening and sights to see.

There's a furnace in the corner with a small flame that radiates a little heat when its off. There's no air conditioning in the room, just a fan. Even with the windows open we found the room to be dry and warm. I had to open the black out curtains a little bit to let more air in which helped a little, it's not that the room was very hot though. The beds were comfortable.

We had a top corner room which was quiet, couldn't hear anyone else and the place was full. We were told we could only get wifi in the office area (locked up at 20:00) or just outside if we get a chair but we managed to get it in our room. It was a very slow connection no matter where you were (office area or room). On speedtest it was 0.22Mbps download and 0.02 upload. We needed wifi to book a hotel for the next night and we managed to do that so did the job.

The breakfast was nice (omelette, grits, toast, watermelon). They also had cereal, coffee and juice.

Room Tip: Top corner room had 2 queen beds and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This quaint little b and b is perfectly placed for all the local bars and restaurants, all within walking distance, but as it was away from the main road it was very peaceful. The rooms are small but have everything needed for a short stay, including a four post bed. Breakfast was included and there is also a hot tub, which was perfect after our day hiking up the mountain. Free wifi included. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billybelly1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A really nice place . Quiet ,clean and a comfortable bed . I had hoped to be kept awake by Bears raking through the trash cans as happened to a previous reviewer ,but even though we decided to stay a second night here , the place was quiet as a mouse . No problems with WIFI , good breakfast and an outdoor hot tub too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

First I was a little disappointed with the look of the place as it appeared from the ouside to have seen better days, but what a treat inside. We were a party of 6 and had several rooms, all of which were nicely furnished and clean. Beds were very comfortable and rooms are fitted with airconditioning. We had little problems with the tv remote and with the drinks dispenser but all was taken care of by the friendly staff, who were very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was great but got a little crowded in the small breakfast area, I guess because of its popularity and the inn also enjoys good reviews in the Lonely Plannet travel guides. On the down side, wifi access was not available everywhere and the hot tub was rather on the small side. Overall a good choice to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here last summer while vacationing in the area and will again this summer too. Centrally located Cinnamon Bear is within walking distance from some great restaurants and shops. They have a great well kept hot tub that we used every evening. The room was clean and comfortable and they serve a good breakfast too.The owners and their staff are just great!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

The location is wonderful and our rooms (14 and 15) appeared to be the newest additions and probably the most modern. They back up into the woods so you have a beautiful view from your bed. The rooms do, however, have very thin walls and I could hear my neighbors conversation. In fact, when she sneezed, I said "bless you" and she thanked me. Also, skip the breakfast offered in the morning. The juice tasted like it was watered down and they only offer one option of the cooked meal. Being vegan, that wasn't going to work for me. Go to Schats nearby and have a good breakfast there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.7 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Bear Inn

Address: 113 Center Street, US 395 north to Hwy 203 Exit, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £73 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cinnamon Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Bear Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing