We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Toomey's

Toomey's
Ranked #13 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Marscapone-coconut pancakes, the best jambalaya this side of New Orleans, pork chops with a fruit reduction--it's so hard to pick a favorite. I used to order the lobster taquitos every time when Matt Toomey was at the Mobile Station's Whoa Neli Deli. Ever since Matt moved his culinary talents from the gas station to the Village at Mammoth we have eaten there more frequently. It used to be mostly take out food but now Toomey's has expanded next door and has lots of tables which can be pushed together for large family gatherings. Our grandkids loved the mac n cheese and we thought it was quite reasonably priced at $5. This is not a white linen tablecloth establishment so don't come here for a romantic table for 2. Come for the food and bring a gang so you can all sample the many delicious choices. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the wait staff needs more training. The prices dictate a higher quality of service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canyonskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    127
    55
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy House Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We got recommended by our hotel to come here for dinner. Excellent friendly service, got recommended the Cab Sav House Red and it was the best wine I have ever had! The food was very good to and atmosphere lively.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flicka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food continues to impress even with expanded space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

They have recently added a large dining area. So you no longer need to be scrunched into a few small tables. Food is great, especially the Bison meatloaf. However our server was inept, bringing the wine to the table already uncorked then proceeding to pour two massive glasses of wine without giving a chance to taste it or leave room in the glass for the wine to breathe and allow the bouquet to develop. She also messed up our order (sauce everywhere) and brought our main courses with the appetizer. Yet we still enjoyed our meal - that's how good the food was. Located right in the village.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chipdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mono Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great food, service, atmosphere and the baseball stuff is fun too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

so far i have had breakfast and lunch here a few times. i havent had dinner yet because i live 45 minutes from here, but despite that it is worth the drive. no matter what you choose, yum yum. the food is mondo beyondo and the service over the top. parking right out front a plus.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

After reading reviews we had a family meal here (kids 9, 6, 2) whilst on our tour of California. We had a great evening, the staff were very attentive and the food was excellent; unpretentious but high quality and a good amount (without being offensive).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 322Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toomey's also viewed

 

Been to Toomey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing