We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Years of The Alpenhof”
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10 Years of The Alpenhof”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I can say enough about our great, memorable stays at The Alpenhof. The wonderfully accommodating staff (Stacey, Ron, Aaron) this last trip up, the room upgrades over the years, distinctive rooms with tons of personality, free wireless now with a killer continental breakfast. I can't recommend The Alpenhof any more highly!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you!
It'ss nice to hear that guests are enjoying the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    144
    57
    22
    11
See reviews for
89
144
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we could not find anywhere to stay inside the Yosemite Park.
We were a bit mis-guided and we thought we were closed to it - forget it !
This is 2 hours away.
You are in a nice location in a winter skiing resort.
But I would not go there for skiing either (!)

The hotel itself:
- good free parking
- very cleaned rooms
- rooms are a bit "tired" and the mountain style is a bit heavy. Guess it works better under the snow - not in Summertime (!)
- wireless spotless
- breakfast: all cold and basic, all do it yourself. But all the essentials are there: cereals, coffee and tea, fruit, boiled eggs, bread and pastries, cheese and ham ...

Checking out:
They say they charge only for the first night whilst booking.
We stayed 2 nights.
I booked via BOOKING.COM and money was taken from my bank account while booking IN FULL for the 2 nights.
At checkout, I extensively explained this with both the attendant, then with the owner and the general manager.
Showing emails confirmations and bank confirmations.
Still, they insisted for me to pay for the second night - so at the end I paid for the second night TWICE.

I run a business as well. And if I see that a customer is not happy I always try to accomodate him and make him happy in some way. Maybe meeting mid-way.

They were not accommodating at all....

In all:
NOT HAPPY AT ALL. I would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback.

You are correct, we are a couple of hours from Yosemite Valley. However, we are only about 40 minutes to the Eastern Gate of Yosemite National Park and Tuolumne Meadows via Tioga Pass.

I am very sorry about your experience during check out. I can say with certainty that we followed the booking procedures exactly as they were stated. If you feel there is an issue, I'd ask that you please contact your bank so they can work with us directly, through merchant services, if there is any discrepency. It is important to us that we have done things properly for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights after hiking John Muir Trail. Staff was extremely helpful. Clean rooms. Breakfast was delicious fresh squeezed orange juice and good coffee. Location is perfect. Great value, nice people and interesting guests. Lots of European travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meulibrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Alpenhof Lodge on two July nights (a Monday and a Tuesday). Because our room lacked air conditioning, we had no choice except to keep windows open at night. Loud and boisterous patrons emerging from the bar congregated in the parking lot immediately below our windows almost continuously from 10:00 P.M. until closing time, after midnight, keeping us awake. The desk representative was unapologetic, claiming that many guests weren't bothered by the noise. I was incredulous!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank RickStevesFan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback!

Our guest's comfort is of great concern and I am upset about the response you received from our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Very nice and very clean, nice continental breakfast and attached restaurant .......the pool becomes crowded with family friends but all in all a very good 4th of July. The Clocktower bar is fantastic with an excellent beer selection and very good food. The Reuben sandwich was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
We are so glad you were able to join us for the 4th of July! It's such a fun holiday with the parade, fireworks, art shows and more....

It's one of the few summer holidays where many longtime friends (many who used to live in Mammoth) come back to visit with thier families to celebrate - and we were fortunate this year to have many of our friends stay with us at the lodge.

Hope to see you up here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed there one night on our way to Death Valley. One of the lower priced rooms in Mammoth. Clean, comfortable, quiet. Stayed in main lodge on second floor with two kids. Room sparse but with all necessities. Close to dining and biking paths. Had pool and "hot" tub (really more warm tub than hot).

Continental breakfast with decent options. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you in Mammoth again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was a little small and old, the breakfast was OK - cold meat, cheese and eggs plus cereals, toast, cakes, hot drinks (all self-service and paper plates - at least they had ceramic mugs here).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordParsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
We appreciate your comments, thank you. We are still in the process of working on room renovations and hope you will visit again to see what’s new. Our continental breakfast has been well received since we added that in January 2013 and have been searching out additional items to enhance that as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
797 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,354 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Property: Alpenhof Lodge
Address: 6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpenhof Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mammoth just across the street from the Village at Mammoth. Steps to the Village Gondola for access to Mammoth Mtn. Ski Area during the winter months and less than an hour away from the gates to Yosemite via Tioga Pass in the summer months. Amenities include free WI-FI, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, jacuzzi and sauna (winter) and outdoor swimming pool (summer only). We offer a variety of room types, from Single Queen or King rooms to 2 bedroom cottages with kitchens, to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing