We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quiet Hotel but the Clocktower Cellar sold it for us”
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just a one night stopover between Death Valley & Yosemite for the Alpenhof. After a pleasant 4 hour drive we arrive at the Alpenhof, parking was plentiful and free (you put a tag on your mirror in the car). Check in was easy and we even got an extra Suitcase Stand.We were in room number 102 and the short walk was not a problem despite having stairs. The room itself was comfy and very clean with a King Sized bed and once again the fridge was a much welcome sight. As we had eaten lunch in Lone Pine all we fancied was some bar food and so downstairs to the Clocktower Cellar Pub. It was early evening and the bar was fairly empty and we get talking to the barman who is very knowledgeable and passionate about his drinks, he tells us the difference between Bourbon, Rye and the Great Scottish and Irish whiskies.
We ended up trying and buying a few and also the local stout beer was good as was the cocktail he made from a recipe we googled in the bar. We just shared a plate of Chicken and potato balls but this was enough before we played some games of pool and table football. When we left the bar had got very busy, so go early to check out the spirits. In the morning you do get a Continental breakfast (which was more than adequate) but we had to eat at the bar as all the tables were full.
The only real negative came upon check out when the young lady on reception really couldn't care less!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya-Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Alpenhof as well as your experience at Clocktower Cellar. Please accept our sincere apology for your experience at the front desk. This is not the behavior we expect from our staff and we will make the necessary adjustments to improve. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at the Alpenhof Lodge which was a fantastic place to stay. It has a really nice rustic feel to it and a great location in the town. Right across the road from restaurants. The best thing about the hotel was the free breakfast. 'Continental breakfast' does not do it justice! The food was fresh, healthy (the museli was amazing) with multiple refils of hot drinks (including hot chocolate which the kids enjoyed!), fresh fruit, pastries, bread etc. If you'd like to eat in the restaurant for dinner, its quite pricey and you'll need to book. The rooms were comfortable and clean and modern.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gills23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We appreciate your compliments of our lodge. We recently made changes to our continental breakfast prior to your arrival and appreciate hearing our guest’s feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed our improvements and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a cool lodge with nice ambience. It is right across the street from the gondola and centrally located within walking distance to all the restaurants and shopping. We only stayed one night (in two rooms) in late August 2013 as we were passing through after camping in Yosemite. The bed was very comfortable, although the pillows were a bit too thick for my liking. The rooms are very reasonably priced. The bathrooms are bare bones but perfectly fine for the price. I looked at their two bedroom cottage in the back and am thinking of coming back for ski season. There is a restaurant onsite and a bar, althought we didn't try them. Had such a nice time.

Room Tip: For larger family try the two bedroom cottage in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriellest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your kind compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us here at Alpenhof Lodge. We hope to see you this winter for some skiing and riding on Mammoth Mountain. Feel free to contact us for any information on the cottages. We encourage you to check out our restaurant next time, as it is a popular fine dining destination for locals and tourists alike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Mammoth Lakes is beautiful and we enjoyed our stay here.

Negatives are no A/C and fan doesn't help much. I can understand someone comment about the rooms showing their age.

Free Wi-Fi and parking. Really lively bar downstairs which we frequented every night! Supposed to be a really good restaurant as well but we ended up eating elsewhere for some reason. The breakfast is very good IMO.

Pool and Jacuzzi are both good and nice place to chill if you want to relax from the Yosemite hikes!

Would have no issues staying here again - recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hello, and thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Alpenhof Lodge. The temperatures this summer were above average for a season that we typically don’t need A/C. Glad to hear you made use of our pool to cool off from the Yosemite hikes. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for 10 days over new year (dec12/jan13) and had an amazing time! Just across from the ski lift into the main hub, an excellent restaurant and a lively bar downstairs. We stayed in a room right at the reception area and worried about noise but heard nothing and the bed was really comfortable. Rooms are a little dated, but it was all we needed as we were out boarding all day! The free tea, coffee, doughnuts and toast in the morning was just lovely and set us up for a day on the mountain, where the majority of our days were blue skys, powder days! Heavenly!! A real welcoming hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank button84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your comments! I hope that you will come stay with us again as we started renovations on the hotel at the end of January 2013. We have a new lobby area, we offer a continental breakfast in the restaurant now (no more breakfast in the lobby) and we have made many upgrades to our rooms. We’d love to have you visit again and for you to give us your feedback regarding the changes.
Stacy S.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed three days on a motorcycle trip recently. We were on the third floor of the main building, there is no air conditioning and the room did not cool off much at night. The building is in downtown Mammoth, which is convenient, the noise didn't bother us much. The pool was dirty. The continental breakfast was ok. The young lady at the desk during the day was rude. You are going to pay up to stay in Mammoth, but $200+ per night was pricey for two double beds. The room was clean.

Room Tip: There is more shade in the building in the back, it might be a better choice in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

I thank you for taking the time to share your comments, though they aren’t the positive comments we hope to hear.
I’d like to apologize for your experience at the front desk. It is not what I expect from our staff and we will make adjustments and we will improve on that.
Our main goal is to do what can to make sure you have a great, fun and memorable vacation!
Sincerely,
Stacy Schaubmayer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I had booked a room for three nights. When we arrived, a very helpful front desk clerk insisted that the room that we had been scheduled for was too hot - there is no air conditioning- and he had us look at several other options. I told him that we would be fine with the warm room since there were fans, but I wanted to make sure that we had a quiet room away from the restaurant and bar on the street side of the hotel. In the end, he upgraded us to a cute cabin behind the main hotel. He worked very hard to help us find a room that would work for us. The cabin was quiet, had a good king bed, and kitchenette. A small improvement would be to fix the windows that did not lock and clean the mini blinds. The continental breakfast was fine with a good selection and was served in the area that was the bar in the evening. This hotel is a bit worn around the edges, but worked well as a base for our stay in Mammoth.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room toward the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Your feedback is appreciated and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you are in the Mammoth area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
3 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,502 reviews
1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £80 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpenhof Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mammoth just across the street from the Village at Mammoth. Steps to the Village Gondola for access to Mammoth Mtn. Ski Area during the winter months and less than an hour away from the gates to Yosemite via Tioga Pass in the summer months. Amenities include free WI-FI, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, jacuzzi and sauna (winter) and outdoor swimming pool (summer only). We offer a variety of room types, from Single Queen or King rooms to 2 bedroom cottages with kitchens, to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing