We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Happy hour” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakanuki

Lakanuki
Ranked #38 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: American, Bar, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Happy hour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were here with a very large group and I have to say the service was fabulous! They knew we were coming so they must have added staff because we had our drinks within minutes of ordering. The food was a little slower but with the size of the group - no complaints. The food itself wasn't the greatest but it was good. The nachos come out so full of cheese and heavily dolloped with sour cream, guacamole, and salsa that they are hard to eat and soggy. The BBQ and buffalo wings as well as the ribs are all really spicy, if you like em that way. Coconut shrimp is just okay somewhat dry and not a lot of flavor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karenfar93035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    24
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Hour heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stopped in last Saturday (9/7) for a group dinner. Great Happy Hour food and drinks. Fun atmosphere and great staff!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stumbled upon this place in the village and someone coming out recommended it as a great place to eat. Good choice of value for money pub type food and a great atmosphere in a bar type environment. They do a mean stir fry!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastvale, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Left Stuffed ............”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Restaurant is very Polynesian but they don't have very many Hawaiian things on the menu. The menu is mostly , " Bar Type Of Food " Having said that , the nachos , the salad , etc ..... were all , really really great . The Happy Hour prices were the best we found in the area and the service was friendly and super fast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Countrydude4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent casual food - especially the Ono salad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We ambled into this joint with low expectations on food quality, but were thrilled to discover that all our meals were excellent -- no small thing considering that we had everything from sauteed curry veggies and rice to spicy Ono salad to bacon cheeseburgers. We thought this was a fluke so ate here later in the week, and same result. Yes the service is slow, but hey - you're on vacation, and the theme of the restaurant is Polynesian, so get with the vibe and enjoy the conversation.
Somewhat pricey, but this is smack in the middle of the town square where everything costs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakanuki also viewed

 

Been to Lakanuki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing