We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mammoth Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Dave & Sharon made us feel very welcome in their lovely home. Very spacious and super sized bathroom and bedroom, we were very comfortable. We enjoyed relaxing in the sun on the balcony when we arrived, a real tonic. Dave was very helpful in advising us on the sights to see and of the best restaurants. He cooked lovely breakfasts and catered for my gluten-free dietary needs. We had a very relaxing few days there and really enjoyed it.
Viv & Peter

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterB055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Dave and Sharon welcome you into their beautiful home for a wonderful stay in the mountains. My honey and I stayed for five nights in late May and couldn't have been happier. We love to hike around Mammoth in the summertime and have previously stayed in condos. Here, we had nice breakfasts, met nice people, had wonderful accomodations, got terrific info on hikes and mammoth insider news from Dave and Sharon, and spent wonderful evenings on the fantastic balcony. I had overlooked what turned out to be our favorite hike near Yosemite that Dave suggested. The bed was super comfy (no back pain!). The bathroom and shower are hotel nice! I should have written this sooner but I see that others have done so and I couldn't agree more with their glowing reviews. Most folks stay only one or two nights but we loved spending more time and enjoying the home and the area. Highly recommended. (and no, not a paid commercial endorcement!!)

Room Tip: Doesn't matter. (there isn't a fitness center or room service but i couldn't figure out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRich17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Can't rate this B&B high enough. Dave & Sharon are such lovely hosts!
The bedroom we stayed in was what you would expect in a 5* hotel but with the benefit of having Dave with all his local knowledge of all the beauty spots and the best restaurants.
We stayed in 5 B&B's on our Californian road trip and this was the only one that gave a freshly cooked breakfast which was fab!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isles of Capri, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Two thumbs up! Welcoming, easy, comfortable, and like staying with family. We plan on going back when we have time to explore the area. If you're in the area make sure you go see the ghost town Bodie.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

After reading all of the glowing Tripadvisor reviews of the Swiss Chalet B&B we decided to spend our one night in Mammoth there. The house is much more impressive than the photos show. Both the bedroom and attached bathroom are very large and beautifully decorated.There is a large walk-in closet and an enormous bed that is so comfortable. The deck is large and it would be very easy to sit out on it all day staring at the beautiful scenery. The hosts, Dave and Sharon are welcoming, accommodating , and after a short while, feel like old friends. They are very knowledgeable about the area including it's geography and geology. They have excellent recommendations for restaurants, walks, hiking, fishing, and most places of interest. Dave prepared a delicious breakfast for us and we all sat around the table enjoying the food and interesting conversation. What a great find! Thank you Tripadvisor and Dave and Sharon.

Room Tip: Restaurant tip from Sharon: Whiskey Creek Restaurant and Brewery happy hour. Short hike tip from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenTarzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I am usually very cautious about establishments with a high percentage of single reviews. However, there was enough comment here from established reviewers to encourage us to go. Glad we did. The B & B is well appointed with excellent facilities in the room. The room was large with a really nice en suite. The owners - Sharon and Dave - are very welcoming and informative. Dave arranged an itinerary for us for our only day in Mammoth and it was both busy and rewarding so we really got the best out of our stay. Breakfast was taken with Dave and Sharon which was a little unusual for us but they were easy to get along with and really made you feel welcome. All in all, we were very glad that we made a last minute decision to change our plans and to stay at the Swiss Chalet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JURNEYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I booked the accommodation solely on the basis of the recommendations on Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed. My wife and I stayed at Mammoth Lakes en route from San Francisco to Las Vegas.

The choice of Mammoth was based on the driving distance from SF to LV and proved to be most fortuitous, the hospitality shown by Dave and Sharon is exceptional as are the breakfasts, the bedrooms are large airy and VERY comfortable.

You must pay a visit and the sooner the better before the woodpecker has eaten all of the cabin !

Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Edelweiss Lodge
Edelweiss Lodge
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Swiss Chalet Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 101 Hill Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Eastern Sierra intimate getaway, enjoy fly fishing, hiking, biking, climbing or your favorite music festival. Your hosts will provide you with all the local knowledge to insure a fantastic and memorable High Sierra vacation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing