We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also good options available for vegetarians”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jimmy's Taverna

Jimmy's Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
Jimmy's Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Yasas! Jimmy's Taverna welcomes you. Join us for the freshest seafood, wood-grilled meats and the most innovative appetizers in Mammoth. Our chefs are classically trained, our service is superb, and our decor is gorgeous. Our world-class wine and spirit selections pair perfectly with our Mediterranean fare making every meal an event. Reservations are recommended.
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Also good options available for vegetarians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had dinner at Jimmy's Taverna even though were both vegetarian. We both had the falafel souvlaki and had tzatziki with pita bread on the side. Obviously the choice was very limited for us but the choice we made turned out to be a good one. We had free water on the side and bread with seasoned olive oil. Everything seemed to be homemade and the atmosphere was nice and calm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sören D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    13
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Californian Greek”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

When it comes to Greek food I'm a purist. I love the simplicity that combines together to make great flavours. In my book don't mess with that. When the souvlaki arrives dried and on a bed of jasmine rice (surely shared with the Chinese restaurant below) that doesn't work for me. I will credit the Greek salad (called something different but has been called Greek salad for years) was really good. The service was good and the room itself has a pleasant vibe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere, and a good deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

New to Mammoth Lakes we were looking for a place to eat and were so glad to find Jimmy's. The food was innovative, refined, healthy and most importantly super delicious.

There were three of us for dinner and we had:

The flaming cheese dish. It sounded weird, but was great. It tasted like the best part of a pizza (the bubbly, crusty cheese) but better because of the addition of Ouzo and various herbs and spices.

Beet salad. Two different types of beets and greek yogurt. Probably my least favorite dish. It wasn't bad, the others were just better.

Marinated olives. Three different types and a good portion size, lots of olives per person for the three of us.

The whole flame grilled striped bass (for two) with rice pilaf, kale and veggie kebabs. A-mazing. So incredibly delicious and easier to eat than I was expecting. It was easily enough fish for the three of us.

We also tried two cocktails, the Moscow Mule and the Blood and Sand. Both were great. The Mule was particularly delicious.

The atmosphere is very charming. It looks very Greek inspired and the kitchen is open for viewing.

The staff, from the hostess to the waiter to the kitchen staff, were all great. They were friendly and gave us lots of suggestions.

You won't regret a visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High End Greek in Mammoth? Who knew?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Mammoth is hit and miss when it comes to dining out. There tends to be more emphasis on value than taste based on the local and LA ski crowds.

Jimmy's stands out as a destination restaurant. I love the interior. The seafood and the beef were fantastic and all the various greek delicacies were there as well

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChandraFromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This place is to die for. I had no idea that greek seafood was even something to eat. I've always been a spanikopita kind of gal. But, the food is fantastic-- from the basic hummus and pita to the octopus, prawns and fresh squid. The dolmas are lovely and the lambkofta juicy and sweet. What do they put in it? A big recommend!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy's Taverna also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Jimmy's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing