We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Meat Lovers Delight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mogul Restaurant

Mogul Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meat Lovers Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We returned to Mogul as we have always enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and good food over the years. This time our party of 4 all ordered meat items, the flat iron steak, the porterhouse, and 2 elk chop dinners on special. Everyone was extremely pleased with their meals and Rusty our server cooked all the meat to our satisfaction. The elk was served with a cherry wine reduction sauce that was a nice compliment to the mild but tender elk. A special kudos to the blackberry pie! The crust was light and flacky and berries delicious. We were so full from dinner that we split a slice and longed for more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynneee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    120
    37
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value & good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

While not the greatest atmosphere, this is a nice restaurant with good value for the price. I have eaten here many times with my kids over the years, and we have all enjoyed it. Decent bar, but mostly they just do the basics well and don't charge a fortune for it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not impressed so much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Went for hubby's bday and the service was ok but the fact that the server grills your foods is a little odd. I didn't feel the the food was well seasoned and my steak was really gamey. Liked the salad bar though!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wohlen
Level Contributor
153 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

On our Ski Trip to mammoth

We had Great Pasta and a delicous Filet Medium-rare. Just cooked to perfection.

Friendly staff, nice winelist.

Helpful?
Thank gregi_vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding once again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I have been coming to the Mogul since the days when you would grill your own steak. We ate there several nights ago and had a wonderful meal. This is one of the most consistent restaurants in Mammoth. There is still the great salad bar. There is a small bar that makes great drinks, with a wide variety of single malts, at incredible prices. The wine list is small but well chosen and really well priced. I had the New York. It was as good a steak as I have had anywhere. Others had the filet and they were really tender. The Mogul is a Mammoth original. You will not only find visitors, but it's a favorite of locals. It's kid friendly and a place you are sure to enjoy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Srklaw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mogul Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mogul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing