We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Base Camp Cafe

Base Camp Cafe
Ranked #39 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

After a long drive and what felt like altitude sickness (but more likely to be hangover) decided to stop here on a whim and glad we did. Great welcome and seated right away. First thing to come out was water for the table followed by the best sala and nachos I've had in a very long time. I can firmly recommend the onion soup it was perfect. The others in my party had jacket potatoes big enough to feed a family of four for a week!! The place seems a bit tired but was spotlessly clean, service quick and very friendly and the food was hot and full of flavour. Perfect!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonking1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Base Camp is one of our go-to places in Mammoth. Nothing fancy here but you are always count on a good sandwich, salad or soup. The vegetable soup is delicious and filling and the best you can get in town. The chili is also good but it's pretty spicy so if you like yours mild, order the soup instead. Prices are reasonable and there is a daily special that is a solid value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 19er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I had a late lunch here during a stop over in Mammoth. The food was excellent, well prepared and the service was good. I the fish and chips and substituted chicken noodle soup instead of a Cesar side salad for a reasonable up charge. The fish was light and flaky, chips fresh and tasty with a light seasoning. I normally hate seasoning on fries however, they got it right. The chicken noodle soup was probably the best I have had in a restaurant. My wife had the Cesar Salad with Chicken. We were both pleased with the food, service and pricing. We will definitely be returning when next in Mammoth. Our dog gave the food four paws up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“just what we needed, with a smile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

After a long day in Yosemite and an even longer drive we needed good uncomplicated food. Base Camp was about to close at 7.30pm but stayed open for us, several other groups soon followed. Food was all freshly prepared and original, excellent salsa and pesto fajitas portions to fill hungry boys at reasonable prices. Fun atmosphere and very friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 548janeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Onion Rings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Good food, service, and prices. However, If I had one complaint it is the music. You really need to turn it down. It was difficult to hear eachother talk . Decrease the sound and I am sure to improve your rating on my next visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tim805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Base Camp Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Base Camp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing