We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch stop!”
Review of Base Camp Cafe

Base Camp Cafe
Ranked #51 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I always stop in here on my way to the 'woods' coming and going. Great food, wholesome, satisfying and great portions...friendly waitstaff as well.
With the caveat that many times this is my first 'real' food in a week (not dehydrated) yes this is some of the best food I've ever eaten'>)
Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks so much. We really appreciate your stopping by! Hope your trip to Mammoth / Yosemite was a great one and that we can tempt you to return to our area again soon. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is one of my favorite places to eat breakfast in Mammoth. Every visit we make sure to stop in and enjoy the food. My favorite is the Euro Breakfast. The atmosphere is great and service is terrific.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

That really makes our day. We are still getting your feet under us after a transition in leadership and still have work to do. But, we are working hard and want to see The Camp continue to be a "go-to" spot here in Mammoth. Safe travels.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We visit Base Camp every time we are in Mammoth. They always have the best food and really know how to cook my eggs perfectly over-medium! They also have great coffee - totally needed before our drive back to Los Angeles. They have good variations on old stand bys and healthier versions of eggs benedict and omelettes, plus a killer egg sandwich on a bagel. This place is consistently delicious and we love it. Also their decor always amuses us and provides lots of conversation starters.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristy5926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks so much for being a regular. It matters to us and we get a thrill out of being a part of our guests home away from home. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

After a terrible experience at a few local spots we were pleasantly surprised by this breakfast spot. Cool atmosphere. Great service. Great breakfast menu and good food. Would definitely go back and send friends there.

Thank KHernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks so much for the shout! We are going through a transition right now to (hopefully) get even better including our breakfast and the espresso bar which now features Intelligentsia coffee. Safe travels. Hope we can tempt you to return to the Mammoth/Yosemite paradise again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We ended up here a couple of times for during our stay, once for lunch, once for breakfast.

There is usually always a wait for a table, just remember to go to the counter and put your name down for a table, or you'll wait longer than you should as there is nothing telling you to do so, and it's often difficult to get inside with the queues.

The staff were friendly enough and pretty efficient, and the place has a nice atmosphere and a good selection on the menu.

Breakfast was really good and the kids were both happy with their meals even the picky teenager, but the lunch was only average with a couple of errors to one of our orders.

1  Thank Highwaymaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Base Camp Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Base Camp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing