We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SERVICE!”
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

im so happy i chose to stay at Mammoth Creek Inn. Its a charming, cozy, and well-taken-care-of boutique hotel. The hotel personnel went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The new jacuzzi, sauna, and fitness room are amazing. The iMac in the lobby was great for me, as i didnt bring my laptop with. The shuttle service was super convenient and the driver was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a warm, cozy, and hospitable stay in Mammoth.

Room Tip: they have gorgeous suites available, that sleep 6-8. I didnt stay there this time, but i hope to in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowboardin13333334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

I so wanted to like the Mammoth Creek Inn. Great location off the beaten path.

So the good: the room was lovely. Clean, not too furnished. nice furniture, GREAT king bed. ipod dock, truly all that you would want. plush towels and robe. nice carpeting. three windows with very nice views. bathroom had Kohler and high end everything. remodeled everything.

the not so good. NO hot water. took a lukewarm shower after standing in the tub waiting for 10 minutes. Management claimed that it's the case during peak hours. Um, you're a hotel. Hot water is what you must deliver at all times. that's what we pay for. WIFI in room was so poor that my ipad kept kicking the network off. "Sometimes WIFI in Mammoth is not great" was the manager's response. after reading other people's wifi comments i believe that wifi is hit or miss in the rooms.

would i stay again, um, probably, but i would be careful about when i showered and would use wifi out in the lobby areas.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The hotel is small and the room was not too big but sufficient, with a basic bathroom (don’t expect a luxurious one) and a comfortable bed. The room had a fridge but if you want to use make sure it is plugged as ours wasn’t and we did not notice until it was too later.
The night receptionist was very friendly when we arrived and offered good advice for dinner. The rest of the staff was not as friendly. We saw a bear in the backyard when going out for a later dinner what was great, but just be aware when going out at night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We come to Mammoth Lakes frequently, and have tried most of the smaller places in town. So far, the Mammoth Creek Inn is my favorite. The staff are warm and helpful. The location is convenient (close to the Vons shopping center and across the street from The Stove...good for a hearty breakfast). We were in room 201, and had a great view of the Sierras from bed. The rooms are not huge, but I don't like super big rooms anyway. They put the biggest bed they could fit (king), and it makes it a little tough to get out of bed on one side. The bed was uber comfortable. Just the right combination of firm with the soft "hold you up" kind of foam support that I love.

Amenities include a coffee maker and a fridge. Handy for keeping snacks. There is WiFi, but you have to be in a public space to get to it. Not enough signal strength in the rooms. The sauna and hot tub were being upgraded, and not available during our stay. SHould be up in time for peak season, though. The shower was fine, but barely hot enough. If you like a super hot shower, you might be mildly disappointed. It was plenty warm and steamy for me, but my partner likes it a little hotter, and could have used another one or two degrees.

Overall, this is a great place when you consider the comfort, value, and friendliness of the staff. I recommend the Mammoth Creek Inn.

Room Tip: Great view from the corner (201, 301) rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheParrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Check in, pleasant upstairs room, clean bathroom. Knew they were remodeling sauna/whirlpool area but told all work done by 5:00 pm. As we were out and about, it was no problem. Next morning, NO HOT WATER. Told by desk at 4:30 am they were taking care of it. By 5:00 am, nothing. Husband went down, told pilot lights on, downstairs had hot water, clerk unable to reach anyone and was taking no more action. He asked if we could bath in a downstairs room? No. Since then, no contact by management after several calls.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwiller1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Exactly what I was expecting and more. The private shuttle service that they offer is a real pleasant addition. Sheets and bedding was clean and comfy. The new spa looks very inviting and the location is in the heart of the town. Walking distance to restaurants, movie theater and more.

DEFINITELY recommend! Great value!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cycleboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Newly upgraded rooms, in a laid-back part of town, great views, exceptionally clean...
Good value.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EFW333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
881 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,199 reviews
1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £119 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing