We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room for the Price of a Smaller One”
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed here for three nights. We were originally shown the room that we had apparently paid for. It was very small and on the street side, so it was somewhat noisy. I asked if there was anything else available. We were shown several other rooms (also small). Then we were shown the deluxe room which really was! Long story short, we got upgraded for the same price as we would have paid for a very small room. The room we had was HUGE! It had a full kitchen, 1.5 bathrooms, a loft, living room, and two televisions. The closet was huge as was the half bath. It was larger than most one bedrooms apartments.

The staff were incredibly nice and helpful. The breakfast was just OK, but how many American hotels provide breakfast at all these days?

I am not sure I would recommend it if you were to stay in the smaller rooms. But, if you could get the larger room for the same or slightly higher price, it is a real steal! And, as mentioned, it is on the shuttle stop, near restaurants and shops, and lots of parking.

My only quibble was that the king-size bed was in the loft (downstairs were sofa beds). It was quite warm in July upstairs, but they provided two fans. There was also a fan in the downstairs living/kitchen area (probably10 degrees cooler). For two people it was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fisher6188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2007

We loved the character of this hotel and its beautiful location. We had a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Our only problem was that we had booked a suite as a party of three adults, to have a separate sleeping area in the lounge. There were two sofabeds but both were dire. As we were only staying one night we managed - but it wasn't ideal. For a couple this would have been perfect - and waking up to the fantastic mountain view is a real bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank seelybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

Stayed here for one night as a stopover on way from LV to SF. Room was very clean, bathroom decent and shower good. Free tea and coffee at all times in lounge. Receptionist very friendly. Hotel very good value for money.
Mammoth Lakes is a beautiful looking place and would really have liked to spend more time there.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Stayed for 3 nights as a base for exploring Mammoth Lakes and the surrounding area. God a good price through the hotels website and we were upgraded to a bigger room when we arrived. The room was a good size with good views out over the mountains. The room was pleasantly decorated but the furniture was beginning to look a little tired around the edges. The room was well stocked with extra touches such as bathrobes. The staff were very helpful and answered all our queries and requests quickly and efficiently. All in all a good deal, it is a short bus or drive to the lifts but from what I can gahter in the winter there is an efficient and free bus service available.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emilyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2007

We chose this hotel based on the reviews on this site and they were really accurate. We had the deluxe room and it was really nice. 1 king bed and 2 sofa beds, 1 in the loft and 1 in the living room which was perfect for our boys. We didn't have any sound problems, we were up on the loft and there wasn't much noise when sleeping. We had a really nice view of the mountains too. The staff were really friendly and nice. The breakfast was okay, we had a kitchen so we really didn't eat much down there. Wish there was a dishwasher though. When we were leaving, our car battery was dead for some reason and a young man who worked there offered to go to his house and get jumper cables and jump our car! Because of him, we were on our way in a few minutes and not hours later. The staff really goes beyong the call of duty!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Diana001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2007

We booked into the Mammoth Creek Inn last minute after the cabin we had booked cancelled on us due to frozen pipes and we got a great price as we were booking only a few hours in advance. The 2 double rooms we had were fairly small, did not really have views to speak of and were quite dated. As other reviewers have said the soundproofing between rooms was not good and the heaters in the rooms were almost antique and needed attention from the front desk to get them working.

Having said that the bed was very comfortable with very nice bedding, the room & bathroom was spotlessly clean, the snack basket was a good idea and the robes were great for going down to the sauna and spa tub.

I guess it depends what you are looking for - as somewhere to crash at the end of a days skiing we thought it was great, but if you came here expecting some kind of spa retreat you would probably be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank socalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2006

Stayed here for 4 nights from 25 June to 29 June 2006. Booked through Orbitz but on arrival no trace of our booking! Staff were very friendly and offered us a better rate than Orbitz! Room although small was fine and bathroom too. We had room on ground floor with view of building right next door! Mountain view would be good if anyone stays there but for price it didn't matter as we were out all day! Hotel info stated Continental breakfast but none available but there was coffee which was excellent. Recommend Stove over the road for great breakfasts! Enjoyed our stay here and it was really handy for free trolley into the Village and seeing lakes. Didn't have air con but fan in room. Staff were very good. Great value for money would recommend it.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank egremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,476 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
854 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £106 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing