We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our more expensive hotels but worth it - excellent service”
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of our more expensive hotels but worth it - excellent service”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I say expensive - we stayed mostly in Motels so this place was luxury. Seriously, they have a pool room, a huge breakfast room a gym and the location is spot on - not far away from a supermarket so we could get some food and fast food restaurants are located near enough. The bed was SO COMFY like a marshmallow and they give you his and hers bath robes just for your stay. The bathroom is modern and very clean. Very good facilities and room generally. The guy that checked us in was really friendly and made us feel straight at home and the guy that checked us out was super smiley which is awesome! We like happy people!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesscoombs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    175
    78
    19
    9
See reviews for
84
272
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Aging hotel owners take note: The Mammoth Creek Inn has avoided the common descent into 'icky-ness' and created an affordably comfortable, updated, nicely-nuanced experience. we stayed four nights in the junior suite and loved every minute of it. the room was plenty big for five people, and had all the right stuff: a functional kitchen, couch beds, flat screens, Ihome, etc... We liked all the extra niches like the lofted billiard room, two lobbies, and especially the spa area with jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna. The complimentary breakfast buffet was pitch-perfect as well. Don't let the plain, homely exterior fool you - the Mammoth Creek Inn is a true beauty!

Room Tip: the junior suite was the bomb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I absolutely loved our stay here in March, and cannot rave highly enough about the value for money Mammoth Creek Inn offers. I am actually a little bit unsure to rate it so well because it will mean our quiet inn could be crowded next visit... though the team here really deserve the business!

As Australians, it was great to come in to a place that was welcoming and very forward with their offers to help us with food, bookings and share their facilities. Complimentary breakfast was spectacular, the rumpus room was cosy, free WiFi excellent, the hot spa ready everyday off the mountain was very welcome, and always having a familiar face (Tim or the girls) to answer questions.

Cannot wait to come back to the US and will definitely be at Mammoth Creek in again December 2014!

Room Tip: Not sure view room is worth the cost, but definitely book the big rooms if you have a few guests - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpeachykeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The manager Tim looked after us from the moment we arrived. The hotel is clean, comfortable, good value and well located. We loved the jacuzzi, steam, complimentary breakfast and freshly brewed coffee on tap. Unlike most other hotels in Mammoth there is no resort fee and the price you see - is the price you pay (plus tax). Highly recommended for skiiers, snowboarders and people who love nature!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Clean, spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen and very friendly owners. They are all about making your experience wonderful.
The inn is located close to the main street in this quaint place, near restaurants and a gas station; yet quiet enough to make you feel like you are in the paradise you came all the way for.
We would come back for the stay, but more so for the friendly smiles, homemade lemonade and cookies and the scenic views ( not in that order).

Room Tip: Request the owners for a room that faces the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKS906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Hotels in typical mountain style, hearty and warm welcome, very good for 33 ° F outside! Furthermore for this, great sauna area, especially the hot tub. The rooms are spacious, clean and you sleep very well. The wi-fi is included in the price, fair breakfast, as choice and quality. Beautiful living area, where tea and herbal teas are always available.
P.S. : For dinner I recommend the near Pita Pit, fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EleVeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful staff and amenities. Cute little spa with steam room, sauna and hot tub. Good breakfast with staple items to get you through a day of skiing. The shuttle stop is right outside of the hotel and all of the shuttles are free. The little ski rental place across the street is much cheaper than on the mountain.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VronicaGn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Property: Mammoth Creek Inn
Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing