We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average”

Roberto's Mexican Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As in many Mexican restaurants in the US, I wished they served half the quantity and tried to come up with more quality...
The margaritas were really good as well as service, but the atmosphere reminded of a canteen, also the noise level.
Prices are fair, especially given the size of the portion - back to the beginning :-)

Thank dkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto_cafe, Owner at Roberto's Mexican Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Glad you came by. If you are ever back this way we do have some smaller plate choices
Joanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Roberto's Mexican Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have been going to Roberto's since 1986, when they were a small 10 table restaurant with the wait on the weekends being 1+ hours and always worth it. It is still a required stop 28 years later. Shrimp tacos have always been the best. They used to only serve them 1 time per week. Thank goodness they are now on the menu everyday. Still the best!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine042058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto_cafe, Owner at Roberto's Mexican Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review
Joanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Looking for palace for a good tasty dinner. Roberto's looked like a good spot to try. Parking lot small and full (a god sign) Parked across the street and went in. Very bust but seated immediately. The burritos recommended did not disappoint. Very filling and we took 1/2 of one back to the room for tomorrow's snack. Great food, good friendly and fast service.

Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto_cafe, Owner at Roberto's Mexican Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Glad you found us come back soon
Joanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Roberto's Cafe
What more can I say. Every time we are in Mammoth Lakes (2 or 3 time a year) this is the place we ALWAYS have dinner if not lunch also. We have been coming to Roberto's since our kids were small and they are both over 21 now. It's great that we can all enjoy a cold beer or one of the many margaritas they make by the glass or pitcher. The upstairs bar area is great. The log they used for the bar fits in with the mountain experience. Never have had bad service and they do get busy on Friday and Saturday evenings. We go on Sunday evening for dinner being most people have left town.
The chips and salsa are fresh and they gladly bring seconds. The menu selection is large and your standard Mexican fair with some great surprises thrown in. Prices are inline with other Mexican restaurants I have eaten at and a good value for Mammoth. If you want a $1.00 taco then go to a fast food joint. The side salad is large and the portions on the plate huge. The burritos are oversized and can be shared by two for those with a small stomach. I have never had a bad meal here.

My Dad and I were just in Mammoth for some fishing and stopped for dinner on Sunday. I had a ice cold beer, a bowl of Albondigas soup, and a Machaca Con Huevos plate that was just great. My dad had no complaints except it was too much food for him The Nachos are well worth getting. They also have a large selection of Tequila's to try. (Just remember to don't drink and drive).

If you come bring your appetite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CityDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto_cafe, Owner at Roberto's Mexican Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for your continued patronage! See you soon
Joanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Yes, we keep returning because we want good Mexican food when we are in Mammoth Lakes. Being from southern California, we think that we know what we like and have trained senses and tongues for the kind of delectable Mexican food that we appreciate. I understand why it is a local's favorite. The layers of flavor and picante in the pollo and beef asada hit our taste profile with a wallop. I had a fresh cool garden salad with my meal last time that really refreshed after a warm day hiking the area. I have no personal knowledge, but am told that the duck tacos are good. During tourist seasons, get here early because it fills up fast although they can usually seat you in the bar and happy hour area upstairs. I have not imbibed here but understand they have many varied margaritas and specials. Next time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto_cafe, Owner at Roberto's Mexican Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thanks for your continued support!
Joanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roberto's Mexican Cafe also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Roberto's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing