We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business meeting at the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Convict Lake Resort
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had a great experience at the lake. Our base was the Mt. Morrison cabin where about 15 of us stayed. The staff was very attentive. The rooms where quite spacious and full of beds that where quite comfortable.
The lake is within walking distance and there are many trails that one can walk about and enjoy the beauty of the Eastern Sierra. You can also enjoy the deer which are quite tolerant of human interaction, although I would not recommend playing around with them too much.
The store is stocked with a lot of the things that you might need including bait and tackle, snacks and sodas.
It is also not far from Mammouth Lakes which is a nice little town with many attractions itself.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishLad052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

The ambiance was pleasant, quiet place, good for conversation. The service was less than attentive, but we believe that was more the fault of our particular waiter and not necessarily indicative of the normal service. The poor waiter may have simply reached a point in his career where he was burned out and no longer cared. It happens. Anyhow, the food was excellent, high quality from start to finish. On the pricey side: not a problem for us, but some may want to be aware of that before they wander in. All in all, we were satisfied with the experience, but good service would have made it a more pleasant memory.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TennTom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived mid-afternoon and were warmly greeted and matched to a cabin meeting our needs. It was a little cramped, but given the beautiful lake a short walk away and the phenomenal view of Mt. Morrison, we could hardly complain. We got dinner reservations and were all set for our one night stay. Beware, the local deer are tame (though not aggressive) and stand waiting for a hand-out as you transfer your luggage from car to cabin. This place has much more character than your typical Mammoth hotel at a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveAndKarenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I've spent my entire life loving and enjoying the Eastern Sierras so it was a given that would marry someone who loves this special place. This was our first stay at the Convict Lake Resort. We chose the Rainier cabin, a semi-studio type cabin with a separate kitchen and bathroom. It also featured a generous deck in the aspens with a daily parade of Mule Deer. Our cabin was clean, the comfortable queen bed appeared to be new. The kitchen has a gas stove, refrigerator, microwave and all the necessary pots pan and dishes we needed. There is also a grill outside the cabin, all you need is charcoal and something to grill.

The resort has a wonderful restaurant which is well regarded in the area. The store is cute, quant and pretty well stocked. If you needed more selection, Mammoth Lakes is only 11 miles away and features a larger grocery store as well as specialty stores. I've done trail rides at the resort but by Oct. 1, the horses have been moved south. The plus side in the Fall is that the trails around the lake and up to the higher lakes are horse free. We didn't fish but we saw many people fishing. Our little was perfect for the two of us and our Border Collie, Bodie. The price was terrific but there are larger and more luxurious cabins for families or groups so it's easy to find something for your budget and needs. While there is Internet and satellite tv, don't expect either to be the type you may enjoy at home. ABC, NBC, CBS were missing but sports, Fox News, CNBC etc. were available if you really need them. There is a DVD player as well. The internet is hit or miss, but, did you come to the mountains to look at your ipad or to enjoy nature?
Booking on the website was quick and easy and the staff at the resort are friendly and helpful. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzkSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Cute resort, in a high desert setting, less than 10 minutes by car from the town of Mammoth Lakes and 5 minutes from the airport. Cabins are nicely decorated in a rustic western style. Deer regularly roam the resort grounds.

Resort staff are friendly and helpful. There is a small general store onsite. There is also a restaurant; although we did not try it as we cooked in our cabin kitchen, it seemed popular given the number of cars in the parking lot.

Although cabin rates can be on the pricey side depending on the season, they're negotiable if you're staying for more than a long weekend, so don't be afraid to bargain. We did.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndCatFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The setting couldn't have been more serene with just a short walk to the lake. The staff was cheerful, knowledgeable, and helpful. Having a well stocked general store was a great convenience. They even rent fishing poles. Make sure you look at the floor plan of the cabin you are considering. They are rustic as should be expected. We rented a 2 room cabin that slept 4. There is no seating area except for the kitchen and deck for this particular floor plan. In order to sleep 4, in the main room there is a queen bed and the bedroom has 2 twins. Staff was very accommodating in that we could have requested any sleeping configuration--all twins, all queens, etc. A word of caution about the bathrooms, or at least the bathroom of our floor plan. The shower is ample. However, because the bathroom is long and relatively narrow, the toilet faces the opposing wall with about 6 inches to spare. So, basically you have to straddle it. The bathroom could have been cleaner. I realize that we were in a cabin in the high country but, the bathroom floor was fairly dirty. If I were staying longer than 2 nights, I probably would have been on my hands and knees cleaning it myself. Requests for towels, etc. were promptly fulfilled. The kitchen was adequately stocked with eating, drinking and cooking utensils/equipment. Never an issue with hot water as they use a tank-less water heater. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The website is very useful and informative. There are floor plans of all the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FruPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I Love, Love, Love this resort and have been coming here every year for the past dozen years or so. We stay in a one bedroom cabin with a hot tub and just love it. Fishing in the morning, bubble baths in the afternoon. Deer routinely walk near the patio shortly after dusk. After one week of this quiet and solitude, we are almost ready to face LA life again. Fully stocked kitchen and wonderful employees such as Dennis, Smiley and owner,Bryan just make this destination an A+!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
10.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,525 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
7.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
871 reviews
8.2 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convict Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convict Lake Resort

Address: 2000 Convict Lake Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-9718
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £97 - £557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Convict Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convict Lake - Good for the Soul! Nestled in the aspens of Convict Canyon, below the towering peak of Mount Morrison and adjacent to a 170 acre crystal clear Lake, Convict Lake Resort provides the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, family vacation, special occasion, stop on your annual road trip or base camp for your favorite Eastern Sierra adventure. Relax in one of our cozy cabins or luxury houses. Dine in casual elegance at The Restaurant at Convict Lake. Escape in the majesty of the scenery, wildflowers and fall colors. Fish in our lakes and streams. Explore trails on foot, horseback, skis, snowshoes or snowmobile. Revel in the history and geological significance of our region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Convict Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convict Lake Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing