We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for a short stay”
Review of Holiday Haus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Haus Motel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
So Cal
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a short stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked two nights for early June, on a last-minute low-budget trip with little time for research, so I was nervous about the choice. It turned out very well! It's definitely a mom-and-pop kind of place, but the owners were friendly and helpful with my area questions. The rooms seem to be fairly recently redecorated, very nicely (modern colors and fresh style, newer bedding). Each one has a different Sierra area theme; e.g. ours was the Wyldeyrie, with pictures of that resort through the years. Nice local touch.

Our standard motel room was comfortable for two, maybe a bit cramped for more. Two queen beds, one armchair, desk & chair, tv, microwave, minifridge (which never got really cold). No in-room coffee, though we could have gotten it in the lobby. Plenty of luggage space (open, next to the door). They advertise a continental breakfast, but it seems to depend on how full they are (they were pretty empty that weekend, so no breakfast offered). Our room on the second floor looked out to the forest; although it was a warm weekend, the room was comfortable if we just left the window open and ran the ceiling fan. We enjoyed the breeze, and listening for the blue jays and other birds.

The bathroom was small with an awkward door, but spotlessly clean, with immediate hot water and good water pressure. Good towels, though I like them bigger.

It’s maybe a five minute uphill walk to The Village complex, with shops, restaurants and gondola. Being between seasons, many places were closed or on limited hours, but we had no trouble finding places to eat, and felt very comfortable walking back in the dark.

For a longer visit, I would prefer one of the many condos in town, but for another short trip, I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Because it's a bear area, you need to empty your car in spring/summer/fall. If carrying things...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenAzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    78
    30
    11
    14
See reviews for
56
67
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Rooms sort of updated, new bedding was very nice. Location awesome about 5 min walk to village. Hot tub old but better than no tub! Staff very nice & helpful. That being said we were the only people here. A couple mornings there was no "continental breakfast" (bagel & coffee) but thats ok. Floor very squeaky would never stay downstairs. Overall perfect for price ($75 shoulder season)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbunnie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

my family and i spend quite a bit of time in the mountains, especially Mammoth Mountain. if you are familiar with area, you'll understand the INSANE price of a room up here, so when booking a place for a snowboard shred-fest, we took a chance on the Holiday Haus. my wife called and was warmly greeted, our reservation was taken and the price was spot on! upon arrival, again we were greeted by the manager, Patty. she is awesome! she and Amanda really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable!
when we got to our rooms, were quite surprised to find the amount of space! (we were expecting a shoebox) comfy, clean rooms, flat screen, free wi-fi, hot tub, free continental breakfast, and the best of all- walking distance to the gondola and village!
we liked it so much, and it was so convenient, we booked it again three weeks later!
although we are hardcore snowboarders, we found the location and comfort of the Holiday Haus to be a BIG bonus !
we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel in November for our March stay. The price we were quoted per night included his military discount. We were given the only room that apparently has a king size bed and countertops. When we arrived for our stay we were told that we were getting the discount because the fireplace didn't work in our room. We said we were never told that and that's not what the discount was for. Apparently the fireplace had broken in January (now it's March) and hadn't been fixed. Well, it was an easy fix for us. We were moved to a different room with a working fireplace, two queen beds and no countertop. We were told we would also get money back because the room wasn't as expensive by one person but then told by another that that was not the case. We didn't argue with it, it wasn't worth it. (You'll understand why later in the review)

The hot tub broke our second day there and was broken through after we left (might still be), which didn't matter to me because I'm pregnant but my husband had been looking forward to using it. The room was clean and although not luxury, had everything we needed for the week. It was nice to come home to a fire at night too. I ate breakfast every morning, which consisted of bagels, cream cheese, butter, jelly, yogurt, and hot chocolate or coffee. On the weekend days they also put out some muffins. That's all I usually eat anyway in the morning but I can see how people think it's skimpy. We walked to the village every night for dinner. It's less than a 5 minute leisurely walk there. The free bus or trolley (depending on the time of day) also picks up right in front of the Holiday Haus. For the first and last morning that we lugged all of our ski stuff to the village gondola we used the bus. We rented a locker at Canyon Lodge and kept our stuff there every night in between. That was very convenient too.

The walls are paper thin but MOST everyone that was staying were very quiet and respectful of each other. We didn't have any problems except on our second to last and last night when we had a super rude father staying with his two girls next to us and after listening to what seemed like an anti-gravity wrestling match for 2 hours from 9-11 PM I finally banged on their door and asked them to knock it off. The second night after just a few minutes of it my husband went over and asked them to settle down to which the father replied, "Kids will be kids, what do you want me to do?" My husband replied, "We have kids too and they don't sound like elephants!" Which is true, our daughter is very respectful when we travel.

We worked with Pat and Amanda at the front desk. Amanda is the assistant manager and very nice. Her husband was also very nice to speak with and she has a cute little girl. She helped us out a lot and was very polite. We didn't really have a problem with Pat, who is the manager, but worked hard at keeping it that way. I did witness a conversation/yelling match between her and a man who was checking out that made me weary. I definitely understand how people have written reviews about her rudeness and attitude. She comes across as very negative and aggressive. I just mentioned the hot tube being broken to her, kind of like, "Oh, what happened", and she basically attacked me on it. We just kept to ourselves when she was around and didn't try to make any waves.

So, all in all - it wasn't a negative experience, just mediocre. It was convenient, very inexpensive, clean and close to what we needed. If we ever go back to Mammoth we would probably venture to a new place and try something else.

If you go to Mammoth without renting a car, which is totally doable, I recommend calling Mammoth Taxi and setting up your ride from the airport to your hotel a day in advance and then the same on your return to the airport. It's $15 a person and the cheapest, best you can do for no rental. The drivers are really really nice and very helpful with all the info you need for your stay. Our flight was canceled on our way out of Mammoth going home and everyone on our flight was scrambling to either go back to town or get a rental car or try and get on another flight that day (which didn't happen for anyone) and I actually got a phone call from our taxi driver who was concerned and asking if he should hang around for us or come back and would keep a look out for our phone call.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BR1SK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Lovely rooms, great location, right price, front desk really friendly and helpful
Shuttle bus stops outside to all restaurants and village every 15 mins. Village within walking distance if preferred. Continental breakfast supplied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace for ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyCartwright_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayhaus M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Haus Motel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Jenny,
Thanks for staying at Holiday Haus. We're glad you enjoyed your trip to Mammoth Lakes, and we hope to see you again soon! Have you visited in the summer? It's awesome here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Spent 5 nights and had a great stay. We had to reschedule our trip at the last minute (because of a cancelled flight) and they accommodated us with no problems. Staff was friendly, even helped us shovel our car out after a big storm! Room was very nice, plenty big, quiet and kept us warm during some very cold nights. Loved having a fridge. Location is great: walk to the village gondola (or take the shuttle bus 1 stop if you prefer).

The only catch was that the wifi is terribly slow. During the evening (I guess when it's most busy) it's really unusable. They did warn us at check-in that it was very busy. Ironically, the sign at the entrance boasts "renovated wifi". They need to renovate it again!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayhaus M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Haus Motel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Kirk,

Thanks for staying at Holiday Haus and letting us know your feedback on your trip. We agree with you that we have one of the best possible locations in Mammoth Lakes! We'll definitely take into consideration your helpful constructive comments about the Wi-Fi. And when you visit Mammoth again, we'll do everything we can to ensure you have a peaceful and restful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I have reviewed this particular property before, where I shared how the front desk lady busted into my room and was scary rude...I was told that the problem was addressed and taken care of. It is not true. We called to book a room and guess who answered? That's right, the rudest person on the planet...and she was snotty and rude yet again...when asked if there were rooms...we get a snarly you'll have to call back, I don't have time to look right now. On check in, she did nothing but snarl and act like she was completely put out to have to take our money to stay. She must be related or be part owner, because she is downright scary to how she lets herself and her rudeness get out of control. No one would want to put her in charge, otherwise. We had to stay, because there was nothing else at the last minute....because I had to keep calling back to get an answer... but I will NEVER stay there again...that's a promise....

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tGypsyMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayhaus M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Haus Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear tGypsyMomma,
On behalf of the owner of Holiday Haus Motel we're sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at our motel. We are taking note of your concerns about our guest services and meanwhile would like to encourage yourself and other guests to check out the many positive reviews we have received in the past two years for our comfortable rooms, great location and low prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
821 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#24 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Haus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Haus Motel

Property: Holiday Haus Motel
Address: 3905 Main Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Haus Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Haus is located where the action is in Mammoth Lakes. We are a short 5 minute walk to the Village at Mammoth where you will find restaurants, shopping, mountain biking and of course mountain access via the Village Gondola for skiing and snowboarding. During the summer months, we are in close proximity to the many music venues, including Bluesapalooza and other Village events. If you want easy cross-country skiing, mountain biking with minimal hills or walking trails, a trail for all is accessible via our property. As a recently updated property with a variety of room types and price points, we welcome you to come and stay with us for some fun in the mountains. We will also provide advice on things to do and will book your activities with no commissions or fees (back to us). For instance...have you been on a horse with your family and friends? Don't miss out on an opportunity to ride horseback on an easy, fun and beautiful trail ride from Red's Meadow to Rainbow Falls. We hope to you see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Haus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Haus Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing