We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Haus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Haus Motel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Riverside, Ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Haus. Retro type of place, but the rooms have been updated. Very comfortable beds, nice linens and we loved the vintage photos in the room. Breakfast was bagels (nice selection!), yogurt and coffee/tea. We appreciated the mini fridge and microwave in the room. Amanda at the front desk was every traveler's dream of helpful and informative staff. We really appreciated her friendliness! This motel has a good location, being right in between The Village and the town itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    76
    29
    8
    13
See reviews for
50
64
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My family has been coming to Mammoth, or nearby, for nearly 50 years. Typically we stayed at Swiss Chalet, but more recently at Sierra Nevada Resort. Neither property is what anyone would call swanky, our expectations are not high. This year, due to a reservations snafu and a margarita festival in town, we ended up at Holiday Haus. I was underwhelmed. Good news: they had rooms and the owners are kind people and easy to work with. Also the place is clean and has a continental breakfast. That being said, we paid four star prices for a one star motel. My room had a king bed, a little kitchen, and a hide-a-bed, into which they put three adult males. Rustic, with photos of a local family everywhere, I paid less for a Hampton Inn (with more real beds in it) in New York city. The breakfast is coffee, bagels, and yogurt. Several of our group opted for McDonalds. This is not a bad place, but I would not agree with other reviewers that it is good value for the money. Mammoth in August is a sellers market. My recommendation is to get your reservations in early and elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was our second annual motorcycle ride out to Mammoth Lakes. I decided to try the Holiday Hause because of its location and lower cost than where we stayed last year. I arranged for 5 rooms for our group well in advance and the staff said we could check in around 2pm. We got there a little after 2pm and all of the rooms were ready except for one. No big deal. As is our custom, we settled into the rooms and passed around a few cocktails and were standing around the rooms socializing. Now keep in mind, we were a group of 9 with an average age above 50 I would say. Were not a loud bunch of biker trash as most of the group is made up of business owners. Well we hadn't been there 10 mins and the lady that seem to run the place, we'll call her Broomhilda, for review purposes, came out and told us all to not hang around the rooms as it looked bad. She didn't seem to care about the mountain bikers whose kids where speeding back and forth across the parking lot on their bicycles, go figure.

So we walked into town and as luck would have it, got to enjoy the Tequila festival and dinner. Upon returning, 4 out of 5 of the rooms we had found out they had no toilet paper. As we one at a time went to the front office to acquire some, each of us was greeted by Broomhilda telling us this was our fault for checking in early. Keep in mind, they were done servicing all of the rooms but one when we checked in.

The next morning we continued to be disappointed in the laughable breakfast offering. Hope you like a piece of bread with your coffee because that was it.

Well, in spite of this place and the manager, we had a great trip. I guess next year I'll keep on reading the reviews and see if we can find a winner somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coyotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on an impromptu visit to Yosemite. It was priced appropriately in the mid range. It was adequate for our needs ...simply a place to sleep.
We did notice when we pulled in the front desk interacting with a friend in the parking lot, but this comes across as a mom and pop hotel more than a "professional" hospitality experience so we did not really see it as inappropriate.
The staff was friendly , giving us basics about bear safety.
The room was clean enough..not super modern but it has the Cabin feel. I enjoyed the old pics on the wall. I liked that they added small fridge and microwave to rooms in case you want to keep drinks cold.
Overall, the quick pick was not a Marriott but not bad.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smilinggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loomis ca
Level Contributor
429 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

One of the most friendly hotels, great location, and easy on the wallet. We were there a total of 4 nights before and after a backpacking trip. The front office staff, Amanda couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. We had a package shipped from home and one of her staff picked it up at the post office for us and had it waiting upon arrival.
The rooms are large. Bedding has new linens. Small flat screen tv, mini frig in the room. It was perfect for what we were looking for. Older building from the outside, but dont let that fool you. Rooms are very nice. We will definitely be back. Breakfast is simple. Rolls, coffee, and yogurt.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed in this place for one night and we were very pleased with it. We are two parents and one teenage daughter. We had a big standard room at the second floor (number 12) witch was clean, big, light and cool enough although it was hot outside. There was a microwave, a hairdryer and a telephone on the room, and there was a little fridge. The two king size beds were comfortable, also for long people! We had a breakfast included with coffee, tea, beagles and yogurt. Everything was simple but taken good care of. We didn't used the Jacuzzi, so no comment about that.

Room Tip: oom 12 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked two nights for early June, on a last-minute low-budget trip with little time for research, so I was nervous about the choice. It turned out very well! It's definitely a mom-and-pop kind of place, but the owners were friendly and helpful with my area questions. The rooms seem to be fairly recently redecorated, very nicely (modern colors and fresh style, newer bedding). Each one has a different Sierra area theme; e.g. ours was the Wyldeyrie, with pictures of that resort through the years. Nice local touch.

Our standard motel room was comfortable for two, maybe a bit cramped for more. Two queen beds, one armchair, desk & chair, tv, microwave, minifridge (which never got really cold). No in-room coffee, though we could have gotten it in the lobby. Plenty of luggage space (open, next to the door). They advertise a continental breakfast, but it seems to depend on how full they are (they were pretty empty that weekend, so no breakfast offered). Our room on the second floor looked out to the forest; although it was a warm weekend, the room was comfortable if we just left the window open and ran the ceiling fan. We enjoyed the breeze, and listening for the blue jays and other birds.

The bathroom was small with an awkward door, but spotlessly clean, with immediate hot water and good water pressure. Good towels, though I like them bigger.

It’s maybe a five minute uphill walk to The Village complex, with shops, restaurants and gondola. Being between seasons, many places were closed or on limited hours, but we had no trouble finding places to eat, and felt very comfortable walking back in the dark.

For a longer visit, I would prefer one of the many condos in town, but for another short trip, I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Because it's a bear area, you need to empty your car in spring/summer/fall. If carrying things...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenAzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
1.1 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Haus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Haus Motel

Property: Holiday Haus Motel
Address: 3905 Main Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Haus Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Haus is located where the action is in Mammoth Lakes. We are a short 5 minute walk to the Village at Mammoth where you will find restaurants, shopping, mountain biking and of course mountain access via the Village Gondola for skiing and snowboarding. During the summer months, we are in close proximity to the many music venues, including Bluesapalooza and other Village events. If you want easy cross-country skiing, mountain biking with minimal hills or walking trails, a trail for all is accessible via our property. As a recently updated property with a variety of room types and price points, we welcome you to come and stay with us for some fun in the mountains. We will also provide advice on things to do and will book your activities with no commissions or fees (back to us). For instance...have you been on a horse with your family and friends? Don't miss out on an opportunity to ride horseback on an easy, fun and beautiful trail ride from Red's Meadow to Rainbow Falls. We hope to you see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Haus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Haus Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing