We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in Mammoth Lakes, CA”
Review of Holiday Haus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Haus Motel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This was my first trip to Mammoth Lakes, CA. I picked the Holiday Haus for it's location and it's affordable rates. I was traveling with two others so I booked two rooms for two nights before a backpacking trip, and one night after. Everything about the stay was good. Very helpful at the front desk. Josh and Patty went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They stored our bags for us while we were backpacking. The location is perfect. Walking distance to many restaurants and shops, yet quiet and secluded with a beautiful woods to the back. If you don't want to walk there is a town shuttle that stops throughout the town. There is a nice breakfast room with bagels, yogurt, cereal, juice and coffee. After our backpacking trip we called to see if we could add an extra night as we finished a day early. No problem. They rearranged some other bookings so we could stay in the same two rooms both nights without having to move. Overall, this is a great value when staying in Mammoth Lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank naturegirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very happy with our stay here. The location was great - within walking distance of the brewery and various restaurants. (Watch for the sign - the hotel sits below the road) The front desk guy was friendly and very informative. Our room & bathroom were very clean and had been recently re-decorated (other than a dresser which appeared to be the last item in the room to be re-placed or re-finished). Even though it was summer, the ceiling fan and floor fan were sufficient to keep the room cool. The room was much better decorated than one of the "chain" hotels we had stayed in for a similar price. If you're staying here during the ski season, there were extra wall pegs for hanging your ski jackets, pants, etc. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kathleen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

everything is very good. especially the environment very beautiful. the house also very beautiful and comfortable. the host is very kindly. you feel will be very good while the squirrels around you,that's cute,very cute.

Room Tip: the wood house is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank yongli w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Thanks to a detour in Yosemite we did not arrive till 12:30am.Front desk was closed but an envelope with my name on had our key.The room was very spacious,clean,very comfortable beds.No A/C in room but we really did not need it,during our stay it was in the 50's at night.Room had a fan and ceiling which was good enough.Our fridge was not that cold,when asked for ice got only a very very small bag.Breakfast was good enough if you like bagels,english muffin,or yogurt.
Great location with a short drive to any sites.Rates were very resonable.We had no problems with any of the staff.Did not see any bears as others have reviewed,and you do see any just remember where are at.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank postalsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at Holiday Haus in March and decided I would see how it is in summer. I got a studio again. No complaints. Rates are affordable, room was clean. Got there a bit early. The lady at the front desk let us pay the difference and told the housekeepers we were there. Lucky for us, the people had already left and they were in there cleaning it . We left to get some lunch and it was all ready when we got back. There is a ceiling fan and there was also another fan in there, which was great. Wasn't sure how it would be in summer. My husband gets hot easily compared to me, but it was fine. Had a great nights sleep. The assortment of bagels, yogurt and oatmeal along with juice was all we needed for a breakfast. The more expensive hotels that have resort fees don't even offer you a free little breakfast. Really close to the village. No need to use special hotel finding websites to book your room. Just go to there own website and it will tell you what rooms are available on the days you are looking for and will even let you know the room number your room will be. You can view the rooms on their site too. Staff was nice. No complaints. They do not have a pool, just a hot tub. But it started pouring rain the next day for us, so it didn't matter. I can say I will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Phluffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked and paid for a price that included a couch for the 5th person,we were told that no rooms with a couch available, we were told to deal with "Expedia or hotel.com" with our problem who booked our rooms. "Either we find you a room on the rate of what you paid or get a refund" After driving 7hrs with 2 children and a 85yrs old senior.
My children got yelled at running up to ther metal stairs at "8pm"!and was warned not to run around in our room? The front desk lady when we arrived was very rude! The managers name I was given by front desk was JOSH.
Nightmare at haus street.
orlando2putt@cox.net

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Orlando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Nice place, large rooms. Miserable breakfast. Staff not always friendly.

Beware bears after nine : they come every night all around the hotel ! Your wife might be scared to death.

We arrived at ten pm. The manager was sleeping. Nor was the big bear who welcomed us while quietly looking up the garbage.

Remember that bears run faster than you, climb the trees much better than you. And it´s no problem for them to climb and cross through the window of your room.

Sleep well and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank french traveler from massilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,482 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Haus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Haus Motel

Address: 3905 Main Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £83 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Haus Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Haus is located where the action is in Mammoth Lakes. We are a short 5 minute walk to the Village at Mammoth where you will find restaurants, shopping, mountain biking and of course mountain access via the Village Gondola for skiing and snowboarding. During the summer months, we are in close proximity to the many music venues, including Bluesapalooza and other Village events. If you want easy cross-country skiing, mountain biking with minimal hills or walking trails, a trail for all is accessible via our property. As a recently updated property with a variety of room types and price points, we welcome you to come and stay with us for some fun in the mountains. We will also provide advice on things to do and will book your activities with no commissions or fees (back to us). For instance...have you been on a horse with your family and friends? Don't miss out on an opportunity to ride horseback on an easy, fun and beautiful trail ride from Red's Meadow to Rainbow Falls. We hope to you see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Haus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Haus Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing